Get a free audiobook

The Eyes of the Dragon

Written by: Stephen King
Narrated by: Bronson Pinchot
Length: 10 hrs and 23 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (59 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The Kingdom of Delain is at stake when King Roland is murdered and his son and rightful heir, Peter, is framed for the crime. Plotting against him is the evil Flagg and his pawn, young Prince Thomas. Yet with every plan there are holes - like Thomas's terrible secret. And the determined Prince Peter, who is planning a daring escape from his imprisonment.

Stephen King has taken the classic fairy tale and transformed it into a masterpiece of fiction for the ages.

©1987 Stephen King (P)2010 Penguin Audio

What the critics say

"Memorable, suspenseful, brimming with action." ( Chicago Sun-Times)
"King has done a masterful job - beautifully told and beautifully illustrated." ( The Cincinnati Post)
"Compelling - his most powerful storytelling." ( The Atlanta Journal-Constitution)

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great narration

My favorite Steven King story read the book a few times and now have listened

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

King keeps me coming back for more.

Interesting characters, good plot and enjoyable narration. As a constant reader, I wasn't disappointed. It made my travel time quite pleasant!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Fantasy!!!

Absolutely loved this book. I only wish king had made it longer. Went through it in almost 1 day; just couldn't stop listening.
It was an Excellent fantasy with a perfect mix of medieval and post modern apocalyptic times.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great book - terribly read

this is one of my favorite books. The reading of this book is horrible. There are mistakes and it is very monotone. I am very disappointed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

King does Fantasy, and it works

Fantastic Fantasy from Stephen King! Check it out asap! The writing is good and enjoyable and the voice work on this audiobook is great to with the reading of the book. 5/5

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

This was the first Stephen King book I ever read cover to cover, and wanted to read again. A coworker recommended Audible, so I made an account and grabbed it as my first book. Bronson Pinchot was a pleasant surprise as narrator and nailed every character. His narration was very immersive and made the work days fly by as I listened.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • jston
  • 2016-03-19

A Great Place to Start

If you haven't read Stephen King and you've been meaning to start, this would be an excellent book for you. It's also appropriate for younger readers. Featuring a villain familiar to anyone who's seen or read The Stand, or The Dark Tower series, this story stands alone and is a favorite of many of King's constant readers. Fans of Ronnie James Dio, and Game of Thrones should enjoy this.

25 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • johnny F
  • 2016-06-25

Nice change of pace as I read all things dark tower

I'm currently reading through the dark tower series, including some of the books that tie into it. Before this I had just read:

Salems lot
The gunslinger
The drawing of the three
The stand

I've liked each book so far, but this one was very different from the others. The book is told as a bit of a fairy tale, with the narrator stopping to comment on the story, teasing what will happen next and asking you to stop and think about how you would feel if you found yourself in the story.

I very much enjoyed the narration, and while the story was simple, it was a short and pleasant change of pace.

While the book does tie in strongly with a character found in other king books, you don't need to have read anything else before this one.

If you're like me and still early on your journey through all things dark tower, I think you'll look back on this one as a nice little side vacation.

35 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • David S. Mathew
  • 2017-03-10

King pulls a Tolkien

Eyes of the Dragon is Steven King's first departure from Horror into the realm of Epic Fantasy. It is different from King's standard fair and I admit I only picked this up because the book's principal antagonist, Randal Flagg, later reappears in King's Dark Tower series. That said, I was very impressed with what I found here. Eyes of the Dragon is fantastic and stands as a great novel all on its own.

Also, Bronson Pinchot's narration is absolutely terrific. The echo he uses when voicing the dark wizard Flagg is particularly bone chilling. Highly recommended!

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • SchnauzerPWD
  • 2016-01-30

Wow

I don't believe I've ever before heard a narrator so good that I could, as they say, listen to him read the phone book. That it's Bronson Pinchot, who I've known for his many well-remembered silly-voiced characters is amazing. I'm going to go and look for more that he's done.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jonathan Kessler
  • 2018-01-20

What a performance!!!

I have listened to dozens and dozens of audiobooks in my life, but I have to say Bronson Pinchot’s performance on this book was just incredible and was very possibly the best I’ve ever heard. Plus the story is great. Having read most of King’s books, this one is easily one of my favorites. All around, great. Very different from King’s typical horror realm. I really enjoyed his take on a fantasy story. You should definitely give it a try!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2017-01-19

Bronson Pinchot is amazing!

At several points, I had to remind myself that it was only Bronson. It has the feel of a full cast recording, great work.

Occasionally, the audio clips off half a word at the end of a chapter.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Shady Jo Sanchez
  • 2016-05-19

Fantastic

Mr. Pinchot did a wonderful job telling the story. Stephen King never disappoints. It was a wonderful read!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Megan
  • 2016-01-19

Great reader!

The reader simply makes a good book even better!! Great job to him. The book is great if you want a short break from reality with a classic fairy tale like feel.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ashley G
  • 2019-09-27

Amazing!

I was hesitant to listen but so glad I did! I didn't want a scary overly detailed Stephen King book! I wanted quick and entertaining and this hit it all!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Joe Joe
  • 2017-11-20

Fun story, tough narration to listen to

I read this book to catch up on books that relate to the Dark Tower series. I have now read quite a bit of Stephen King, and this was totally different than any I've read to date. He dedicates this to his daughter, and the book reads like a story that he's writing for a young child. It's very well written and a very fun story, especially if you enjoy Medieval Time stories.

The story gives a very good description of Randall Flagg, even better than The Stand, in my opinion. It definitely makes sense why this is a story to read before the DT series, and it's pretty short, so I would recommend.

The worst part about this audiobook was the narrator. This is only the 2nd audiobook that I've really disliked the narrator, and I don't remember for certain the other. His voice for Flagg is horrendous and for some reason all the drunks and poor people have Irish accents.

1 person found this helpful