Get a free audiobook

The Eagle's Conquest

Eagles of the Empire, Book 2
Written by: Simon Scarrow
Narrated by: David Thorpe
Series: Eagles of the Empire, Book 2
Length: 13 hrs and 36 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (17 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome!

The Eagle's Conquest is the thrilling second novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Essential reading for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

Britannia, AD 43. Bleak, rainy and full of vicious savages, Britannia is a land that Cato, solider of the Second Legion, wishes Rome didn't want to conquer. And as right-hand man to Centurion Macro, Cato sees the very worst of his native Britons, battling alongside his commander in bloodier combat than he could ever have imagined. But the Britons are fighting back with Roman weapons - which means someone in their own ranks is supplying arms to the enemy. Cato and Macro are about to discover even deadlier adversaries than the British barbarians....

©2001 Simon Scarrow (P)2013 Headline Publishing Group Ltd.

What the critics say

"Gripping and moving." ( The Times)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

awesome narrator

awesome book will deffinatly read the full series. great narrator highly recommended for Roman fiends

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • kevin dry
  • 2014-06-05

easy listening

Would you listen to The Eagle's Conquest again? Why?

Yes in a years time; you miss pieces while driving

Who was your favorite character and why?

Carto - lead charactor

Have you listened to any of David Thorpe’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

listen to another in the same series so no difference

If you could rename The Eagle's Conquest, what would you call it?

in a Roman army

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Erik
  • 2014-04-12

Solid Sword and Sandals Story

This really is an entertaining series. Not exactly haute literature, but the writing is solid and the stories draw you in. As always, Simon Scarrow is perfectly matched to this series.

Give this one a try if you’re into this genre. You won’t be disappointed.