Get a free audiobook

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $42.88

Buy Now for $42.88

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Amid the violent last days of the glittering Russian monarchy, a princess on the run finds her heart where she least expects it.

1917, Petrograd. Fleeing the murderous flames of the Russian Revolution, Princess Svetlana Dalsky hopes to find safety in Paris with her mother and sister. But the city is buckling under the weight of the Great War, and the Bolsheviks will not rest until they have erased every Russian aristocrat from memory. Svetlana and her family are forced into hiding in Paris’ underbelly, with little to their name but the jewels they sewed into their corsets before their terrifying escape.

Born the second son of a Scottish duke, the only title Wynn MacCallan cares for is that of surgeon. Putting his talents with a scalpel to good use in the hospitals in Paris, Wynn pushes the boundaries of medical science to give his patients the best care possible. After treating Svetlana for a minor injury, he is pulled into a world of decaying imperial glitter. Intrigued by this mysterious, cold, and beautiful woman, Wynn follows Svetlana to an underground Russian club where drink, dance, and questionable dealings collide on bubbles of vodka.

Out of money and options, Svetlana agrees to a marriage of convenience with the handsome and brilliant Wynn, who will protect her and pay off her family’s debts. It’s the right thing for a good man to do, but Wynn cannot help hoping the marriage will turn into one of true affection. When Wynn’s life takes an unexpected turn, so does Svetlana’s - and soon Paris becomes as dangerous as Petrograd. And as the Bolsheviks chase them to Scotland, Wynn and Svetlana begin to wonder if they will ever be able to outrun the love they are beginning to feel for one another.

The Ice Swan is a ray of light in the middle of a Europe that was sinking into darkness. Ciesielski’s talent for storytelling from the heart is a feast for the readers’ eyes.” (Mario Escobar, international bestselling author of Remember Me and Children of the Stars)

  • Adventurous World War I historical romance
  • For fans of Kate Quinn, Beatriz Williams, and Aimie K. Runyan
  • Full-length, stand-alone novel (approx. 120,000 words)
©2021 J'nell Ciesielski (P)2021 Thomas Nelson

What listeners say about The Ice Swan

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • R. Meurrier
  • 2021-08-25

Terrific!

A deeply moving story with well developed characters and a plot that will intrigue you to the very end.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2021-09-10

Sweeping international romance!

I loved the sense of adventure and changing locations - it was very cinematic. An iconic moment in history experienced through a personal story of love.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • S. Drake
  • 2021-08-09

It was ok...

Not a fan of love stories, and I should have done more research. I love Russia and thought it might include more history on the revolution. It did not. Oh well...

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Bunny
  • 2021-08-03

Meh

3.5 stars. A ‘happily ever after, everything turns out perfectly in the end’ story that never seeks to be more than it is, an uncomplicated and very mediocre love story. The author is neither a fantastic story teller nor does she have a deft pen for prose, but she most certainly has a gift for characters. It is the characters that make this book a success. As for ratings, the book itself hovers in the 3.5 range. It is the great skill of the narrator that elevated the story. A real talent. Sure, her Scottish and Russian accents sometimes melted into one another, and neither was spectacularly executed., BUT the accents and different characters the narrator created and the feat of creating a variety of Russian, Scottish, and American (not to mention British) accents and into one story is about as impressive as it gets. Bravo Senn Annis!!!!! This is a Historical Fiction beach read. Enjoyable for sure, but not great literature. Pedestrian prose that at times verged on gauche. And yet I enjoyed it. Recommended only for those who like uncomplicated sticky sweet love stories.