Get a free audiobook

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

He was never truly gone, only biding his time....

Late on midsummer's night there is a splash in the river Thames. A body is found on an island, asphyxiated and laced with strange markings. For DCI Craig Gillard it's a baffling case. The victim's identity is elusive, clues are scarce and every witness has something to hide.

Meanwhile one of Britain's deadliest serial killers is finally up for parole after a deal to reveal the location of two missing bodies. The felon has his own plans to get even with witnesses, accusers and the officer who caught him 30 years before. And who was that? A young trainee by the name of Gillard.

An explosive crime thriller from master storyteller Nick Louth, perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Cara Hunter and Robert Bryndza.

©2020 Nick Louth (P)2020 W. F. Howes Ltd

What listeners say about The Body on the Island

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Bad story, poorly read - avoid

The plot intersections are ridiculous, the characters are basically unbelievable, the plot is totally unrealistic and the solution is laughable. By far the worst story I have listened to on Audible over many years of subscription. Will not buy any more of this authors books!

Avoid!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • cdigo
  • 2020-12-11

Worst of the Gillard books

Although Marston York has read all the Gillard books there is something different about this reading, kind of droned on. The premise was bizarre, not even remotely realistic. So glad its over

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • manny rothman
  • 2020-11-04

The Body on the Island

Was a great book with great characters and great action with a great story and a great ending looking forward to the next book thanks 💪🤠🍷

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • CehTex
  • 2020-10-31

Great series!

A complex and intriguing mystery. Plenty of hateful villains to cheer against and a bizarre answer to a couple of mysterious deaths. The new female detective added to the squad is a great addition to the series. Keep ‘em coming please, Mr. Louth!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Linda Hanson
  • 2020-12-20

Disappointing & Very Creepy

I really like this series and so picked it up this new title right away. Sad to say I nearly returned it a few minutes in- I wish I had. It was.just too creepy & gross. I hope i can get some of the images out of my mind very soon.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • alene mercer
  • 2021-03-28

Boring

I’ve heard the entire series and loved all of them until this one. The story was very slow, the characters one dimensional and even Craig Guillard was dull.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • BVerité
  • 2021-03-23

what a way to die...

Without any spoilers, I have to say that this one was bizarre. The method of death might be the most disgusting and weird I’ve ever heard. It’s not going to give you nightmares, but it will likely make you disappointed and shocked at the conclusion.
I do like this series very much. And if there are more books in the series, I’ll be listening to those as well.,

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Rick
  • 2021-01-15

Ridiculous solution

I have enjoyed all of Louth's books so far. He is a good story teller and creates interesting mysteries populated with mostly likeable regular characters. That was the case with the first four books. The fifth book became a bit silly in the totally unrealistic actions of the villain. This one breaks his success streak more completely. It starts with an intriguing murder but gets muddled with two separate story lines and less memorable characters. Two suspects are portrayed so similarly that I am still not sure if they were two separate characters.

Then there is the solution to the mystery. I normally avoid talking about any element of a solution in a review so as not to spoil the books, so I will only speak about one element of it. It is not a good sign that it moved me to exclaim out loud..."You have got to be kidding." It is the most ridiculous end to a murder mystery that I have ever read. It is also a concern that this book repeats some problematic elements of the last book. A pile up of overly coincidental connections among the characters and a seeming revenge plot out of Gillard' past. Marston York does his usual excellent work in reading the story. Hopefully the next book improves after two let downs

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Larry
  • 2020-11-16

Continues to be a great series!

A very enjoyable book with some plot twists that were very creative, so much so that they were completely unanticipated. Kudos to Nick Louth for keeping these characters fresh.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Micah Burke
  • 2020-11-13

Took me by surprise

I've listened to all the DCI Gillard books so far, and generally they've been pretty good but I've usually been able to figure out the killer and often felt the clues came in the last chapter of the book fast and by accident. This all changed with The Body on the Island. I was truly left in complete suspense until the last chapters when the killer was revealed, and believe me, it was a shock.

Unlike other books where the killer is revealed in a shocking manner, this was completely believable and it's clear Louth did homework for this story. The details were a bit nauseating but I was truly impressed to be so blind-sided and actually applauded when the criminal was revealed. Great read.