Get a free audiobook

The Eagle's Prey

Eagles of the Empire, Book 5
Written by: Simon Scarrow
Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
Series: Eagles of the Empire, Book 5
Length: 13 hrs and 36 mins
5 out of 5 stars (13 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The Eagle's Prey is the thrilling fifth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. A must-listen for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

It is late summer AD 44, and the battle-weary Roman legions are in their second year of campaigning against the British tribes. The troops' commander, General Plautius, is under pressure from the emperor to crush the natives once and for all.

Centurions Macro and Cato are with the crack Second Legion under the precarious leadership of Centurion Maximus, and it's their task to hold a ford across the river Tamesis when the natives are forced into a trap. But Maximus' nerve breaks at the critical point, allowing the enemy leader, Caratacus, and his men to escape.

Outraged by this failure, General Plautius orders the decimation of the unit. Their choice: die, or escape to become fugitives pursued by soldiers of their own ruthless army. Hiding from their former comrades as well as the Britons, Cato's small band of fugitives have only one chance to redeem themselves before they are hunted down like animals.

©2004 Simon Scarrow (P)2017 Headline Digital

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story and some nice twists

Loving all of the books in the series so far. Glad there's a lot more left in the series. Well written and narrated like a movie. Thanks to both th author and narrator!
If you love historical- military fiction, this is the book + series for you!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I couldn't stop listening

The story was excellent with character growth and plots twists. The narrative was excellent and captured the characters well

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Timothy
  • 2017-09-09

Solid Book.

Solid book. Narrator was good but enjoyed the narrator of the first two books better.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • JG
  • 2020-05-20

Best book in the series thus far!

The writing and narration is excellent. I had my doubts when they changed narrator's but he is great but the story is just awesome.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Rasmus
  • 2019-11-12

Partly surprising plot but a little too neat resolution

The plot takes a nice turn in the first third, but the resolution of Cato and Macros problems seems a bit too obvious, and the conflict with their cohort leader has too much feud ex machine in its resolution.
Cato also seems very little affected by being near starvation for weeks.
And he seems to be strangled all the time. But I guess that is fairly realistic.

I don’t think the current voice actor makes as distinct voices as for book 1-3.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Gnorl Gnockwatts
  • 2019-08-05

Best of the first 5 in series.

Great from to finish. Keeble does a wonderful job in characterizations and pace adjustment. Scarrow at his best.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Melissa
  • 2019-02-13

Great Series!

This series continues to impress! Always a joy to hear what new adventures Macro and Cato will be involved in.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Mike From Mesa
  • 2018-09-15

Decimation

Macro and Cato are in trouble again, and this time it is very serious for Cato as his century has been selected for Decimation due to an order from a disgraced Centurian that led to a lost battle, and he and his men must find a way to elude the Legions looking for them and win their way back into the good graces of the army.

The story, as usual, is gripping and the descriptions seem as accurate as ever, but what makes these novels so interesting for me is that the characters involved seem full-fleshed and real, the situations they find themselves in seem reasonable, at least for those Roman times, and I find that I care about them as though they were real people. Mr Scarrow's writing is, as always, sharp, clean and gripping and the narration is as fine as ever. I know they will come through their troubles since there are other books following this one, but it always seems as though it is impossible and the tension comes at least as much as how they will do it as if they will do it.

Another wonderful book for those interested in the Roman Legions and the trial and tribulations of Macro and Cato.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Stephen
  • 2017-04-22

Glad I finally got to hear it

I travel constantly so audiobooks are about the only way I get to read - and I don't know why Cato & Macro 4 & 5 were never available in the States, but I'm glad they finally are. I can give a review in one sentence: I liked the book so much I finished it in less than a day.

1 person found this helpful