Listen free for 30 days

  • The Happiest Man on Earth

  • The Beautiful Life of an Auschwitz Survivor
  • Written by: Eddie Jaku
  • Narrated by: Raphael Corkhill
  • Length: 3 hrs and 47 mins
  • 4.9 out of 5 stars (133 ratings)

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Happiest Man on Earth cover art

The Happiest Man on Earth

Written by: Eddie Jaku
Narrated by: Raphael Corkhill
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $27.16

Buy Now for $27.16

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In this uplifting memoir in the vein of The Last Lecture and Man's Search for Meaning, a Holocaust survivor pays tribute to those who were lost by telling his story, sharing his wisdom, and living his best possible life.

Born in Leipzig, Germany, into a Jewish family, Eddie Jaku was a teenager when his world was turned upside-down. On November 9, 1938, during the terrifying violence of Kristallnacht, the Night of Broken Glass, Eddie was beaten by SS thugs, arrested, and sent to a concentration camp with thousands of other Jews across Germany. Every day of the next seven years of his life, Eddie faced unimaginable horrors in Buchenwald, Auschwitz, and finally on a forced death march during the Third Reich's final days. The Nazis took everything from Eddie—his family, his friends, and his country. But they did not break his spirit.

Against unbelievable odds, Eddie found the will to survive. Overwhelming grateful, he made a promise: he would smile every day in thanks for the precious gift he was given and to honor the six million Jews murdered by Hitler. Today, at 100 years of age, despite all he suffered, Eddie calls himself the "happiest man on earth." In his remarkable memoir, this born storyteller shares his wisdom and reflects on how he has led his best possible life, talking warmly and openly about the power of gratitude, tolerance, and kindness. Life can be beautiful if you make it beautiful. With The Happiest Man on Earth, Eddie shows us how. 

Filled with his insights on friendship, family, health, ethics, love, and hatred, and the simple beliefs that have shaped him, The Happiest Man on Earth offers timeless lessons for listeners of all ages, especially for young people today.

©2020 Eddie Jaku (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about The Happiest Man on Earth

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    123
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    104
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    111
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Do not pass by this book

Wow! There wasn’t anything I didn’t like about this book. Yes it was emotionally hard at times listening to his story but so inspirational for I think anyone. Perhaps especially for anyone who has a history of trauma, when they are ready for it, or any person who lacks knowledge of this experience/event. Concise and well written.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What an incredible story!

What an incredible story beautifully told by an incredible human being. I wholeheartedly recommend this audio book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Must Listen

There are no words for how touching Eddie Jaku’s story is. His message is so incredibly heart felt. What a truly amazing person.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • LMF
  • 2022-11-28

A must listen or read

I’ve already recommended it to the ones I love. I couldn’t even imagine living through those times.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Incredible man with a meaningful story

I highly recommend this book to anyone who’s looking to be inspired by an incredible man’s story.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The happiest man alive

Great book a story that needs to be shared. We need more people like him in this world

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Remarquable

À lire absolument. Histoire inspirante qui nous rappelle la valeur de la vie. Facile à écouter et raconter sur un ton authentique.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What we all need!

A compelling reminder of a remedy for all the hate and fear in the world today. By a man whose holocaust experiences (rightly so) left him sad, bitter and angry but whose determination to let his pain be overcome by the healing balm available to himself and others as he shares his story of horror but also of kindness, gratitude and hope.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thank You Eddie Jaku

Thank You Eddie for being a friend and sharing your story. It will not be forgotten.

Highly recommended this book to anyone!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An authentic retelling

A powerful testament to the power of hope…and friendship.
All each of us has is choice…in the moment, every day. Life or death.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christan Derryberry
  • Christan Derryberry
  • 2021-05-12

Everyone needs to listen to this amazing man

His story forever changed my life. The most beautiful human. The most amazing story. The most amazing words. Thank you, Mr. Jaku. ❤️

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Stephanie V.
  • Stephanie V.
  • 2022-03-06

Incredible

My husband and I listened while driving during a portion of our road trip. The story is incredible and heart breaking and lovely. The performance was perfect. What a voice! We were both in tears at the end. This is a book that every person should listen to. Humanity at its finest. An attempt to relay the importance of happiness, kindness, prioritizing your life, and focusing on the positive in every day. This one is going on the shelf for all time keeping.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Regina Ladon Tate
  • Regina Ladon Tate
  • 2022-07-12

Inspiration

What an amazing story and a wonderful performance. A story of hope!! Best book I w read in 2022

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Eduardo Colón
  • Eduardo Colón
  • 2021-09-13

This should be read by everyone worldwide.

One of the best stories I've listened to in my life. I loved it

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cindy
  • Cindy
  • 2022-07-07

Love it!

Incredible and beautiful story of survival, triumph and love during one of the most darkest times in history. Great narration and easy to follow, I was instantly drawn into this true story and could not stop listening.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 2022-07-02

Masterpiece

Powerful! In a world full of hate, this book teaches one how to live. It was my honor to listen to the story of his life.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2022-06-07

To Life

He has boiled life to its essential elements, Kindness Friendship, Love and Hope.
He shows how Fear leads to hate , loss of morality to Death. Choose Life!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Danilo J Lara B
  • Danilo J Lara B
  • 2022-04-09

don't hesitate on choosing this Audiobook

Great story, great narration. great perspective of what life is for a man who went though horrible things but still had the courage and the heart to kept human. I wanted to cry in some chapters and I smiled in others. This guy is one of those heroes who doesn't wear a cape, he kept his heart soft despite how some humans treated him. This is one of the hardest things to do. Great story.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for A. Santoro
  • A. Santoro
  • 2022-07-03

Full of life lessons

I loved this book. The author is so kind and wise, imparting so many life lessons. Highly recommend.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sandra
  • Sandra
  • 2021-12-30

Great Book

This audiobook is amazing. Mr. Jakus explanation and story is riveting and one I could not stop listening to. It’s amazing how he could still have such a love for life with all he experienced. This is a must read book.

2 people found this helpful