Get a free audiobook

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Now with new narrators!

Ever since Riley Thomas, reluctant medium extraordinaire, accidentally released a malevolent spirit from a Ouija board when she was 13, she’s taken a hard pass on scary movies, haunted houses, and cemeteries. Twelve years later, when her best friend pressures her into spending a paranormal investigation weekend at the infamous Jordanville Ranch - former home of deceased serial killer Orin Jacobs - Riley’s still not ready to accept the fact that she can communicate with ghosts. 

Shortly after their arrival at the ranch, the spirit of a little boy contacts Riley, a child who went missing - and was never found - in 1973. In order to put the young boy’s spirit to rest, she has to come to grips with her ability. But how can she solve a mystery that happened a decade before she was born? Especially when someone who knows Orin’s secrets wants to keep the truth buried...no matter the cost.

This paranormal suspense will appeal to fans of Wendy Wang, Cheryl Bradshaw, and Heather Graham. Grab your copy today to join Riley on a twisty path toward answers in a decades-old cold case.  

©2018 Melissa Erin Jackson (P)2019 Melissa Erin Jackson

What listeners say about The Forgotten Child

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 0 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 0 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • RACHEL REED
  • 2020-11-18

An intriguing paranormal thriller!

This was an intriguing paranormal thriller! It was exceptionally compelling and drew me in from the first chapter. The story has a creepy vibe to it and was very well written. The narrators did a great job un bringing this story to life.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Susan
  • 2021-01-19

A great story

I loved this story. The idea of talking with spirits is creepy but Pete was different. He sure put Riley through a lot of turmoil. Riley & her boyfriend, along with some other friends did a great thing helping Pete. The author did a greeccat job of creating believable & lovable characters. The story kept me turning the pages anxiously waiting to see what happened. I will be reading more from this author. I highly reccomend this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • leigh sharpe
  • 2021-01-13

Wish 10 stars was an option!

Absolute love!! This story was down right scary at times and I had to stop listening and regroup myself. The character of ORIN...creepy scary. The story is just fantastic! I loved Pete, and Riley, Michael and Jade. I NEED these people in my life! I'm gonna need this to be a series! Narration was perfect and I loved that there was male AND female voices...Give this a listen. You won't regret it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • DDViews
  • 2021-01-05

Riley Sees Dead People!

Riley Thomas reluctantly gets pressured into going with her friends for a fun weekend visit to a ranch home of a deceased serial killer. The ranch had been turned into a tourist spot for amateur paranormal investigators due to a popular TV reality show. Riley’s friends are all excited about spending a weekend together hearing spooky ghost stories and getting away from the real world of marriage and kids. But Riley has a secret, she can actually see and communicate with ghosts. On the drive to the ranch Riley tries to convince herself that maybe the ranch is all just a fake publicity stunt to make money but as soon as they arrive, she finds out it is all too real. Ripley’s encounter with the ghost of a young boy leads her on an investigation to find answers about his death which puts her into the crosshairs of a killer. If you enjoy ghost/paranormal stories you will really enjoy this audiobook. Narration by Victoria Villarreal and David Clifford Turner is excellent. I hope the author continues the Riley Thomas storyline… I’m looking forward to her next book. This book was given to me for free at my request and I provided this voluntary review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Janet
  • 2021-01-02

Melissa Erin Jackson is amazing.

This was my first book by Melissa Erin Jackson. It won't be the last. The story will keep you hooked. Victoria Villarreal and David Clifford Turner did a good job narrating. I loved hearing the story from multiple points of view.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kendra
  • 2020-12-18

The paranormal meets murder mystery

5 stars all around! I loved this book because it combines my two favorite things spooky ghost and murder mysteries! The narrator was awesome as well. Definitely worth a listen. I was hooked from the beginning.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • peacemaker
  • 2020-12-18

So Good

I liked how the author gave us insight into the little things the characters were thinking. I found the story engaging and clever. It was hard to guess what was going to happen next, which was fun! The way it was written, I felt as though I was standing among them as they talked. Like I was at their eye level and not observing as a listener. This is my first book by this author and I look forward to seeing more from her. New fan!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Antoinette Sellers
  • 2020-12-11

Amazing

I loved this book! Better than I ever imagined. Amazing narration! Wonderful characters. I can’t wait for more!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • D. Sturgeon
  • 2020-12-11

Awesome spooky tale!

This is a spectacular horror tale! The writing and narration are both extremely well done.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Georgia McNabb
  • 2020-11-30

A Excellent Suspense Mystery with Ghosts Too!!

I like a Really Good Ghost Story and one of those authors is H. P. Bayne. This author Melissa Erin Jackson is written in a similar vein though of course their writing styles differ. The MC is a young woman who has always been sensitive to sports and this scared her so badly she wants nothing to do with it. With her friends wanting to go to a ranch that is haunted, she does not want to go but ends up talked into it anyway. Narrator did a lovely job on the voices of the characters and the storyline.