Get a free audiobook

$14.95/month + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

No one is good enough for her son....

As a single mother, Annie has an especially close relationship with her son, Ben. They have always been together. Just the two of them. So, when Ben brings home his mysterious beautiful new wife, Daisy, immediately Annie doesn’t trust her. Who is this woman who has taken her son away from her? And what is she hiding? She’ll protect him with her life....

When Ben disappears, suddenly Annie and Daisy are all the other one has. Alone in Annie’s big, remote house, just the two of them, the tension is rising. And like any protective mother, Annie will stop at nothing to expose her new daughter in law, and the secrets she is hiding.... 

A gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Sally Hepworth's The Mother In Law, Lisa Jewell and K. L. Slater.

©2019 Nina Manning (P)2019 Boldwood Books

More from the same

What listeners say about The Daughter in Law

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Wendi
  • 2019-08-21

Uhhh... What?? No.

After my fourth attempt to listen to this book, I stopped and asked for my money back. I LOVE psychological thrillers and I can usually find at least one thing interesting or 'different,' or something with a sense of 'twist.'

It's not here. In fact, I don't even know what this book is about. It should be called 'The Mother In Law' or 'The Jerk Son' because that's all the author talks about. This was frustrating. I waited for it to get better but alas.. it doesn't.

I paid full price because it was cheaper than using a credit and, I want my money back.

Blah.

-Wendi

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Cynthia
  • 2019-09-06

Creepy and Excellebt

Often love an author’s debut book, and The Daughter in Law is no exception. Could not stopping listening. Excellent narration and well-structured story line. Highly Recommend!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • lisa
  • 2019-08-17

Great story

I will say that I had it mostly figured out as I'm sure others will too but even with that said I couldn't stop listening! Great writing and character development!!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Sarah
  • 2019-09-23

not good

This story was not good at all. I just spent the whole book thinking something was coming. A big reveal or a shocking twist, or that maybe I missed something, but nope, it was just not good.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • LisalouRN
  • 2019-09-11

good but...

it draaaaaaaged on it could have been a lot shorter. somewhat predictable. But it kept me interest. barely

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • NJS
  • 2019-09-04

Ugh

Lousy-don’t waste your time. It dragged on & on only to get to the end felling like, “You know what? I don’t care!” Pointless telling of backstories that ended up not making a difference. Spend your credit elsewhere.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • eh chaponis
  • 2019-08-25

The Daughter in Law

Top notch suspense, great characters!! Nina Manning knows how to keep you nailed to a non-stop thriller, take the ride if you’re life! 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Darlene C.
  • 2020-10-24

Boring

From the get go the characters were sad, boring, and depressing to listen to. They simply had no depth which made it difficult to get into, much less finish. I'm also not a fan of a book waiting 'til the last 10 minutes to tie everything together (even though the ending here was ridiculously predictable). Total waste of time and money.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Andrew Dunne
  • 2020-02-25

Not believable!

There are so many problems with this book that I’m not sure where to start. The characters are annoying and the story is pretty absurd. I forced myself to finish it but I would not recommend this at all.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2020-02-19

Entertaining....

This book had me interested from the start and really looking for what the twists would lead to and when it finally did, it was amazing. Well written and very well performed. I absolutely will be looking for more books by Nina Manning.