Get a free audiobook

The Jetsetters

Written by: Amanda Eyre Ward
Narrated by: Therese Plummer
Length: 8 hrs and 3 mins
3.5 out of 5 stars (8 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A Reese's Book Club x Hello Sunshine Book Pick

"Are you ready to set sail on a literary adventure? This month I am listening to The Jetsetters by Amanda Eyre Ward! I love the sense of adventure in this story - it’s about a disconnected family that reunites on a cruise ship traveling through Europe. If you're packing for spring break, be sure to include a copy of this fun listen and follow along with Reese’s Book Club!" (Reese Witherspoon) 

When 70-year-old Charlotte Perkins submits a sexy essay to the "Become a Jetsetter" contest, she dreams of reuniting her estranged children: Lee, an almost-famous actress; Cord, a handsome Manhattan venture capitalist who can't seem to find a bride; and Regan, a harried mother who took it all wrong when Charlotte bought her a Weight Watchers gift certificate for her birthday. Charlotte yearns for the years when her children were young and she was a single mother who meant everything to them. 

When she wins the cruise, the family packs all their baggage - literal and figurative - and spends 10 days traveling from sun-drenched Athens through glorious Rome to tapas-laden Barcelona on an over-the-top cruise ship, the Splendido Marveloso. As lovers new and old join the adventure, long-buried secrets are revealed, and the Perkins family is forced to confront the defining choices in their lives. 

Can four lost adults find the peace they've been seeking by reconciling their childhood aches and coming back to each other? In the vein of The Nest and The Vacationers, Ward has created a delicious and intelligent novel about the courage it takes to reveal our true selves, the pleasures and perils of family, and how we navigate the seas of adulthood to cruise - we can only hope - toward joy.

©2020 Amanda Eyre Ward (P)2020 Recorded Books

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Donna
  • 2020-03-05

Calm down

The narration sounds like she’s having an anxiety attack with every single sentence. The story is meh.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2020-03-05

Wasn't what I thought.

I thought it was about something else. Found it hard to finish.
Will be exchanging.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • William
  • 2020-03-07

That was depressing

I think this was supposed to be a journey that ended with the characters self realization. It depressed me throughout and that compounded with each scene and chapter. I was in too deep before I realized the lift might never happen.
The characters are, I don't know... Emotionally inept. Reece usually does not steer me wrong but, oh boy, this was a fail.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Denise
  • 2020-03-07

Had high hopes...

This book started off pretty good and it had my interest. However it never peaked. It just kind a got boring and old and there seem to be no climax to the book. Now granted I have three hours left but I’m forcing myself to listen to the rest of it. It could be that I just read an incredible book from the Sunshine book club and so that is why this one is a major disappointment or could be just that it is really just not that good of a book. The narrator also did not add anything to the story. It irritated me that she did not Use the appropriate accent for each of her characters. She made Charlotte sound like some kind of old fuddy-duddy when really she’s just a Southern Belle. Why didn’t they have southern accents? Why did Peter from England sound like he was from Australia? I really think the narrator could’ve done a better job . This will not go down as one of my favorite books from Reese’s picks and if the last three hours proves to get better I’ll revise my rating. But if it wasn’t for the book club I would stop reading right now.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Leslie
  • 2020-03-13

Yawn...

I am uncertain why this book has such high reviews. It was mind-numbingly tedious. The "twists" and big reveals were anything but. I'd rather watch paint dry. Skip this one, save the credit.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Jenee M. Minichiello
  • 2020-03-12

Wanted to like this book

I was very disappointed with this book. Therese Plummer is one of my favorite narrators and the narration was not great. Too many characters to try and do. Also the story seemed all over the place and too depressing. I also feel like I am still questioning the ending and what happened to Lee. I feel like lots of loose ends. I wold not waste a credit on this book. I would love to hear an honest review from Reese Witherspoon. I love her and most of her book choices but this one not so much.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 2020-03-12

This was as Reese Witherspoon book club one?

I usually enjoy Reese Witherspoon’s book club reads, but not so much this one. In fact, am really surprised it made her list. The characters were shallow and no complexity. The premise for the book made for a fabulous read but fell really short. The story did not flow and I kept on feeling I had missed sections that weren’t there. To summarize, it was just fluff, not completely horrible but not worth using a credit on.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Leah
  • 2020-03-06

Delightful

In this time when it feels like the whole world Is terrified of the Coronavirus, this book was exactly what I needed. It was lighthearted and funny. The characters were all very likeable- it gave me exactly what I needed, to escape reality.
Highly recommended!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Joanne McMullen
  • 2020-03-28

Terrible Book

Still wondering why I listened to the entire book. It never got better after the first five minutes.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sandra Needham
  • 2020-03-28

The Jetsetters

What fun! Fabulous narration, so skilled. Portrayed the lightheartedness that balances out the hard family dysfunction. So real. So poignant. I read it in one sitting! Great read!