Listen free for 30 days

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $17.76

Buy Now for $17.76

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

No one is good enough for her son....

As a single mother, Annie has an especially close relationship with her son, Ben. They have always been together. Just the two of them. So, when Ben brings home his mysterious beautiful new wife, Daisy, immediately Annie doesn’t trust her. Who is this woman who has taken her son away from her? And what is she hiding? She’ll protect him with her life....

When Ben disappears, suddenly Annie and Daisy are all the other one has. Alone in Annie’s big, remote house, just the two of them, the tension is rising. And like any protective mother, Annie will stop at nothing to expose her new daughter in law, and the secrets she is hiding.... 

A gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Sally Hepworth's The Mother In Law, Lisa Jewell and K. L. Slater.

©2019 Nina Manning (P)2019 Boldwood Books

What listeners say about The Daughter in Law

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    92
  • 4 Stars
    55
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    102
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    84
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable but predictable

I did enjoy this story but it was very predictable and probably would have made more sense if it was from the 70s or 80s area. Non the less I did enjoy it but glad it was a freebie and not a credit book!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Predictable

This was hard to get through and I found myself skipping many sections. The protagonist was written in such a way as to bring me the utmost frustration as I read about her naïveté and just plain laziness. The narrator was good though with a pleasant voice and good pacing.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Pregnancy, drinking & unknown pills

First of all the book should be called 'The Mother-in-law' not the Daughter-in-law. Predictable from start to finish. I really disliked how Daisy the pregnant woman in the story seemed to drink throughout her pregnancy with those around her offering her drinks and also taking medication that she had no idea what it was. Really? In this day and age knowing what we know about alcohol and pregnancy. I also can't believe that what happened to Daisy when she was a teen in her past was portrayed the way it was. Really hard to believe.

This was a very slow moving book which dragged on. I have never read a book by Nina Manning, and am not motivated to read anything else written by her.

I only downloaded this book as it was in Membership Plus category and I stuck it out to the end. So glad I didn't waste a credit on it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

terrible

Really disliked the book and found myself skipping chapters just to get to the end.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Lots of eye rolling!

Great narration. Story line is rather absurd, and I found the plot predictable. Did read until the end though.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Passable Effort. Praiseworthy Presentation.

Nina Manning does an excellent job plotting a psychological suspense tale with plenty of twists & turns that maintain interest. On top of that, she makes use of some truly commendable foreshadowing - readers/listeners are drawn into the story.. turning pages to find out "What was *that* all about?".
Unfortunately, her characterization is terrible. I didn't find myself caring one whit about what happened to any of these strikingly unlikable characters. On top of that - the storylines aren't integrated (+/- disguised) very well at all. Manning tells the story through the perspectives of three women: 'Annie' - the MIL; 'Daisy' - the DIL; and 'Grace' a seemingly random woman whose story makes zero sense until the climax. 
Manning isn't a good enough author to pull off a plot this complex.

As to the presentation: the editorial decisions from Boldwood Books and performances from Helen Keely and Candida Gubbins definitely improve my opinion of the audiobook. The use of two performers makes a fairly scattershot storytelling approach feel much more organic. Keely and Gubbins further enhance that impression with congruent voice-acting (both play characters with the same accents - they clearly met beforehand to work out what a given individual should sound like). Both also demonstrate creditable diction/timbre/cadence - and spot-on emotive tone. Given a choice between a text (paper/eBook) iteration of 'The Daughter In Law' and this audiobook version.. choose this one.

Charges of "predictability" for this book are legitimate. Manning provides an interesting exposé revealing some questionable people, but the ludicrous ending doesn't shock.  Beyond the "cant-look-away" voyeuristic aspects of the tale, this 7.5/10 star option doesn't offer much.
The outstanding narration tries - but can't quite elevate the book to a "recommended" option. If you can get it as part of the 'Plus' initiative, it's definitely an entertaining distraction
..but if they ask for a Credit, save it for something else.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really good!

I really enjoyed this book and it kept me captivated until the end! Definitely recommend.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

not so great

I thought this would be more of a mystery and less of someone describing what it's like to be pregnant for half a book.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Amy
  • 2022-04-04

Good … but predictable

The plot is pretty engaging, especially near the beginning. Voice actors were good . I figured out about halfway though what was going to happen but listened anyway.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wow amazing read

wow! this was an amazing read. I was very shocked at the end although I did have my suspicions all along it still blew me away. I felt many emotions and as a mother myself I wanted to scream at certain parts. amazing author and the narrators did a fantastic job portraying the story. Thank you 😊

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Wendi
  • 2019-08-21

Uhhh... What?? No.

After my fourth attempt to listen to this book, I stopped and asked for my money back. I LOVE psychological thrillers and I can usually find at least one thing interesting or 'different,' or something with a sense of 'twist.'

It's not here. In fact, I don't even know what this book is about. It should be called 'The Mother In Law' or 'The Jerk Son' because that's all the author talks about. This was frustrating. I waited for it to get better but alas.. it doesn't.

I paid full price because it was cheaper than using a credit and, I want my money back.

Blah.

-Wendi

35 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2020-02-19

Entertaining....

This book had me interested from the start and really looking for what the twists would lead to and when it finally did, it was amazing. Well written and very well performed. I absolutely will be looking for more books by Nina Manning.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Sarah
  • 2019-09-23

not good

This story was not good at all. I just spent the whole book thinking something was coming. A big reveal or a shocking twist, or that maybe I missed something, but nope, it was just not good.

17 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Cynthia
  • 2019-09-06

Creepy and Excellebt

Often love an author’s debut book, and The Daughter in Law is no exception. Could not stopping listening. Excellent narration and well-structured story line. Highly Recommend!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Debbie
  • 2021-10-09

Draaaaagggged on.

Maybe if this book had been half as long. The general storyline was fine with me, but I just got so bored with her dragging it out. The story set up was fine and then the end was fine, but then the middle of the book just went on and on and I got bored as heck. I was going to read some others of her books because some are included for free and now I am not sure. Too bad, love the included books.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Nakita ruffin
  • 2021-10-23

Pregnancy in cognac

Why is the daisy drinking so much cognac while pregnant and taking unknown meds... it didn't seem like she cared about the health of her baby. Stress , drinking and pill popping was mentioned so casually as if women drinking hard liquor while stressed and pregnant was normal. So many ppl drank with her while knowing she was pregnant

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • ted e de giacomo
  • 2021-10-22

This book is so boring ,

I tried to listen to the whole book, it was impossible, I was waiting for the book to get better, it didn’t

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • RoxAnne
  • 2021-10-25

Really?!

The plot was horrible. The “damsel” in distress…weak …wow! All the female angst. Mushy, predictable …I struggled to get to the end.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • SUNILKUMAR GOVINDANKUTTY
  • 2021-10-21

Where is the story?

The cliff notes for the title was interesting. But I couldn't find the story. There was the promise of something happening but it didn't materialize. Weak characters and plot.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • lisa
  • 2019-08-17

Great story

I will say that I had it mostly figured out as I'm sure others will too but even with that said I couldn't stop listening! Great writing and character development!!

5 people found this helpful