Get a free audiobook

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

An exquisite WWII novel illuminating the strength of three women in occupied Paris, for fans of The Nightingale, The Alice Network, and The Lost Girls of Paris.

"A truly outstanding novel...reminds us of the power of love, hope and courage." (Heather Morris, number-one best-selling author of The Tattooist of Auschwitz)

Paris, 1944

Celebrated singer Genevieve Dumont is both a star and a smokescreen. An unwilling darling of the Nazis, the chanteuse’s position of privilege allows her to go undetected as an ally to the resistance.

When her estranged mother, Lillian de Rocheford, is captured by Nazis, Genevieve knows it won’t be long before the Gestapo succeeds in torturing information out of Lillian that will derail the upcoming allied invasion. The resistance movement is tasked with silencing her by any means necessary - including assassination. But Genevieve refuses to let her mother become yet one more victim of the war. Reuniting with her long-lost sister, she must find a way to navigate the perilous cross-currents of Occupied France undetected - and in time to save Lillian’s life.

In this heart-wrenching novel, best-selling author Karen Robards showcases the extraordinary lengths one goes to save their family from a German prison. A web of spies, the resistance and a vivid portrayal of Paris in wartime.

©2020 Karen Robards (P)2020 Harlequin Enteprises, Limited

What listeners say about The Black Swan of Paris

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Lou
  • 2020-11-11

A Great story

This was a a good read / listen. . The narrator was terrific and the storyline was also terrific. The author repeated too often and in the height of drama would repeat again how the herine was feeling. One wanted to shout “ get on with the story”, which had lots of believable suspense. Her editor should have made Robarts tighten the story line.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • celeste curley
  • 2020-10-05

Where to Start?

This was a real departure from Karen Robards’ usual. I both loved and hated it. The beginning was almost too tense to bear. I stopped listening many times because it literally was just too terrifying to read without a break. I was “there”. The love story was complex and interesting to me. And most of the characters were well defined and demanded empathy. The evil one was a monster. All in all the book was really good. Just be prepared to have a knot of fear in you chest for most of it!

44 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2020-10-13

The Black Swan Of Paris

Disappointed. Karen Robards has totally changed her writing style. I miss the steamy scenes. I would not rate this book as a romance novel - more of an historical novel.

31 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Holly M.
  • 2020-07-09

Oh my gosh! Listen!

I’ve read / listened to all of Karen Robards books. The Black Swan of Paris in my opinion was the best yet. Extraordinary narration! Tears fell, completely captivated, appalled at the human tragedy of war.
The love story however is truly felt, believable and stunning. Bravo. Thank you Ms Robards.

31 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • KC
  • 2020-08-23

Get this book NOW!!!

If you like historical fiction, especially the WWII era, get this book now. Don’t debate it, just do it. Lol Exceptional story brought to life through an exceptional performance by and exceptional narrator. Did I mention exceptional?? Enjoy!!

25 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Jean D. Kagan
  • 2020-11-24

Boring...not worth it

What a vapid whining so called heroine ..story idea was ok but predictable ...I don’t recommend

22 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Vimala McClure
  • 2020-08-17

The love story of love stories!

A fantastic story of love and intrigue in WW2 Paris. Just enough surprise and suspense to keep you listening. I’m a fan of resistance stories and I loved this one.

21 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • justme
  • 2020-10-15

Wordy

This is an interesting read, abridged. Too many repetitive words, adjectives and at times boring

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jojo
  • 2020-08-30

Amazing

This is one of the most amazing books I’ve listened to in a long time.
Great narration
Amazing story
Wanted and still want more.
Hates off

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2020-10-31

great plot. emotionally wrenching.

shallow writing but good plot. emotionally charged soap opera. a good listen most of the long duration.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Karen Grooms
  • 2020-09-02

Incredible story!

I loved everything about this story! Set in Nazi-occupied France, it was a realistic tale of the Resistance and their fight to help set up for the Normandy invasion. The performance was outstanding!

11 people found this helpful