Listen free for 30 days

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $30.67

Buy Now for $30.67

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Charles Dickens wrote A Christmas Carol - A Ghost Story of Christmas in Five Staves when he was 31. The first edition was published on December 19, 1843 and had sold out just four days later! By the end of 1844, it was running to 13 editions. Now with numerous adaptations for film, television, radio, stage - and indeed in audio - it has become an essential part of Christmas for many.

Raconteurs Audio has created this collection to include Dickens’ two Christmas novellas, The Chimes and The Cricket on the Hearth, as well as some of his lesser known short stories with a Christmas theme.

A Christmas Carol

  • Stave 1 - Marley’s Ghost, read by Liam Gerrard
  • Stave 2 - The First of Three Spirits, read by Tim Bruce
  • Stave 3 - The Second of Three Spirits, read by James Gillies
  • Stave 4 - The Last of the Spirits, read by Greg Wagland
  • Stave 5 - The End of It, read by Malk Williams


  • Stave 1 - "God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen" - English Traditional
  • Stave 2 - "The Three Kings" - Peter Cornelius 1856
  • Stave 3 - "Gabriel’s Message" - Basque Noel
  • Stave 4 - "A Coventry Carol" - Original of 1591
  • Stave 5 - "This Is the Truth" - English traditional
  • Finale - "In Dulci Jubilo" - Old German

Festive Tales

  • “The Haunted House” (1859) read by Greg Wagland
  • “A Christmas Tree” (1850) read by Nigel Patterson
  • “The Chimes” (1844) read by James Gillies
  • “The Christmas Goblins” (1836) read by Liam Gerrard
  • “The Cricket on the Hearth” (1845) read by Helen Lloyd
  • “Nobody’s Story” (1852) read by Malk Williams
  • “A Child’s Dream of a Star” (1871) read by Tim Bruce
  • “What Christmas Is as We Grow Older” (1851) read by James Gillies

These stories, originally published between 1843 and 1871, are in the public domain. The traditional Christmas music is also within the public domain - with original arrangements by Kelvin Towse created for this audiobook production.

Public Domain (P)2020 Raconteurs Audio LLP

What listeners say about The Essential Dickens Christmas

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available