Get a free audiobook

The Eagle and the Wolves

Eagles of the Empire, Book 4
Written by: Simon Scarrow
Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
Series: Eagles of the Empire, Book 4
Length: 12 hrs and 48 mins
5 out of 5 stars (14 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome!

The Eagle and the Wolves is the gripping fourth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

Britannia, AD 44. Occupation is never easy. The enemy is butchering their supply convoys, their garrison town is starving and the truce with the locals is uneasy at best. Young Cato, newly promoted, and veteran centurion Macro are ordered to train the Wolves and the Boars, two cohorts of barbarian Britons, and introduce them to the brutal drills of the Roman Imperial Army. Macro is confident they'll win the natives over, but Cato worries about putting weapons into the hands of potential rebels. Ultimately, only one thing matters: is there a difference between the enemy at their gates, and the allies in their own camp?

©2003 Simon Scarrow (P)2017 Headline Publishing Group Ltd.

What the critics say

"A new book in Simon Scarrow's long-running series about the Roman army is always a joy." ( The Times)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great novel and well narrated

I was skeptical as the first 3 books were read by another narrator. however, this narrator did a great job too!
great story and it was read like a movie :)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Series

I had one of these books sitting on my shelf for years but never cracked it. Decided to finally read it and now I am going through the audiobooks for these so quickly. Fantastic stories. #Audible1

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • TheToal
  • 2018-04-17

great Story, great narration

another great story, and the narrator (new with this book) did a great job bringing the story to life for me. already downloaded the next book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mike From Mesa
  • 2018-03-24

Cato and Macro are in trouble again

I bought the first book in this series, Under The Eagle, out of curiosity. I have had a continuing interest in Ancient Rome and I enjoy a good historical novel, so I thought I would give it a chance. I enjoyed it, but not so much that I went out and bought the next book in the series right away. After about 6 months I decided to listen to the next book available in the series (book 3 as book 2 is not available) and thoroughly enjoyed that. The books were getting better, or I was getting more interested in the main characters of the novels, or both.

Book 4 was better yet. Cato keeps growing as a character, Macro provides a good counter-point, the story of the Roman Legions in Great Britain and the fight against the Celtic rebellion led by Caratacus gives the story interest and relevancy.This book, which concerns the effort to train the local Celts as an ally to Rome, has been the best in the series so far and is full of interesting people, political intrigue, great bravery and more than a little pathos. The back story of the novel is, of course, accurate, and the entire book feels more like a history than a novel. Mr Scarrow's writing is wonderful and the narration by Jonathan Keeble is first class. There is a bit too much detail in the battle descriptions for my taste, but I can easily overlook that, given the gripping story itself.

I will buy the next book in the series much earlier than after another 6 month wait.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Fiberkat
  • 2017-08-20

great story series with excellent narration.

read the series in order. much knowledge and enjoyment to be found. the narrator uses, with a few exceptions, classical Latin pronunciation, which alone is worth the money to me.