Get a free audiobook

The Empty Nest

Written by: Sue Watson
Narrated by: Jasmine Blackborow
Length: 8 hrs and 50 mins
3.7 out of 5 stars (11 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

"Sometimes we can’t see what’s right in front of us, Kat. Everyone has secrets, even the people we love, the people we live with...."

Kat remembers the days when her only daughter Amy wouldn't leave her side. Amy was the baby who cried when you walked out of the room, the toddler who was too shy to speak to strangers, the small child who clung to Kat's legs in the school playground. 

But now Amy is grown up, and Amy is gone - to university in a town several hours away. Kat's house - which once felt too full, too noisy, too busy - is deathly quiet, and Kat awaits the daily phone call to tell her that her beloved daughter is thriving and happy. 

But one day Amy doesn’t call. Kat’s husband and friends think she is being paranoid - surely Amy is just out, having fun with her friends. But Kat knows right away that something is very wrong. Her daughter would never forget to call. She would never just disappear.... After all, Amy has nothing to run from. Or does she? 

A gripping and suspenseful psychological thriller with more twists and turns than a rollercoaster. Fans of The Wife Between Us, The Girl Before, and Gone Girl will be gripped by this story about a mother’s obsessive love for her child.

©2019 Sue Watson (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Empty Nest

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Mike Thompson
  • 2019-12-11

The end as good, but the rest....

I’m glad I stuck it out and finished the book, because after the first half of the book saying the exact same thing I was going to quit. I understood the mother/daughter relationship clearly and could have used about 3 chapters less to describe it. You can only say obsessed so many times. We got it. Also, the plot twists were well written. I was excited about once things actually started happening. Yay for awesome narration! Saved this book for sure!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • AJ Holmes
  • 2019-11-19

Gripping

Wow! I had my suspicions very early on but shrugged them off but as it turns out, I was spot on. I was both happy and sad that I was right. It's such a shame how people are never who they portray themselves to be. The truth always surfaces...for some, too late.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kelly
  • 2019-11-02

If you're a mom of a young woman...

You will feel this book. I felt myself tearing up several times as I identified so much with the mother. It's a very well written, well narrated book. I can see that those without a daughter may find it tedious but I was riveted.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • F. Terwilliger
  • 2019-12-31

Kept my interest but main character was annoying

Fairly easy to guess who was responsible for Amy’s disappearance. Not a bad story, but found the main character so annoying it was hard to care much.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • V. R.
  • 2020-01-16

MOVES WAY TOO SLOWLY

This was the most excruciating book I've ever listened to. I forced myself through 5 hours worth and just couldn't torture myself anymore. The story moves WAY TOO SLOWLY; most of it is just one irritating main character ruminating/whining over her daughter being missing chapter and chapter after chapter with no turn of events... This book could have been edited down to a 1/3 of the length. I lost interest. I'm returning it. On the bright side, the narrator was excellent.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Robert Keefer
  • 2020-01-12

Good Ending

Good ending but very very slow to get to the drama and suspense. Almost gave up on it a few times but glad I didn't.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 2019-12-12

Great listen.

Thus one kept my interest and maxed me want to keep on listening. It was tough to figure out. Little clues pointed every which way.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • eh chaponis
  • 2019-11-22

The Empty Nest

A true thriller through and through!! Loved it! So fast paced, read it straight through in less than a day!! Bravo to Jasmine Blackborow!! I will read her again!! 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻💞

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Shawn
  • 2019-11-06

Great Book

This was a great book from start to end I was engaged the entire time, I have returned the last few books I’ve purchased on here but I was sad when the sad was over I Highly recommend

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Megan M O'Block
  • 2020-03-06

Thrilling

Like many other f these psychological thrillers, you can be surprised at the end. I did not guess it.

1 person found this helpful