Listen free for 30 days

  • The Book of Second Chances

  • Written by: Katherine Slee
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 10 hrs and 47 mins
  • 3.9 out of 5 stars (68 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Book of Second Chances cover art

The Book of Second Chances

Written by: Katherine Slee
Narrated by: Imogen Church
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $35.72

Buy Now for $35.72

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A charming, uplifting novel about love, loss, and finding your way in the world, perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and The Keeper of Lost Things.

Emily can't remember the last time she left the house. Or spoke to anyone besides her grandmother, beloved children's author Catriona Robinson. After Catriona's death, Emily is at a complete loss...until she gets an unexpected letter from the woman she loved most.

Catriona has revealed there might be one last, lost unpublished manuscript in her wildly popular book series. And she's left a secret diary and trail of clues that only Emily can follow. From London to Paris to Verona, Emily traces her grandmother's past, finding out more about her family - and herself - than she ever imagined possible. 

Hopeful and adventurous, The Book of Second Chances celebrates books and bookstores, the power of imagination, and having the courage to shape our own destinies.

©2020 Katherine Slee (P)2020 Hachette Audio

More from the same

What listeners say about The Book of Second Chances

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Ssslllloooooowwwww

Painfully slow. After drastically speeding up the reading, the story line continued to lack speed. What seems like an inkling of an interesting story, the author has a knack for filling in long useless pages that do not contribute to the story line. I am trying to convince myself to finish this book but am finding it hard to care enough. if this was a book on paper I could skim past 80% and just read the actual content. That is harder to do in audio format. i may have to increase to 150% speed.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WoW.

Thank you so much. I needed this book. It is do much more than the description. To me, a treasure I will listen to again. .

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Mediocre

I found the narrator difficult to hear at times with the fluctuations in sound of her voice. Was not inspired by the main character Emily. If you are grieving the loss of a loved one you may be able to relate to her anger, sadness and loneliness. Overall - would not recommend.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Poor grammar, poor story

I couldn’t get into this story, the character was very self-indulgent and whiney. On top of that I could not get past the constant mis-use of ‘she was stood….’ (rather than she was standing). Maybe I’m old fashioned but I find it shocking that an editor let this through as well. Didn’t get further than 2 or 3 chapters so can’t comment on the rest of the story.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

ouch

reviews. one review says it is great 5 the next review says 1 worst ever. the great thing is having a view

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Don’t waste your time

Monotonous, trite. Nothing happens.
I listen while I walk my dog for an hour and literally NOTHING happens. Then there is some boring little nugget and then another hour or two of nothing. So boring, The only way I made it to the end is by speeding it up.
Nothing against the narrator except for one character depicted in her younger years really got on my nerves. Overdone in my opinion.
I bought this because of a so called comparison to ‘Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.’ There is nothing remotely similar about these two stories. NO comparison. Go and read ‘Eleanor….’ A much better book by far.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Too long, slow and repetitive

It was so hard to finish this book. It dragged on and on and on..... the same message could have been accomplished in half the length. Don't waste your time!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of the best!

This book is one of the best books I’ve read in a long time. I laughed and cried. Give yourself a gift and read this book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

good

I enjoyed this book and Emily's travels meeting all the interesting chacters along the way.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!