Get a free audiobook

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER! 

“Namina Forna Could Be The Toni Morrison Of YA Fantasy.” (Refinery 29) 

“Fans of Children of Blood and Bone, Mulan, and the Dora Milaje from Black Panther are going to adore this one.” (BuzzFeed)

"A dark feminist tale spun with blood and gold. Must read!" (Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times bestselling author of The Belles)

The most anticipated fantasy of 2021. In this world, girls are outcasts by blood and warriors by choice. Get ready for battle. 

Sixteen-year-old Deka lives in fear and anticipation of the blood ceremony that will determine whether she will become a member of her village. Already different from everyone else because of her unnatural intuition, Deka prays for red blood so she can finally feel like she belongs.

But on the day of the ceremony, her blood runs gold, the color of impurity - and Deka knows she will face a consequence worse than death.

Then a mysterious woman comes to her with a choice: stay in the village and submit to her fate, or leave to fight for the emperor in an army of girls just like her. They are called alaki - near-immortals with rare gifts. And they are the only ones who can stop the empire's greatest threat.

Knowing the dangers that lie ahead yet yearning for acceptance, Deka decides to leave the only life she's ever known. But as she journeys to the capital to train for the biggest battle of her life, she will discover that the great walled city holds many surprises. Nothing and no one are quite what they seem to be - not even Deka herself.

The start of a bold and immersive fantasy series for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther

©2020 Namina Forna (P)2020 Listening Library

What the critics say

"Namina Forna could be the Toni Morrison of YA fantasy." (Refinery 29)

"Fans of Children of Blood and Bone, Mulan, and the Dora Milaje from Black Panther are going to adore this one." (BuzzFeed)

"The girls are powerful, the danger is real, and the characters are engaging and diverse. Forna has accomplished something really special here, equal parts subversive and fun." (Tor)  

What listeners say about The Gilded Ones

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

I wanted to love this book

This book had some great reviews and I was excited to read it. I was disappointed that not only did I not love it, I could not finish it.

1. The narrator. The protagonist's best friend, judging by the accent, is from somewhere in the UK. Or Ireland? Or New Zealand? Nope, definitely the south of England. Wait, no, the centre of England. Her accent was (literally) all over the place and that drove me bonkers.
2. The writing. I gathered, from the reviews I read, that this story was different. I thought I was getting a story about a strong girl finding herself and her place in the world. Instead, the author luxuriated in describing and frequently revisiting the torture meted out to our heroine. The girl herself frequently longed to be back in her patriarchal society (a thinly veiled and uncomplimentary reference to Islam?)

This story has a fascinating premise, but so much time was spent looking backwards, reveling in misery instead of being in the present and looking forward, that I had no interest in finishing it. If I want to revel in misery all I have to do is read the news.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Gem In A Sea of Fantasy Duds

I was exhausted by the basic and overdone fantasy storylines Audible kept recommending (usually written by a man with 0 empathy and self awareness). So imagine my surprise when I came across The Gilded Ones on the day of its release!

This is not a light and frivolous book BUT explores real world issues (racism, xenophobia, misogyny, etc.) in an engaging way. Entertaining enough for adult readers and accessible enough for kids. Can’t say enough good things about the plot line. I can usually guess where things are going but Namina held my attention the whole way through! 10/10

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Must read!

I have to say I first picked up this story because of how pretty the cover was and it did not disappoint. I was pulled into the story from the start and the way the author weaves together all these elements made it build so well to the ending. I really hope this book has a sequel + because I enjoyed the characters so much.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MICHAEL G.
  • 2021-02-11

Loved It!!!

Great story from beginning to end, the plot and characters very entertaining. I rate this story on the level of Mistborn

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sassy863
  • 2021-02-13

Netflix should grab this one

took a chance on this new author that I've never heard before. I really enjoyed this Fantastical story. it should be made into a series on Netflix I think many would enjoy it on the screen

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Quantonia Amado
  • 2021-02-19

Movie Please!

I really enjoyed the performance. I had search for a good audio book for weeks and this was just what I needed. The power of sisterhood, fighting the oppressor, and coming out of it with an identity and purpose. Amazing!!

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Eric
  • 2021-02-19

Great Listen

An enjoyable story that I highly recommend that other listeners should spend the credit to purchase. Anyone purchasing this book will not be disappointed because the characters are exciting, and the listener will care where the story goes. 😎😂😁😀

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Sarah
  • 2021-03-09

Immature Wtiting

This is a good idea unsuccessfully executed. The writing is immature. There are problems with characterization and pacing. The author relies heavily on telling rather than showing. Too often the characters do not behave in ways consistent with their backstories and previous behaviors. The protagonist is an unquestionable Mary Sue. The ending is predictable, and sadly misses any opportunity to draw a meaningful conclusion or life lesson. Without trying to spoil anything here, Having come to the end of one campaign of brutality and violence, the protagonist is poised at the end to embark on a new campaign of brutality and violence going the other direction. What a tragic failure.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Janice L.
  • 2021-03-03

I was really disappointed by this book.

Flat characters, no arcs, "patriarchy", it could have been very good. Instead it was all bad dad tropes, all "men" are awful and all women are the best ever. i came ti this novel looking for actual african influences as that is a blind spot in my listening and the author claimed she wrote a book for children like her. I dont recommend this for anyone really. And that is also disappointing.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • debra
  • 2021-02-25

GREAT BOOK, CA NOT WAIT FOR PART 2

Wow, when I bought this I thought it was going to be something different, IT=WAS-BETTER

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • C.Tarbet
  • 2021-03-21

Very heavy on torture and abuse

Hopefully, you don't enjoy torture and abuse. In that case, please avoid this book because it is disgusting and sickening without any literary redemption. There are heavy political overtones without any creative political intrigue within the plot. There is heavy anti-men sentiment without any significant hyper-masculine villain. This is a one-sided shouting match from a less-than-amateur author aimed like a firearm at the audience and the composition of that intended audience is very unclear. I'm not a squeamish reader, but this is just garbage with no golden treasure of any kind.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Han San
  • 2021-03-09

Feminist Afro-fantasy. intriguining

Really interesting plot, rhough not as tight and energetic across the whole book.
Great experience though, and calls for sequels, which I'm syre are in the oven already.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Lillie
  • 2021-03-06

Perplexed by the unearned praise.

This book is like reading a poorly written, self-insert fanfiction. An overpowered, infallible character has her powers and plot handed to her. She makes very few choices throughout the book. She has no flaws to speak of. In this way, the author has created a bland, doe-eyed protagonist who is constantly rescued by deus ex machina moments. Each of her problems are solved almost the moment they appear. The lives of all the other characters revolve around her.

The vast majority of the plot happens in exposition, as if this work is an outline from the first draft of a manuscript. The dialog is weak and stilted. The antagonists are all easily handled. Nothing surprising happens here. It was frustrating to listen to.

I really don't understand how this book has garnered so much praise. Reading this felt like a bait and switch, reminiscent of fake Amazon reviews, where you expect a five star dresser and wind up with a box full of particle board and crooked nails. I wish I hadn't spent a credit on this.

2 people found this helpful