Get a free audiobook

The Girl in the Letter

Written by: Emily Gunnis
Narrated by: Jane McDowell
Length: 10 hrs and 4 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (21 ratings)
Price: CDN$ 27.32
CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Kathryn Hughes, this gripping novel of long-buried secrets will stay with you for ever.

A heartbreaking letter. A girl locked away. A mystery to be solved.

1956. When Ivy Jenkins falls pregnant she is sent in disgrace to St Margaret's, a dark, brooding house for unmarried mothers. Her baby is adopted against her will. Ivy will never leave.

Present day. Samantha Harper is a journalist desperate for a break. When she stumbles on a letter from the past, the contents shock and move her. The letter is from a young mother, begging to be rescued from St Margaret's. Before it is too late. 

Sam is pulled into the tragic story and discovers a spate of unexplained deaths surrounding the woman and her child. With St Margaret's set for demolition, Sam has only hours to piece together a 60-year-old mystery before the truth, which lies disturbingly close to home, is lost for ever....

Read her letter. Remember her story.... 

©2018 Emily Gunnis (P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

What the critics say

"A great book, truly hard to put down. Fast paced, brilliantly plotted and desperately sad at times - all hallmarks of a best seller." (Lesley Pearse)

"I was gripped by The Girl in the Letter. The story is compelling, twisty, heart-wrenching and thought-provoking. A novel that stays with you." (Sophie Kinsella) 

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great story with an excellent narrator

This is the first audio book I have read. What a wonderful first pick (#audible1). The story keeps you wanting to learn more as the story unfolds. The characters and plot are well developed with lots of twists and turns. The story unfolds in the past and the present and this works really well to set the background to the events that come to light in the present. The narrator is wonderful and she was also instrumental in contributing to my enjoyment in listening to this book. I can highly reccomend The Girl in the Letter to other Audible members.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Implausible

Needing a break from WW2 fiction, I decided to purchase this book. Based on the reviews, I was excited to read this book. Ultimately, I was sadly disappointed. The incident that sparked the entire book was implausible. How could Ivy know about the tunnels, where they lead to, and that Elvira had a twin sister who would coincidentally meet her in the graveyard??

From then on I was skeptical. A windowless attic where the moonbeams revealed the sleeping children inside? Editorial misses like that, are one of my pet peeves.

The murders were drawn out, and Ivy's letters repeated. I found myself advancing the recording past parts of the letters and the murders scattered throughout the story.

I was happy to finish this book. Not to find out what would happen, but to get on to something else.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-02-14

Great twists and turns!

The only reason I marked the performance less than a five, was the echo talk to represent phone conversation. It was harder to hear those parts.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Awin
  • 2019-02-03

Great story but smacking and swallowing constantly narration.

Loved the story but it became nails on a chalkboard listening to the constant smacking and loud swallowing from the narrator.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • CCL
  • 2019-01-13

The Girl in the Letter

Excellent. Listened in audio and could not put it down.

Looking forward to more books by the author.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • TammyR
  • 2019-01-11

Engrossing and Heartbreaking Story

Captivating, intricately woven story performed beautifully by Jane McDowell. I didn't want to quit listening.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • J. Segaloff
  • 2019-04-16

it took me a little while to figure this one out!

though I cannot say that this was my favorite book that I ever read or listen to, I did enjoy it. It took me some time to figure out where the story was heading and who the important players were. I really would have been disappointed if I had figured it out too early. The book had just enough mystery combined with just enough suspense and a little bit of family values.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-04-02

A great book! Can’t put it down.

If its not because or work, I would have finished this book in a day! Great story, narration is beautifully done, and the transition between eras and characters are wonderfully done, there isn’t a time I got lost in the switch of perspective and story! At first it was kinda slow, but once you’re reach chapter 3, you won’t want to put it down.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Robert Sample
  • 2019-03-28

Gripping page Turner.

What a great story with lots of turns and twists. I was actually sad when it ended.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Dina Capone
  • 2019-03-24

Great book !

Suspenseful the whole time I couldn’t put it down I listened to it in 4 days !

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Megan
  • 2019-03-21

WOW! A Must Read

I loved this book, and I did not want this one to end… I have always loved books with different timelines, and this was not a disappointment. I want more from this writer Emily Gunnis but, I can’t find any! Please, more from Emily!!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • nik
  • 2019-03-20

Meh

This is one of those books that had a lot of potential, but it just didn’t reach its potential. The writing was... pretty meh. The author explains and over explains as if she assumes the reader just isn’t quite bright enough to catch on. The epilogue is basically and entireretelking of everything. You know, just in case you didn’t quite catch it. There are several pages devoted to explaining and over explaining and re-explaining things. Ugh. A better writer wouldn’t have needed to do this. The story was pretty obvioud early on and the lead character was really needy, selfish and annoying. The parts about her messed up relationship had nothing at all to do with anything.
It was fine. Nothing compared to Kate Morton and Kathryn Hughes. Haha. I’m not even sure how that comparison happened. This story really just was not for me.