Listen free for 30 days

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $47.83

Buy Now for $47.83

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The first book in a brand new World War II saga series. Perfect for fans of Ellie Dean and Annie Groves.

Dover, 1939.

At the heart of Dover's Market Square lies the Castle's Café. A bustling, homely place run by the formidable Nellie Castle and her six children. 

Since the scandalous birth of her beloved son 10 years before, Marianne, Nellie's eldest daughter, has preferred to stay in the kitchen, hidden away from the scrutiny of the town gossips. Overcome with shame, Marianne has never revealed the name of Donny's father - not even to her own mother. 

But with World War II just around the corner, Marianne's past catches up with her. And suddenly the lives of the Castle family become a lot more complicated. 

Will the secrets from her past destroy their future?

©2020 Ginny Bell (P)2020 Bonnier Books Ltd

What listeners say about The Dover Café at War

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • S B
  • 2022-03-21

LANGUAGE

I'm only 9 minutes in and already there's cursing. BUT WHYYYYY??? It's completely unnecessarily. I'M DONE!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2022-03-04

Entertaining

Beginning to the end, this audio was so entertaining to listen to. Sad at times but many moments of laughter. Everyone should have a Nellie Castle in their life, sadly I don't.
The narrator made the story engaging. I look forward to the next book and hope it tells us how the lives of the rest of the characters are doing.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Brityvette
  • 2021-12-08

Memories of my hometown

I loved this book! The narrator was outstanding. I am from Deal and went to high school in Dover so I could visualize so much. I have visited the tunnels under the castle and it’s a fascinating visit. The book just captured the atmosphere of that time in our history. Can’t wait to read number 2!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • marylu gray
  • 2022-07-02

Unexpected pleasure

I found the whole book fascinating with the feisty family matron who says it just the way she sees it! She's feisty and hard nosed at times, but keeps her community together during the hardest of times! So many life lessons to learn here.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Antoinette M. Sasiela
  • 2022-06-09

Unfinished

Even though I love WWII stories I found the reader annoying so I never got past chapter five.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • JDV
  • 2022-06-05

Great War story

I really love reading World War Two stories. I loved the character development and I felt like I truly knew these folks. Also loved the reader.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Pooh Bear
  • 2022-05-27

Good book!

I have been reading a lot of war books and this is definitely one of the best
It has war, family, and love and community
highly recommend

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • South Jersey Mama
  • 2022-05-26

Excellent Story!!

I really enjoyed this story. It is well written. The characters are relatable. I love the family saga aspect of it. The narrator did a spectacular job telling the story. I laughed out loud a lot, got angry and had tears. I was definitely invested in the story and couldn’t wait to see what happened. I love historical fiction and this was the first time I read this author. I look forward to the next book in the series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Laura Maness
  • 2022-05-16

Awesome book

Great story and a easy read/listen. Happy to live on the the next book in the series

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • gillian r fisher
  • 2022-03-11

Loved it!

Started out slow with lots of confusing characters, but got better and better as it went on!