Get a free audiobook

The Darwin Affair

A Novel
Written by: Tim Mason
Narrated by: Derek Perkins
Length: 11 hrs and 28 mins

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

London, June 1860: When an assassination attempt is made on Queen Victoria, and a petty thief is gruesomely murdered moments later - and only a block away - Chief Detective Inspector Charles Field quickly surmises that these crimes are connected to an even more sinister plot. Was Victoria really the assassin's target? Are those closest to the Crown hiding something? And who is this shadowy figure witnesses describe as having lifeless, coal-black eyes? Soon, Field's investigation exposes a shocking conspiracy in which the publication of Charles Darwin's On the Origin of Species sets off a string of murders, arson, kidnapping, and the pursuit of a diabolical madman named the Chorister. As the investigation takes Field from the dangerous alleyways of London to the hallowed halls of Oxford, the list of possible conspirators grows as the body count escalates. And as he edges closer to the Chorister, he uncovers dark secrets that were meant to remain forever hidden.

With ingenuity, intelligence, and wit, debut novelist Tim Mason has created a powerfully entertaining thriller. For fans of Caleb Carr and Carlos Ruiz Zafon, The Darwin Affair is a rousing tale that both Charles Dickens and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle would relish and envy.

©2019 Tim Mason (P)2019 HighBridge, a division of Recorded Books

More from the same

What members say

No reviews are available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2019-06-20

Gruesome

This book has not a single redeeming feature. The story line is macabre though the setting is not ‘living dead’ . It is one horrid murder after another.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Jane
  • 2019-07-14

Dickensian “Jack the Ripper”

The premise of this book is promising. The Origin of the Species is such a classic and I thought that this would be a delightful mystery associated with Darwin. It is very dark and sadistic, just too sick for me.
Characters were well drawn and engaging, traveling with Queen Victoria’s entourage was most informative, the narration was terrific.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Paula Daniels
  • Attleboro, Massachusetts
  • 2019-06-11

Kept my interest first whole Audbook I finished

Enjoyed this very book very much and liked the narrator as well. Thank you 😀

9 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Carmel T Boulanger
  • THE VILLAGES, FL
  • 2019-06-18

HORROR

Disturbing. Like TV show, Criminal Minds. What kind of mind imagines things? Could not continue beyond chapter 11.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-07-10

A real page turner🙂

I couldn't stop listening to this book. The narrator is fantastic. I found myself playing the story like a movie in my head because of the creative use of vocabulary used to describe the characters.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • BikeVON
  • Southfield, Mi, United States
  • 2019-07-09

A new Victorian thriller

A captivating mystery in which the principles of Charles Darwin and a Charles Dicken’s character are central to the story. The story follows many of the historical events, places, and evolutional theories discussed during the reign of Queen Victoria. Prince Albert’s, philosophies are a central part in the mystery and action of the story.

Chief Detective Inspector Charles Field and his officers are on the hunt for a serial killer. Their efforts are thwart by the shortsightedness of the police officials and the cunning of an intelligent and resourceful adversary.
Philosophy, church doctrine, and the theory of evolution are all entwined in this exciting story.

It becomes a little slow and the murders can be gruesome. I found the story very satisfying and it held my interest.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • E. Nelson
  • 2019-06-24

Great Victorian style murder mystery

This is a slightly gruesome murder mystery that reads like a Dickens novel. The characters are wonderful. There is plenty of suspense and love the additional of the real people of the time. The narrator was superb.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Brianna L. Palmer
  • Tacoma, WA
  • 2019-06-14

loved it...wish there were more

good writing, kept interest, really liked main character and hope to read more inspector Field adventures... excellent narrator

1 of 2 people found this review helpful