Get a free audiobook

Stay Where I Can See You

A Novel
Written by: Katrina Onstad
Narrated by: Courtney Patterson
Length: 7 hrs and 54 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Does good fortune always change things for the better?

The Kaplan family has just won $10 million in the lottery. But haven’t they always been lucky? Gwen thought so. She’s carefully curated a perfect suburban existence with a loving husband and two children. For over a decade, she’s been a stay-at-home mom, devoted to giving her kids the quiet, protected adolescence she didn’t have. But the surprise windfall suddenly upends the family, allowing them all to dream a little bigger and catapulting them back to the city that Gwen fled years ago. 

As the Kaplans navigate the notoriety that the lottery brings and try to adjust to their new lives in the upper class - Seth launches a dubious start-up, Maddie falls headfirst in love at her elite prep school - a tightly held secret is unlocked. Along with the truth come long-buried memories from Gwen’s troubled youth, forcing her to confront her painful past and threatening to unravel the incredibly tight bond between her and Maddie. Her meticulously constructed identity as the good wife and mother begins to crack. And when their changed circumstances place her family under threat, Gwen must wake up from her domestic slumber. 

For fans of Meg Wolitzer, Liane Moriarty, and Zoe Whittall, Katrina Onstad’s new novel explores whether our most intimate relationships can survive our most unforgivable actions. Stay Where I Can See You is a penetrating story about the pendulum swing of fortune, the ferocity of mother-daughter devotion and the stories we tell - and withhold - because of love.

©2020 Katrina Onstad (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Stay Where I Can See You

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Helen
  • 2020-09-28

Intriguing

I liked that the setting is in a Canadian city. The title of the book checks out too. The author’s reveals the story of this family and at times it seems relatable. The story connections other aspects of societal realities that is real, but used as fiction in this book. I recommend this book to all parents who are raising young children/teenagers. Great work!