Get a free audiobook

The Empty Nest

Written by: Sue Watson
Narrated by: Jasmine Blackborow
Length: 8 hrs and 50 mins

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

"Sometimes we can’t see what’s right in front of us, Kat. Everyone has secrets, even the people we love, the people we live with...."

Kat remembers the days when her only daughter Amy wouldn't leave her side. Amy was the baby who cried when you walked out of the room, the toddler who was too shy to speak to strangers, the small child who clung to Kat's legs in the school playground. 

But now Amy is grown up, and Amy is gone - to university in a town several hours away. Kat's house - which once felt too full, too noisy, too busy - is deathly quiet, and Kat awaits the daily phone call to tell her that her beloved daughter is thriving and happy. 

But one day Amy doesn’t call. Kat’s husband and friends think she is being paranoid - surely Amy is just out, having fun with her friends. But Kat knows right away that something is very wrong. Her daughter would never forget to call. She would never just disappear.... After all, Amy has nothing to run from. Or does she? 

A gripping and suspenseful psychological thriller with more twists and turns than a rollercoaster. Fans of The Wife Between Us, The Girl Before, and Gone Girl will be gripped by this story about a mother’s obsessive love for her child.

©2019 Sue Watson (P)2019 Bookouture

What members say

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kelly
  • 2019-11-02

If you're a mom of a young woman...

You will feel this book. I felt myself tearing up several times as I identified so much with the mother. It's a very well written, well narrated book. I can see that those without a daughter may find it tedious but I was riveted.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • eh chaponis
  • 2019-11-22

The Empty Nest

A true thriller through and through!! Loved it! So fast paced, read it straight through in less than a day!! Bravo to Jasmine Blackborow!! I will read her again!! 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻💞

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • A. J. Holmes
  • 2019-11-19

Gripping

Wow! I had my suspicions very early on but shrugged them off but as it turns out, I was spot on. I was both happy and sad that I was right. It's such a shame how people are never who they portray themselves to be. The truth always surfaces...for some, too late.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Shawn
  • 2019-11-06

Great Book

This was a great book from start to end I was engaged the entire time, I have returned the last few books I’ve purchased on here but I was sad when the sad was over I Highly recommend

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • lynette b.
  • 2019-12-09

Good

This book was really good but I wish I’d counted how many times she said “Amy” ! She could have said “she” or “her” and I promise we would have known who she was talking about

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Brenda
  • 2019-12-04

Too much fretting, not enough action.

There was a lot of fretting and hand-wringing throughout the book which became quite repetitious over the several hours that I listened to it.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Michael
  • 2019-11-12

Waiting for Gadot

She has a close bond with her daughter. Her daughter is missing. These are the themes of the first umpteen chapters over and over and...you get the drift. I skipped whole chapters after a while, only because I couldn't return it. Even the narration is overwrought, which is to be expected. She was probably frustrated with having to repeat the same words a gazillion times! Beware. If you've seen Waiting for Gadot, this is the literary equivalent. You'll wait forever to get to any semblance of a plot, or not, if you're clever enough not to purchase it in the first place.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • donna
  • 2019-12-02

was so glad when it ended

I felt this book was one big whine. I almost gave up on it a few times but I kept hoping it would get better. I do not recommend this book unless you have the patience to listen to constant whining.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful