Listen free for 30 days

  • The Black Swan of Paris

  • A WWII Novel
  • Written by: Karen Robards
  • Narrated by: Nancy Peterson
  • Length: 16 hrs and 53 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (65 ratings)
Offer ends February 21st, 2024 11:59PM ET.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 4 months. Cancel anytime.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Black Swan of Paris cover art

The Black Swan of Paris

Written by: Karen Robards
Narrated by: Nancy Peterson
Get this deal Try for $0.00

$14.95/mo. after 4 months. Cancel anytime. Offer ends February 21st, 2024 11:59PM ET.

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $55.75

Buy Now for $55.75

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

An exquisite WWII novel illuminating the strength of three women in occupied Paris, for fans of The Nightingale, The Alice Network, and The Lost Girls of Paris.

"A truly outstanding novel...reminds us of the power of love, hope and courage." (Heather Morris, number-one best-selling author of The Tattooist of Auschwitz)

Paris, 1944

Celebrated singer Genevieve Dumont is both a star and a smokescreen. An unwilling darling of the Nazis, the chanteuse’s position of privilege allows her to go undetected as an ally to the resistance.

When her estranged mother, Lillian de Rocheford, is captured by Nazis, Genevieve knows it won’t be long before the Gestapo succeeds in torturing information out of Lillian that will derail the upcoming allied invasion. The resistance movement is tasked with silencing her by any means necessary - including assassination. But Genevieve refuses to let her mother become yet one more victim of the war. Reuniting with her long-lost sister, she must find a way to navigate the perilous cross-currents of Occupied France undetected - and in time to save Lillian’s life.

In this heart-wrenching novel, best-selling author Karen Robards showcases the extraordinary lengths one goes to save their family from a German prison. A web of spies, the resistance, and a vivid portrayal of Paris in wartime.

©2020 Karen Robards (P)2020 Harlequin Enteprises, Limited

What listeners say about The Black Swan of Paris

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Lou
  • 2020-11-11

A Great story

This was a a good read / listen. . The narrator was terrific and the storyline was also terrific. The author repeated too often and in the height of drama would repeat again how the herine was feeling. One wanted to shout “ get on with the story”, which had lots of believable suspense. Her editor should have made Robarts tighten the story line.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyed

I enjoyed the story and the performance. I recommend for people interested in books from this period.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable.

I enjoyed this book all around. Narration was good. Storyline as well. If you enjoy historical novels go for it!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Satisfying adventure, romance.

I really enjoyed the story but found the fake French and German accents, and mispronounced French names annoying and distracting. The accents were reminiscent of an 80s British sitcom about the French Resistance. I still enjoyed the book and would recommend it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for celeste curley
  • celeste curley
  • 2020-10-05

Where to Start?

This was a real departure from Karen Robards’ usual. I both loved and hated it. The beginning was almost too tense to bear. I stopped listening many times because it literally was just too terrifying to read without a break. I was “there”. The love story was complex and interesting to me. And most of the characters were well defined and demanded empathy. The evil one was a monster. All in all the book was really good. Just be prepared to have a knot of fear in you chest for most of it!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

53 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Holly M.
  • Holly M.
  • 2020-07-09

Oh my gosh! Listen!

I’ve read / listened to all of Karen Robards books. The Black Swan of Paris in my opinion was the best yet. Extraordinary narration! Tears fell, completely captivated, appalled at the human tragedy of war.
The love story however is truly felt, believable and stunning. Bravo. Thank you Ms Robards.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

38 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2020-10-13

The Black Swan Of Paris

Disappointed. Karen Robards has totally changed her writing style. I miss the steamy scenes. I would not rate this book as a romance novel - more of an historical novel.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

36 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for KC
  • KC
  • 2020-08-23

Get this book NOW!!!

If you like historical fiction, especially the WWII era, get this book now. Don’t debate it, just do it. Lol Exceptional story brought to life through an exceptional performance by and exceptional narrator. Did I mention exceptional?? Enjoy!!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

34 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jean D. Kagan
  • Jean D. Kagan
  • 2020-11-24

Boring...not worth it

What a vapid whining so called heroine ..story idea was ok but predictable ...I don’t recommend

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

26 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Vimala McClure
  • Vimala McClure
  • 2020-08-17

The love story of love stories!

A fantastic story of love and intrigue in WW2 Paris. Just enough surprise and suspense to keep you listening. I’m a fan of resistance stories and I loved this one.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

23 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for justme
  • justme
  • 2020-10-15

Wordy

This is an interesting read, abridged. Too many repetitive words, adjectives and at times boring

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jojo
  • Jojo
  • 2020-08-30

Amazing

This is one of the most amazing books I’ve listened to in a long time.
Great narration
Amazing story
Wanted and still want more.
Hates off

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karen Grooms
  • Karen Grooms
  • 2020-09-02

Incredible story!

I loved everything about this story! Set in Nazi-occupied France, it was a realistic tale of the Resistance and their fight to help set up for the Normandy invasion. The performance was outstanding!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 2020-10-31

great plot. emotionally wrenching.

shallow writing but good plot. emotionally charged soap opera. a good listen most of the long duration.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

13 people found this helpful