Listen free for 30 days

  • The Couple Upstairs

  • An Addictive Psychological Thriller with a Gripping Twist
  • Written by: Shalini Boland
  • Narrated by: Katie Villa
  • Length: 8 hrs and 4 mins
  • 4.0 out of 5 stars (15 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Couple Upstairs cover art

The Couple Upstairs

Written by: Shalini Boland
Narrated by: Katie Villa
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $25.00

Buy Now for $25.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

I should never have become friends with the couple upstairs....

The first time I step inside this cosy apartment with its sash windows, just minutes from the sea, I think it would be the perfect place for me and my partner Zac to start again. A chance to leave our troubled past behind.

Chris and Vanessa, the couple upstairs, are so welcoming: smiles, flowers, a home-baked cake. It’s strange how he does all the talking, and she seems so shy, but I’m just thrilled to have new friends nearby.

But everything starts to go wrong...my business begins to crumble, I can’t ignore the whispers at our housewarming party and loud arguments from upstairs keep me awake at night. I can’t sleep, I can’t think straight and I feel like someone is watching me in my own home.

And then Zac comes home one afternoon, his face clenched with fury, and says he knows what’s going on. He knows about my secret....

He won’t listen to me. He storms out and I’m left in tears, completely devastated.

Why has my life fallen apart since we moved here? Am I going mad? Or is someone trying to destroy us?

If only I’d known what I know now.
If only I hadn’t trusted the couple upstairs.

From the USA Today best-selling author Shalini Boland comes an absolutely heart-thumping psychological thriller with a twist you won’t see coming. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl and The Wife Between Us.

©2021 Shalini Boland (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What the critics say

"I have goosebumps.... This book is EVERYTHING!... Had I known I was in for such a wild ride I would have started reading this book earlier in the day instead of being kept all night!" (ThrillByThePage Book Blogger)

What listeners say about The Couple Upstairs

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Wouldn’t recommend, boring read.

99 percent of the book turned out to be about the woman’s online clothing store, and the bad reviews she received , throwing in her hearing the couple living upstairs making loud noises allot. I had to speed up the audio just to get through it hoping for more “thrilling parts” but that was only the last two hours (this is a 8 hour book)Overall I give this book a 2/5, only saving grace was one of my favourite narrator’s on Audible, Katie Villa (also the only reason i finished it)

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful