Get a free audiobook

Sherwood

Written by: Meagan Spooner
Narrated by: Fiona Hardingham
Length: 13 hrs and 20 mins
5 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Fans of Danielle Paige, Marissa Meyer, and Alex Flinn will devour New York Times best-selling author Meagan Spooner’s next fierce fairy-tale-inspired story, which Illuminae author Amie Kaufman calls “a kick-ass, gender-flipped feminist retelling”.

Robin of Locksley is dead. 

Maid Marian doesn’t know how she’ll go on, but the people of Locksley town, persecuted by the sheriff of Nottingham, need a protector. And the dreadful Guy of Gisborne, the sheriff’s right hand, wishes to step into Robin’s shoes as lord of Locksley and Marian’s fiancé. 

Who is there to stop them? 

Marian never meant to tread in Robin’s footsteps - never intended to stand as a beacon of hope to those awaiting his triumphant return. But with a sweep of his green cloak and the flash of her sword, Marian makes the choice to become her own hero: Robin Hood. 

©2019 Meagan Spooner (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Read

Excellent performance and storyline. A fun listen. I couldn’t wait to hear the end. Recommend!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2019-05-17

one of those books you can't put down. can't wait

can't wait for the next book.one of those books you can't put down. three cheers for Megan spooner

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ashley Reedman
  • 2019-11-11

A Refreshing Twist on Robin Hood

This book surprised me. It was well-written with just enough female empowerment to not overpower. I appreciate this new take, and am pleased that it actually made some sense and make you believe that yes, this could be what actually happened (maybe short of the love story that I didn't expect) in place of the "Robin Hood" legend we know. I don't typically look for romance of this type, but I appreciated that it wasn't at the forefront. And the delivery made me interested in Meagan Spooner's other fairy-tale twist on Beauty and the Beast. This book deserves more credit than it's received, and I would recommend it to anyone looking for something different in the fairy tales we know.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Abbey
  • 2019-08-29

Would recommend at a ‘meh’ on a scale of 1-10.

It’s not bad exactly... a little slow, but full of intrigue - I seriously had no idea how it was going to end! A lot of unexpected decisions were made and it’s more sad than I would have guessed. Still, worth the credit I spent on it for sure!

A hard book for me to get into, though maybe, as has happened before, I’ll reread it at some other time and experience it in a wholly different way, loving every minute!

At least the narration was good! Part of the reason I finally succumbed to my curiosity and bought this book was because I like Fiona Hardingham.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Shilo
  • 2019-05-28

A delicious variation on Robin Hood

I was apprehensive about this book -- about the romance, in particular -- after reading several reviews. I needn't have worried. This book was amazing and everything I wanted. To be fair, I always want new Robin Hood tales, and I'm very much predisposed to like them. But still. Marian *as* Robin was lovely, and beautifully done. Her grief for Robin and slow recovery, her chafing at the bonds of womanhood and desire to be free, her desire to right the wrongs done to the people, all of it was beautiful. True, it didn't *need* the romance, but Marian's masquerade as Robin Hood was bound to end. Even her band wouldn't have accepted her as their leader if they'd known she was a woman. Or maybe they would, but they would certainly have treated her differently. And there was only so long she could deceive everyone around her. Because of that, because even she knew she couldn't be Robin Hood forever, the romance fit. And to be honest I loved it. It didn't come out of nowhere -- their relationship changed and grew slowly over the entire story. And the grand gesture was swoon-worthy.
Fiona Hardingham did an excellent job as audiobook narrator, as usual.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Zizuh
  • 2019-05-15

Good book but some quibbles

This is a wonderful book! There are some flashbacks and it is kind of hard to tell at the start where they begin.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2019-04-16

My favorite version of Robin Hood thus far.

This tale made me giddy and proud to be a woman. I loved the twists and vivid language as well as the imagery. I loved the villian and hero as they changed depending on how you looked at things. This version made my heart happy and soul soar. I would listen again amd again.