Listen free for 30 days

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $39.07

Buy Now for $39.07

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"Both readers are brilliant and nail the characterization in a way that instantly connects them to the listener. Everything here is top-notch." (Booklist, starred review)

The Expanse meets Game of Thrones in J. S. Dewes' fast-paced sci-fi adventure The Last Watch, where a handful of soldiers stand between humanity and annihilation.

The Divide.

It’s the edge of the universe.

Now it’s collapsing - and taking everyone and everything with it.

The only ones who can stop it are the Sentinels - the recruits, exiles, and court-martialed dregs of the military.

At the Divide, Adequin Rake commands the Argus. She has no resources, no comms - nothing, except for the soldiers that no one wanted. Her ace in the hole could be Cavalon Mercer - genius, asshole, and exiled prince who nuked his grandfather's genetic facility for “reasons”.

She knows they’re humanity's last chance.

A Macmillan Audio production from Tor Books

©2021 J. S. Dewes (P)2021 Macmillan Audio

What the critics say

"An epic tale of survival at the end of the universe." (Megan O'Keefe, author of Velocity Weapon)

"Crisp writing, vivid characters, and a plot that beguiles the imagination. The Last Watch is a stunning military sci-fi debut. I was hooked from the opening lines. If you like science fiction, then this book is definitely for you." (Jasper T. Scott, USA Today best-selling author)

"The Last Watch is an amazing debut. The smart world-building and explode-off-the page action scenes make it perfect for fans of The Expanse and other fast-paced Sci Fi. I predict that Dewes is going to be a 'must read' author for years to come." (Michael Mammay, author of Planetside)

More from the same

What listeners say about The Last Watch

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great listen

if you are into Sci fi, you will like this book. I thoroughly enjoyed both the writing and the performance.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good sci-fi

The story is captivating and well written. If I had one quibble it's that the male narrator doesn't do much for me - he doesn't sound uncertain or nerdy enough. I would love to hear what Ray Porter or Wil Wheaton would have done with this. But don't let that stop you from giving this a listen, the story is strong and the characters compelling.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Carr Harvey
  • 2021-06-29

Good story but the F-bomb got really old.

So, I really liked the story, tried to slug through the F-bomb literary style but gave up.
I have worked in the coal mines and been in the military so the word doesn't shock me.
However using the word for every display of emotion really gets old.
If it doesn't phase ya, give the book a try. But as a warning, decide early, because Audible will limit your
ability to return books if you try and fail to get past the language and give up.

27 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geonn Cannon
  • 2021-04-23

Fantastic scifi action

Every few months I try one of these big scifi epics hoping they'll be good. I want to like the genre even though they so often disappoint. But I keep trying in the hopes I'll eventually find a book like The Last Watch. Absolutely fantastic in every respect, and something that should please any fan of the genre. I'm already preordering the next book in the series and grateful the wait won't be terribly long.

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2021-09-27

Not hard SF; more of a YA novel

There are many reviews suggesting that this series of novels will fill the void left behind as the Expanse draws to a close. This work simply does not live up to that hype.

The entire novel is aimed at a Young Adult audience. It lacks sophistication and maturity. The characters are child-like in their emotions and responses. The political intrigue is laughably inept and there is not even an attempt at making any of the alien technology seem real or explainable.

Unfortunately characters can only be as intelligent as the author who creates them, and this author clearly has no experience in science, military affairs, or politics which are the essence of the plot of this work. The reader should not be miles ahead of the characters in ascertaining what is happening in the imaginary universe that the characters supposedly have inhabited their entire lives.

As many other reviewers have pointed out, there is too much of a deus ex machina quality to the character Cav who miraculously solves every technical issue in a universe where all technology seems to be constructed with Lego block simplicity. Grab a warp core - literally pour fuel into it - and plug it in. Inane.

The action is contrived. The resolution is pat and replete with tropes like the massive, ancient, alien machine that can be activated by present day humans. The Captain of the ship makes Hamlet seem decisive. The much touted romance will only seem as such to an adolescent.

I cannot recommend this book to anyone over the age of 13 who is a true fan of science fiction.

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2021-05-08

Worth the read

overall the book was very enjoyable but the pacing was a bit off-putting. There were some excellent moments and one in particular in the latter half of the story that was enough for me to go ahead and pre-order the next book!. looking forward to the next half of the story!!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Emma Aumack
  • 2021-04-24

Great Story. Great narration!

This is an awesome story and I have 2 new narrators to follow! Very different concept, good character development & the ending is not exactly what you might think. It’s a good start to a great series.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Rodney Wines
  • 2021-10-04

I don’t know why I chose this book, it must have been free…

The basic premise of this book, humans battling a collapsing universe, is ridiculous. The author obviously either doesn’t know just how big the universe is, or he didn’t let that knowledge get in his way. I struggled mightily with “a willing suspension of disbelief“. I have nothing against space operas, and often enjoy them, but I do prefer just a little science in my science fiction.

That said, the story was entertaining enough, and the characters were believable enough, that I finished the book. However, I won’t be looking for a sequel.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • natalie
  • 2021-10-04

void! its terrible!

its just people running away from explosions for 16 hours or so. with a pointless love story thrown in. its bad, really bad. supposedly strong characters behave as schoolgirls in love for the first time, poor worldbuilding, a million close calls and people heroically sucrificing themselves. its not even a fun-dumb book. its just dumb-dumb.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Tom B
  • 2021-07-27

Exciting new scifi series!

J. S. Dewes created a complex new universe to explore with the Last Watch. Throughout the story, we're given a lot of good world-building details about the various powers that play, Each element of the universe is filled out nicely, with the Legion, Titans, and Sentinals, to the Mercer family and other royal houses, to the Viators, Savants, and the Drudges, it was all interesting and well told. I liked all the characters, especially Cavalon. The action scenes are exciting, and the imprint technology was badass!

The only reason this isn't a 5-star for me is there are some scenes with a little too much techno-babble, and some conversations sort of circle over themselves and repeat. Most of the conversations between Adequin and Griffith feel like they come to a logical conclusion then sort of pick back up and continue. Not the end of the world, but it happened just enough times to pull one star.

Overall, awesome, exciting story with some really clever and interesting ideas throughout. Fans of Battlestar Galactica, Mass Effect, and those looking for Game of Thrones in space are going to love this one. I'm looking forward to continuing the story.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Eric Jones
  • 2021-05-01

Interesting, but uneven

Decent but uneven story. Good ideas, but narrative gets bogged down in the details of minor events and the repetition of interpersonal conversations and inner monologues. Narrators are OK. Not a bad listen, but could have been more.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Sum Guy
  • 2021-05-05

Enjoyed this one

Although the "Science" seems really far fetched, this was a fun story with interesting characters. looking forward to next book.

3 people found this helpful