Listen free for 30 days

  • The Girls in the Lake

  • Beth Adams, Book 2
  • Written by: Helen Phifer
  • Narrated by: Alison Campbell
  • Length: 7 hrs and 53 mins
  • 4.0 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $25.00

Buy Now for $25.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Peering over the side of the boat, the glare of early morning sun catches on something pale in the inky water. The boy’s curious fingertips break the surface, pulling up a tangle of long blonde hair from the reeds below....

The discovery of a young student floating face down in Lake Windermere, her naked skin almost translucent in the freezing water, looks like yet another tragic teen suicide. But the victim’s lack of clothes make forensic pathologist Beth Adams want to investigate further. Anything to distract her from the arrival of her abusive ex-boyfriend’s body on the mortuary table that morning. 

With witnesses keeping tight-lipped and any clues washed away by the tides, it’s up to Beth to find the evidence her team needs. But then another girl is found in the lake, this time still clinging to life. She tells them she was at a party on a boat, and that she was pushed....

As more bodies surface, Beth finds tiny traces of boat paint present on each victim. It’s a critical lead that links these attacks back to a tragic accident involving a group of school children years ago. 

Faced with a killer hungry for revenge, and with her own life spiralling out of control, it’s going to take every ounce of skill and determination for Beth to catch this monster before he takes another innocent life. But will Beth realise he’s been right beside her all along? 

A serial killer thriller that will have you sleeping with the lights on. Fans of Patricia Gibney, LJ Ross, and Angela Marsons will have to hold on tight for this nail-biting rollercoaster ride!

©2019 Helen Phifer (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Girls in the Lake

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Donna
  • 2022-01-03

3

If a book cover shows lake or ocean
water, I pass on it. But the blurb lured me into
trying it. The evolution of the mystery is
good and this is fairly good.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Ajax
  • 2021-07-18

did you even read it

I love the mystery of her stories, but the explanation of what happened to Beth in the first book compared to the explanation in the second book were completely different. and why did her ex off himself when he was literally about to die? and why was she shocked by his appearance when she had just seen him 6 weeks before when she dropped off his letters and told him to f off? why are we blaming the ex for the second attempt on her life and calling the man responsible her ex's accomplice? why, at the end of the first book does she feel so proud of herself for fighting off her would be killer, then in the second book she credits Josh with saving her. why is an insecure alcoholic in the second book? in the first book Beth and Josh took turns choosing Netflix titles to watch, but im the second book it says she never watches TV. why in the f would Josh ignore her for 2 days and treat her like shit because he was doing something nice for someone? why did Josh's ex and Beth's ex both have cancer? wtf? dumb.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kim H
  • 2022-08-04

Love her books

I enjoy each of her books more and more. look forward to her next one!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • D. Irvin
  • 2022-02-03

Ridiculous narration

I've listened to other stories with the same narrator and I can always get past her stiff formal style. This time every single female voice sounds exactly the same, a sing song syrupy drunken voice. It's so bad it's insulting.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Tiff S
  • 2021-08-02

Disappointed

The story is not consistent with the first book. The storyline is forced. The relationship is more interesting part of the book. Which is not the genre I wanted to hear. I'm just disappointed.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • JF
  • 2021-06-26

Tell, tell, never show.

The plot is interesting, but the writing is incredibly annoying. It constantly violates the show don’t tell rule and it just gets so tedious.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Marydior
  • 2020-07-05

Fantastic

A great British Procedural and the second in the series. This book has it all: fast paced action, a mystery that will keep you guessing and a touch of romance. Excellent narration.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • K. Hawes
  • 2020-04-23

Surprising to the end!

The story was very good, led in many different directions, with a great twist at the end.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Kara
  • 2020-03-20

Terrible, poor mystery, ridiculous motives.

This is the second in the series and it’s just as absurd as the first. The first one never gives a motive for either attacker and it’s completely absurd. Main characters behavior like fools. I won’t read another one.