Listen free for 30 days

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $31.27

Buy Now for $31.27

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Now with new narrators!

Ever since Riley Thomas, reluctant medium extraordinaire, accidentally released a malevolent spirit from a Ouija board when she was 13, she’s taken a hard pass on scary movies, haunted houses, and cemeteries. Twelve years later, when her best friend pressures her into spending a paranormal investigation weekend at the infamous Jordanville Ranch - former home of deceased serial killer Orin Jacobs - Riley’s still not ready to accept the fact that she can communicate with ghosts. 

Shortly after their arrival at the ranch, the spirit of a little boy contacts Riley, a child who went missing - and was never found - in 1973. In order to put the young boy’s spirit to rest, she has to come to grips with her ability. But how can she solve a mystery that happened a decade before she was born? Especially when someone who knows Orin’s secrets wants to keep the truth buried...no matter the cost.

This paranormal suspense will appeal to fans of Wendy Wang, Cheryl Bradshaw, and Heather Graham. Grab your copy today to join Riley on a twisty path toward answers in a decades-old cold case.  

©2018 Melissa Erin Jackson (P)2019 Melissa Erin Jackson

What listeners say about The Forgotten Child

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Couldn't handle the narrator

the story sounds like it would have been interesting. However, the narrator was almost robotic and I just couldn't continue after the first few chapters.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • RACHEL REED
  • 2020-11-18

An intriguing paranormal thriller!

This was an intriguing paranormal thriller!
It was exceptionally compelling and drew me in from the first chapter. The story has a creepy vibe to it and was very well written.
The narrators did a great job un bringing this story to life.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Michele
  • 2021-04-07

I will absolutely 100% be reading the next book!

The Forgotten Child by Melissa Erin Jackson is a paranormal mystery. I honestly did not realize how wrapped up in this story I had become until my phone alarm went off and scared me senseless. I literally screamed in my own home! Mysterious ✅ Creepy ✅ Scary ✅

Synopsis:
Riley is an unwilling medium. It has only caused her heartache and pain. Thus far, she has successfully kept it a secret from her current group of friends. Then, they plan a weekend retreat at a haunted ranch. No matter what she tries, she can’t get out of it. Surely, it isn’t really haunted. Right?

Things start getting creepy when Riley realizes that she is seeing people that no one else can see. She can’t even flirt with the most handsome bachelor at the camp without seeing ghosts. Things go wild from there!

After a traumatic weekend, Riley is relieved when she finally heads home, but she doesn’t go home alone. Pete comes with her. He is a little boy who has been trapped as a ghost since 1973. Can she solve his murder and find his body so that he can finally be free? Without knowing where to begin, Riley starts down a precarious path that leads to … some seriously scary reading!

Story Review:
I will absolutely 100% be reading the next book in this series! I loved this book and was thrilled to discover that the next book comes out in May 2021. The audio version will be available in the summer of 2021.

If you want to find flaws with The Forgotten Child, you can find them as with any other book. Mr. Perfect is a little too perfect. The pacing slows down a tad too much here and there. I would still highly recommend this book to another reader.

Some of the “possession” scenes are intense and definitely adult only. Check out the sensitivity warnings below if that concerns you.

I hate scary movies, and I didn’t even know that I liked scary books. I foresee some new reading material in my future!

Narration Review:
The narrators are amazing! Victoria Villarreal and David Clifford Turner bring this story to life with an air of mystery and suspense. I loved them and would listen to them again without hesitation. I am stunned that this is David Clifford Turner’s first book narration. Way to knock it out of the park!

Reading Recommendation:
If you liked this book, you should check out Ruckman Road by Robert Stevens.

Sensitivity Warnings:
The Forgotten Child is an adult book that deals with adult themes. It contains sex, rape, and murder. Through her paranormal connection, Riley experiences the violence perpetrated on the murder victims in this book. It is intense. Readers be warned.

Source:
I received a free copy of The Forgotten Child at my request in exchange for an honest review.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • B
  • 2020-11-27

Just wow!

This book blew me away. It was scary and creepy and yet I found myself laughing and loving the love story throughout. I loved the characters. I was very surprised with this one and I’m looking forward to reading more!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Soni R
  • 2021-12-06

Excellent

Well worth a listen!!! Great characters, great storyline. You’ll probably stay up all night listening just like I did. I highly recommend.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Nikki A
  • 2021-02-17

Loved this book!

This book was so good and so well done! Can’t wait till the next part of the series is released on audible!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Deedra
  • 2021-02-16

The Forgotten Child

Excellent read! This was a goosebump inducing book. Riley does NOT want to go to a murder house that her friend has signed her up for.She does anyway and meets a child ghost that no one found a corpse for when the murders were discovered.I am looking forward to book 2. Victoria Vilarreal and David Clifford Turner were fine narrators.I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.'

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Susan
  • 2021-01-19

A great story

I loved this story. The idea of talking with spirits is creepy but Pete was different. He sure put Riley through a lot of turmoil. Riley & her boyfriend, along with some other friends did a great thing helping Pete. The author did a greeccat job of creating believable & lovable characters. The story kept me turning the pages anxiously waiting to see what happened. I will be reading more from this author. I highly reccomend this book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Wulvena
  • 2021-12-18

I loved this book

I liked the charcters, some parts were laugh out loud funny, and the creep factor was perfect for my taste. There was no over the top sex, stomach churning violence, and the paranormal falls within my personal range of believable. I really enjoy this author.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Joy w.
  • 2021-11-20

I am disappointed

To say the least. I finally find a writer I like and no cussing to boot. I begin her new series and there's the cussing. And the race remarks. You fell into peer pressure my dear. I am utterly disappointed.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2021-09-09

Characters are unbearable.

Decently written albeit slightly disappointing story. Characters are all idiots. The author attempts to justify this with idiotic rationalisations made to sound like cynical intelligence.