Listen free for 30 days

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $43.86

Buy Now for $43.86

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From renowned fantasy author of the Old Kingdom series, Garth Nix, comes a dystopian fantasy perfect for fans of Hunger Games and Divergent.

Imagine a world where your 14th birthday is your last and where even your protector may not be trusted....

In a futuristic urban wasteland, evil Overlords have decreed that no human shall live a day past their 14th birthday. On that Sad Birthday, the children of the Dorms are taken to the Meat Factory, where they will be made into creatures whose sole purpose is to kill. 

The mysterious Shade - once a man, but now more like the machines he fights - recruits the few teenagers who escape into a secret resistance force. With luck, cunning, and skill, four of Shade's children come closer than any to discovering the source of the Overlords' power - and the key to their downfall. But the closer they get, the more ruthless Shade seems to become.

©2010 Garth Nix (P)2021 Listening Library

What listeners say about Shade's Children

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Victoria Garland
  • 2021-09-16

this was my favorite book ever in middle school

it was amazing to listen to it again a whole life later, (I was 12 then and I'm 30 now) and loved it as both versions of myself

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Addy
  • 2022-04-21

My last attempt on Nix

When sampling it I was intrigued by the story and thought it was worth the risk of buying. Unfortunately, there was no reward to be found with this risk.

The writing style is reminiscent of a 15 year old in a creative writing class. I think I’m officially done with Nix. He is a great world builder (in theory), but lacks the writing ability to do it any justice.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2022-01-20

Narrator sucks

one of the best stories ever, don't know why but the older version they had was definitely better, I'm assuming audible thought they needed to be newer sexier, but honestly the guy who read it for the first audio book did a far better job this one feels dead as far as the reader goes, it's almost like she forgets she's supposed to be reading it like a performance then she remembers for a few lines then it's back to the old expressionless reading. Seriously looked forward to listening to this audio book for a while now and I'm almost tempted to just delete this version and keep looking for the one I'm thinking of. No offense Audible but newer is most definitely not always better