Listen free for 30 days

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $23.22

Buy Now for $23.22

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Don’t miss the first novel in a gripping series featuring DI Clare Mackay, perfect for fans of Alex Gray, D. S. Butler and Rachel Amphlett.  

On the night of a wedding celebration, one guest meets a grisly end when he’s killed in a hit-and-run. A card bearing the number ‘five’ has been placed on the victim’s chest. DI Clare Mackay, who recently moved to join the St Andrews force, leads the investigation. 

The following night another victim is struck down and a number ‘four’ card is at the scene. Clare and her team realise they’re against the clock to find a killer stalking the streets and bent on carrying out three more murders. 

To prevent further deaths, the police have to uncover the link between the victims. But those involved have a lot more at stake than meets the eye. If Clare wants to solve the case, she must face her own past and discover the deepest secrets of the victims - and the killer. 

©2019 Marion Todd (P)2020 W. F. Howes Ltd

What the critics say

“Marion Todd’s welcome addition to the genre feels like a breath of fresh, tartan noir air.” (Scottish Field

What listeners say about See Them Run

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful!

Love mysteries and this one is great! Narrator is easy to listen to and story is quick moving and definitely a page turner.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • C. Hartmann
  • 2020-08-25

Excellent Scottish Procedural - Super Narrator

This is a great police procedural. The main characters are well developed, the story engaging, and the plot honest--no magic and no deus ex machina ending. Although I am wary of authors who narrate their own work, this was really, really good. I would like to hear her do other books as well. Will be looking forward to Detective MacKay's next case....hope it is soon.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Bella Rosa
  • 2020-08-17

Surprisingly good narration by the author

I'm generally suspicious of authors reading their own work, with a scant few notable exceptions. I'm happy to say Marion Todd has joined the ranks of multi-talented authors who can double as their own voice talent. I quite enjoyed her narration. This has potential to be a promising police procedural series. Loads of conflict possibilities seeded for future novels but without a lot of obvious staging. My only complaint is that things wrapped up a little too neatly, but the build up to that point was grand. Looking forward to following Clare and her team on their next case.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Maine Knitter
  • 2021-09-29

A new author for me; a good series start

Quite good! I’m usually not a fan of authors narrating their own books. This isn’t the best narration I’ve heard but it wasn’t bad.

I enjoyed the story. Clare has a backstory that’s still hanging over her head. The other members of her team will be interesting to learn more about. A multiple murder investigation turns into something much more sinister.

I’m glad this is the first in a series.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • StL Reader
  • 2021-02-03

Too much procedure, flat characters

The first third is just too much detailed procedure, much of which may be truer to life, but is dull. Also a lot of navel gazing by the lead. The characters have interesting backstories, but that doesn’t make them interesting in the present. Any character interaction is stiff. And, a reader can figure out the basics of what is going on well before the halfway point.

I like an interesting procedural, but this is too much procedure and not enough interesting - either in plot or characters.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2020-10-04

Intriguing

love it. was both compelling and complex enough to grab and keep attention. being narrated my author was a plus as she provided the inflection needed for believability.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ecole
  • 2021-07-17

Needs a new narrator!

This book could have been a five star easy with a better narrator. This one hands down has the least amount of energy and emotion of any narrator I've ever heard. Every character sounded exactly the same and none of them had any emotion at all - it was like the narrator was a robot. It's a shame because I was looking forward to a great new series but don't know if I can force myself to listen to book 2.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Carrie Hood
  • 2021-06-06

Would be better with a professional narrator

Being a fan of Val McDermid, Rachel Lynch, Rachel Amphlett and similar crime fiction writers, I was keen to give Ms. Todd’s novel a go. However, the narration was, sadly, subpar compared to the professional narrators that are traditionally used, making it harder to get thru the book and taking away from the quality of the writing itself.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Norma Miles
  • 2022-02-28

"A nutter on the loose."

It begins with a man lured from his sister's wedding celebrations with the expectancy of illicit sex, only to be run down, apparently deliberately, by a car. When, later, another man is knocked down and killed in his driveway, it becomes obvious that they had been targeted for murder. See Them Run is the first in a Scottish police procedural, starring D.I.Clare MacKay, newly transferred from busy Glasgow to more sedate St Andrews. The story is quite interesting and, although the characters certainly need more development, it is quite involving. The decision of Marion Todd, the author, to also read the book was, however, a mistake. Although she has a pleasant voice with a clear Scottish accent that is easy to undertsand, her delivery was too slow (speed up to 1.25) and was, at times, jerky plus the recording quality itself would have benefited from better acoustics.

Overall, a good start to a new series and I quite enjoyed it. Will I continue with it to discover how life continues to treat D.I.MacKay in St.Andrews? Doubtful.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kathi
  • 2022-02-10

Amazing narration by the author!

There have been (a few) reviews that were critical of the author doing the narration of this book. I am flabbergasted by that--as she is possibly one of the top 5 narrators I've heard in over 10 years of listening to audible books! Marion Todd--may I tell you that you have done a wonderful job of reading the excellent book that you wrote! I think the book is very good--and someone mentioned "flat" characters. I think we are not reading the same book. The characters are very well fleshed out--the ones who matter have back stories, interact with each other and I feel nothing is lacking. And I'd like to add another thing. In many books of this sort, female leads often act foolishly, make silly decisions that lead to disasters. That is not the case here--we have a well-rounded DI, Clare McKay, who has her own personal issues, but who is competent in the job she is doing. I really like that. In fact, this is just a really good listen. I am going to find the rest of the books in this series, right away. But I am shaking my head, wondering how people can be critical of some of the best narration I've ever listened to. Marion Todd--if you get tired of writing books, you can read anything--and I will listen to it. It is pitch-perfect. I know some authors are very bad at reading their own work--but nobody--nobody--could possibly read this book better than it's author does.