Get a free audiobook

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

Written by: V. E. Schwab
Narrated by: Julia Whelan
Length: 17 hrs and 10 mins
4.9 out of 5 stars (39 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

In the vein of The Time Traveler’s Wife and Life After Life, The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is New York Times best-selling author V. E. Schwab’s genre-defying tour de force. 

A life no one will remember. A story you will never forget.

France, 1714: In a moment of desperation, a young woman makes a Faustian bargain to live forever - and is cursed to be forgotten by everyone she meets.

Thus begins the extraordinary life of Addie LaRue, and a dazzling adventure that will play out across centuries and continents, across history and art, as a young woman learns how far she will go to leave her mark on the world.

But everything changes when, after nearly 300 years, Addie stumbles across a young man in a hidden bookstore and he remembers her name. 

A Macmillan Audio production from Tor Books

©2020 V. E. Schwab (P)2020 Macmillan Audio

What listeners say about The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Breathtaking from start to finish

I gobbled this up as fast as I could. I could not get enough. I loved this story. It was well written and incredibly performed. Both the words and the voice gave me goosebumps. 300/10

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

In my top 2 books of all time

The story, the words, the emotions, the truths, the lies, the gains, and the loses.. what a beautiful symphony of heartbreak and love. The performance was mind-blowingly good. The details Julia adds to the story by thickening Addies’s French accent when it makes sense, and the way she made the darkness sound real.. wow.. I will listen/read this book over and over again. Such an incredible gift of literature.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

absolutely incredible

victoria never fails to amaze me with every book she writes. addie larue was gorgeous, funny, heartbreaking and absolutely incredible.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heartbreakingly Beautiful

Such a wonderful journey that made me laugh and cry with them. Amazing book. I cannot recommend it enough

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love, love, love it!

So long awaited and exceeded my expectations. loved every minute, every word of it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

phenomenal story

has everything you would want in a story, and all wrapped up in one book! fantastic!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • J. M. Silva
  • 2020-10-07

So much better than I was expecting and that was already high

Oh my god I can’t even begin to explain what goes on in this book. So much happens, emotions just explode out of the words; out of Julia’s performance. This is my third book from V. E. Schwab and she knocked it out of the park and straight into space. The ending (without spoiling much) is bittersweet but it closes the story nicely. This came out at the perfect time. It’s a great and powerful story, amongst a bleak and unpredictable year. I want to revisit this novel again sometime soon.

27 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Nom de Guerre
  • 2020-10-07

Schwab at her best

I've read a lot of V.E. Schwab's work, including her Conjuring of Light series, middle years works, YA stuff. Overall, Addie LaRue is a sophisticated and engaging book, one I prefer to Conjuring of Light. It has echoes of Gene Wolfe (Latro), Neil Gaiman (Hobb in the Sandman), and Erin Morgenstern (in general). I am knocking it down a star because about halfway through, the book became overwhelmed by the romance. The romance is important to the plot, but I just didn't find it very compelling. I decided not to recommend the book to several friends just on the basis of the romance, though I think a lot of other people will really like this aspect of the book. Just not me, or my friends.

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • C.V. Cox
  • 2020-10-18

Prose style not to my liking

The story is interesting and the voice actor is good, but there is just one level of emotion throughout all the hours of this book. Perhaps if I’d read it rather than listening to it I’d have enjoyed it more. I kept finding myself rolling my eyes because I felt like was listening to a melodramatic teen who feels everything excessively intensely. Who can keep that up for 300 years? I also didn’t like the prose style— multiple similes for what seemed like everything. I think a more thorough editing and a firmer director activeIy looking for interpretations that would allow for variation in the emotional tone would have made a better experience for me. I liked the ending.

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • joseph strickland
  • 2020-10-17

I'm glad it's finally over...

You'll need to gird your loins if you're going to dive into this book. It is deep, dark, heavy and sad. After each listening session, you'll feel like a soggy, wet blanket has been placed over your soul. The narration was sublime and needed to be to drag u thru the depths of this book. It needed far more dialog between the characters, as it read more like a memoir about Addie and Henry than a novel. So much detail! And Henry's background story should have been less, and Addie's more. This seemed to be 2 books in 1. Having said all this, it was beautifully recorded and the prose was magnificent. How someone could have come up with this subject matter and lived to tell about it is a miracle in itself. It is depressing and lovely, all at the same time. You have been warned.

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Tatiana
  • 2020-10-08

Best book i’ve ever read

Wow, just wow. Everything about this book is five stars. The story is so heartfelt and heart wrenching at the same time. I think people of all audiences could fall in love with this book and find themselves entranced in Addies life. Julia Whalen has done an immensely great job at performing this book and made it all the more real. One read through is simply not enough for this book it will definitely be one that you keep coming back for.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Mijo
  • 2020-10-15

Two Centuries too Long

Interesting idea and excellent narration. However, slow to start and for my taste a main character that lacked, well, character. I could understand the innocence and lack of experience at the beginning of the story but as the chapters unfolded her development was superficial and manipulative. This was not a book I would recommend to most friends.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • oregongirl
  • 2020-10-08

beautiful

I love anything by this author, but this is different than all of her other stories. you can feel her love and passion for Addie in every line. I am so happy that she was finally able to share this with us.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Veronica
  • 2020-10-11

Stunning!

Whoa! What a beautiful experience! The story was fantastic, hard to put it down. I was invested in it from beginning to end. Also, Julia's performance was incredible. I cannot recommend it enough.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Erica
  • 2020-10-10

Beautiful

V. E. Schwab storytelling is fantastic! This is such a beautiful story. It is going to play in my mind for a long time.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • DAWN
  • 2020-10-12

Wow!

I momentarily hesitated before purchasing this audiobook, but the reviews were so strong that I decided to give it a try. I finished this book in a little over 24 hours, playing at a slightly higher speed of course. The characters are incredibly vivid and, though aspects of the selling your soul storyline have been told before, the book is still fresh and like nothing I have ever read previously. I definitely recommend this book!

3 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • lapene--dumas camille
  • 2020-10-20

A wonder to listen ! A masterpiece

The quality of the narration is out of this world and I listen to a lot of fictions. Julia Whelan is able to give an auditive identity to each character and her voice gives each word an impact, a taste that enchanted me for the last week. I m a French researcher in medieval literature and folklore and Victoria schwab made such a good representation of the dark... This is brilliant. This is literature.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Judith Dubois
  • 2020-10-26

Excellent narration and good story idea.

Some passages a bit too repetitious. I wish there had been more surprises. Sex with the devil should be less predictable.