Get a free audiobook

The Doll Factory

Written by: Elizabeth Macneal
Narrated by: Tuppence Middleton
Length: 10 hrs and 54 mins

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

In this "sharp, scary, gorgeously evocative tale of love, art, and obsession" (Paula Hawkins, best-selling author of The Girl on the Train), a beautiful young woman aspires to be an artist, while a man’s dark obsession may destroy her world forever.

In 1850s London, the Great Exhibition is being erected in Hyde Park, and among the crowd watching the dazzling spectacle, two people meet by happenstance. For Iris, an arrestingly attractive aspiring artist, it is a brief and forgettable moment, but for Silas, a curiosity collector enchanted by all things strange and beautiful, the meeting marks a new beginning.

When Iris is asked to model for Pre-Raphaelite artist Louis Frost, she agrees on the condition that he will also teach her to paint. Suddenly, her world begins to expand beyond her wildest dreams - but she has no idea that evil is waiting in the shadows. Silas has only thought of one thing since that chance meeting, and his obsession is darkening by the day.

"A page-turning psychological thriller" (Essie Fox, author of The Somnambulist) that will haunt you long after you finish it, The Doll Factory is perfect for fans of The Alienist, Drood, and The Historian.

©2019 Elizabeth Macneal (P)2019 Simon & Schuster

What members say

No reviews are available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Lynne S Adams
  • Massachusetts
  • 2019-08-15

Quite awful

I read a really good review of the doll factory so stuck with it all the way through

What a dreadful, hot mess.


Quite awful

2 of 6 people found this review helpful