Get a free audiobook

$14.95/month + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The Expanse meets Game of Thrones in J. S. Dewes' fast-paced, sci-fi adventure The Last Watch, where a handful of soldiers stand between humanity and annihilation.

The Divide.

It’s the edge of the universe.

Now, it’s collapsing - and taking everyone and everything with it.

The only ones who can stop it are the Sentinels - the recruits, exiles, and court-martialed dregs of the military.

At the Divide, Adequin Rake commands the Argus. She has no resources, no comms - nothing, except for the soldiers that no one wanted. Her ace in the hole could be Cavalon Mercer - genius, asshole, and exiled prince who nuked his grandfather's genetic facility for “reasons".

She knows they’re humanity's last chance.

A Macmillan Audio production from Tor Books

©2021 J. S. Dewes (P)2021 Macmillan Audio

What the critics say

"An epic tale of survival at the end of the universe." (Megan O'Keefe, author of Velocity Weapon)

"Crisp writing, vivid characters, and a plot that beguiles the imagination. The Last Watch is a stunning military sci-fi debut. I was hooked from the opening lines. If you like science fiction, then this book is definitely for you." (Jasper T. Scott, USA Today best-selling author)

"The Last Watch is an amazing debut. The smart world-building and explode-off-the page action scenes make it perfect for fans of The Expanse and other fast-paced Sci Fi. I predict that Dewes is going to be a 'must read' author for years to come." (Michael Mammay, author of Planetside)

What listeners say about The Last Watch

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well written story

excellent book. very well read. everything about it is good if you love sci Fi. expansive world with rich back stories.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good sci-fi

The story is captivating and well written. If I had one quibble it's that the male narrator doesn't do much for me - he doesn't sound uncertain or nerdy enough. I would love to hear what Ray Porter or Wil Wheaton would have done with this. But don't let that stop you from giving this a listen, the story is strong and the characters compelling.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geonn W. Cannon
  • 2021-04-23

Fantastic scifi action

Every few months I try one of these big scifi epics hoping they'll be good. I want to like the genre even though they so often disappoint. But I keep trying in the hopes I'll eventually find a book like The Last Watch. Absolutely fantastic in every respect, and something that should please any fan of the genre. I'm already preordering the next book in the series and grateful the wait won't be terribly long.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2021-05-08

Worth the read

overall the book was very enjoyable but the pacing was a bit off-putting. There were some excellent moments and one in particular in the latter half of the story that was enough for me to go ahead and pre-order the next book!. looking forward to the next half of the story!!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Eric Jones
  • 2021-05-01

Interesting, but uneven

Decent but uneven story. Good ideas, but narrative gets bogged down in the details of minor events and the repetition of interpersonal conversations and inner monologues. Narrators are OK. Not a bad listen, but could have been more.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Sum Guy
  • 2021-05-05

Enjoyed this one

Although the "Science" seems really far fetched, this was a fun story with interesting characters. looking forward to next book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Emma Aumack
  • 2021-04-24

Great Story. Great narration!

This is an awesome story and I have 2 new narrators to follow! Very different concept, good character development & the ending is not exactly what you might think. It’s a good start to a great series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • RJDIII
  • 2021-06-03

I can’t wait for the next one!

One of the best books I have ever read! If you like sci-if you have to read this!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Chrissy
  • 2021-06-01

Can't wait for the next one

Fast pacing space opera. The narrator's performances were spot on. I can't wait for the next book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • BroccoliofDoom
  • 2021-05-25

Only complaint was that it ended…

Great, another fantastic story that I got hooked on too soon! But really pretty decent character development and some twists on old themes.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Suzy GM
  • 2021-05-24

Fabulous

What a book! Loved it so very different than your usual sf books just fabulous. More please!!

Excellent narration.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2021-05-20

Cannot wait for a sequel!!

Fantastic space opera with all the marks of a classic. Engaging and deep characters, gritty action, suspenseful and seat gripping storyline.

My only drawback is the performance of the female narrator. The male narrator is amazing and I find myself disappointed when they switch. She isn’t horrible, but she struggles a bit with the male characters voices. However, this is still a FANTASTIC audiobook and I am super hooked.