Get a free audiobook

The 13th Apostle

A Novel of a Dublin Family, Michael Collins, and the Irish Uprising
Written by: Dermot McEvoy
Narrated by: John Keating
Length: 19 hrs and 10 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The story - both romantic and terrifying - of how a handful of men, armed with nothing more than handguns and guts, forced the greatest nation in the world from their shores.

On Easter Monday, April 24, 1916, the first great revolution of the twentieth century began as working-class men and women occupied buildings throughout Dublin, Ireland, including the general post office on O’Connell Street. Among the commoners in the GPO was a young staff captain of the Irish Volunteers named Michael Collins. He was joined a day later by a fourteen-year-old messenger boy, Eoin Kavanagh. Four days later they would all surrender, but they had struck the match that would burn Great Britain out of Ireland for the first time in seven hundred years.

The 13th Apostle is the reimagined story of how Michael Collins, along with his young acolyte Eoin, transformed Ireland from a colony into a nation. Collins’s secret weapon was his intelligence system and his assassination squad, nicknamed “The Twelve Apostles.” On November 21, 1920, the squad - with its thirteenth member, young Eoin - assassinated the entire British Secret Service in Dublin. Twelve months and sixteen days later, Collins signed the Treaty at 10 Downing Street, which brought into being what is, today, the Republic of Ireland.

An epic novel in the tradition of Thomas Flanagan’s The Year of the French and Leon Uris’s Trinity, The 13th Apostle is a story that will capture the imagination and hearts of freedom-loving readers everywhere.

©2014 Dermot McEvoy (P)2014 Audible Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mark Palmer
  • Santa Monica, CA
  • 2016-11-01

entertaining and informative

The story is fun and engaging. It also describes a very interesting period in Irish history. The narrator does an excellent job.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Mark
  • 2016-05-04

Enjoyed the history, not the bad sex

What did you love best about The 13th Apostle?

Great view into the "everyday rebel" in 1916-1922

Who was your favorite character and why?

Michael Collins-great personification of a historical figure, showed strengths, flaws and difficult choices before the young revolutionary

What about John Keating’s performance did you like?

Great Irish Accent. had a good distinction between characters

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Man enough to admit I was fighting tears at the death of Mic Collins even though I very well knew it was coming

Any additional comments?

Really enjoyed the book, agree with other reviewers that the modern-day story was completely and entirely unnecessary. The author also has no experience or reason to describe sex...my 14 year old self could have done a better job on those parts. I recommend skipping as many "sex" scenes as possible.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Anna Murray
  • 2016-04-19

Let me know when it's 1919 again

As other reviewers mentioned, the historical element of the book (which is happily the vast majority of it) is great--exciting, accurate as far as I could tell, and with interesting personalities. But I found Johnny and Diane, our modern day narrators, to be insufferable--when not making bizarre non-sequitur sexual innuendos, they're over-explaining what was just read as if it were a Wishbone episode, with inane questions from Diane and smug responses from Johnny.
However, the historical narrative is compelling enough and the reader is engaging enough that I did like it, overall. I knew very little about Ireland's journey from rising to civil war before, and now I feel as if I had been there, which is in the end all I want from a historical fiction novel!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Diane
  • ALBANY, NY, United States
  • 2016-03-06

A Must read

Would you consider the audio edition of The 13th Apostle to be better than the print version?

With this narrator definitely.

What does John Keating bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Character.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Yes, both.

Any additional comments?

If you're interested in Michael Collins and the uprising, this is the book to read.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kim A
  • SC, USA
  • 2016-03-02

Fabulous historical fiction!

What a great way to learn history. McEvoy takes you through the twists and turns of the turbulent birth of a nation with ease, strong personalization and rich historical details. It's a long 'read/listen' but well worth immersing yourself in to live history through the lives of those who made it. Young Owen may be the fictitious springboard but he lives along side the reader making you feel as if you are a brother/sister in arms.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Gary Ryan
  • Gettysburg, PA United States
  • 2015-11-24

One of the best historical novels I've read.!

A novel filled with historical accuracy and a wonderful story line. A novel I will highly recommend to my friends.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Sharon
  • 2015-08-14

Almost did not buy this book but glad I did

Could have left out the whole Grandson Johnny sections. Did not add to the story but distracting and ruined the flow of the story. Felt like I was there running through the streets of Dublin with Michael Collins.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Veronica
  • Seekonk, MA, United States
  • 2015-04-11

Lovable Mick

An in depth imaginative look at a mythical figure, as well as an emotional and thoughtful view of the average persons trials during a horrific time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Caitlin
  • Gunnison, Colorado
  • 2019-09-23

Wonderful historical fiction

I loved this story so much that listened to it twice back to back. I got even more details the second listen through. If you are interested in those interesting times of Ireland's history, I highly recommend this. It is certainly a keeper. PS. John Keating's reading is absolutely wonderful. The story was made even more intriguing because of his story telling savvy.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Kathy F.
  • 2019-03-21

Uneven

Very good in parts, but others were extremely tiresome - especially the characters of Johnny 3 and Diane.