Listen free for 30 days

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $31.27

Buy Now for $31.27

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The truth can set you free, or make you a prisoner...

Thirty years ago, Nicola Watson lived with her parents and older brother in a respectable suburb. At 10 years old, she didn’t yet understand why her stomach tightened when she heard her father’s heavy tread as he returned home late at night, or why it made her brother Graham’s stammer get worse, or why one night her mother Carol woke them both, wide-eyed and whispering, and took them out of their home and into the unknown.

Now a successful lawyer in the city, with a life poles apart from her dark beginnings, Nicola has returned home for her mother’s funeral. But as she stands in her mother’s house, remembering the woman who sacrificed everything for her children, Nicola has to confront the guilt that she feels for leaving her family behind. And the belief that she played a part in the events that led to her brother going to prison for murder.

All Carol wanted was to protect her children, but escaping her husband was only the beginning of the story. And when Nicola learns the truth of what her mother did, it will change everything she thought she knew about herself and her family.

A gripping, emotional story of family secrets, and the strength of a mother’s love in the darkest times. The next powerful listen for fans of The Silent Wife, Kerry Lonsdale and Emily Bleeker.

©2019 S.E. Lynes (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Lies We Hide: An Absolutely Gripping and Darkly Compelling Novel

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Just OK

Excellent performance, but the overall story line was slow. Not terrible a terrible book. Just OK.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • JJM
  • 2020-03-25

LOVED IT/HATED IT

Very well written although a bit too wordy for me especially the last 4 or 5 chapters. It seems the entire plot was squashed into these chapters - too much information all at once. On a personal note, I could never relate to Carol's character, not in my life it just wouldn't happen which made it hard for me to follow her journey. I struggled with the whole family dynamics in the beginning of the book and the middle trying to understand if the author truly feels this is normal.

In my opinion there is no better narrator in the world like Tamsin Kinnard. She is amazing. She could read recipes and it would be awesome.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So good!

Totally entertaining story and brilliant narration.
I'm off to listen to Mother and just know I won't be disappointed.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • GCS18
  • 2020-03-13

So well done

First of all, the narration was brilliant. Among the best of the 200 or more audiobooks I’ve listened to.

The story was really unusual and well thought out.
Became attached to the wonderful characters and loved how descriptive the time and place were!
Highly recommend.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • A. Twitchel
  • 2020-02-27

Very touching story

I love it when I take a chance on a book with so few reviews and I really enjoy it! The narrator is excellent and I fell in love with the flawed, raw and realistic characters in this book. Yes it is dark, but these characters constantly struggle to evolve emotionally throughout the story. The beauty of this book is in their fight to find their way into the light. Alcoholism, drug addiction and physical violence are at the premise of the storyline, but truly so is hope and love. I could painfully identify with Carol's constant feelings of trepidation in her marriage. There will be those who say Carol is weak, but she is NOT. She makes mistakes, as we all do, and she is often unable to see herself as worthy of love, like so many victims of family dysfunction are. But she is NOT a victim, she is a strong woman who never gives up on her family, always putting one foot in front of the other searching for the light. This is just a beautiful story of love in all forms that a we cultivate over a lifetime. READ THIS BOOK!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rinnie
  • 2020-03-12

Realistic tale

This one struck a cord. Made me think about my Mother and all she kept inside to raise 8 reasonably successful children. I had a really peaceful uneventful childhood, however I always had a feeling of something was about to jump off when my Dad was around. Notice I have this feeling around most men. I enjoyed this book and the family's dynamic. It also had a few twists. The narration was excellent. I would highly recommend this book.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Dawna
  • 2020-09-11

Good listen

S.E. Lynes has become one of my favorite authors and Tamsin Kennard an excellent narrator. This book held my interest from start to finish, narrative acting is spot on.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Karenique
  • 2022-05-26

An emotional, well-crafted masterpiece

The lies we hide, indeed! The brilliant duo of S.E. Lynes and Tamsin Kennard once again are spot-on as they prove why I have collected a vast collection in my Audible library. “The Lies We Hide” is different from their other offerings. Encompassing oh so many lies, loss, secrets, sadness, forgiveness, hope and love, are brought to vibrant life. The complexellent perfection of the finale culminates as Lynes wraps this heartfelt journey up with spectacular satisfaction. Just when I think it’s over {{{{gasp-worthy}}}}, nope, I’m wrong and continue with a shocker of jaw-dropping shockers. An emotional, well-crafted masterpiece. I’m recommending his creative and thoughtful masterpiece. It made me cry, smile and even reminisce. Complete with a rollercoaster of emotions, it is worth a treasured credit, however, I was lucky to have purchased this for $11+. An awesome nod to Lynes, Kennard and Audible for making this heartwarming tale available.

♥️🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟♥️

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Wild Wise Woman
  • 2022-04-13

Only bearable speeded up to 1.45

90% of this is sappy set-up, an interminable wait for ANYTHING to happen. The last 10% is the simple wind-up you've seen coming for a long time. Wish I hadn't bothered. (I really did listen to most of it at a very high speed, and it was still draggy )

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Imamomof4
  • 2022-01-16

Excellent Story. Insightful.

If you enjoy the subtle and emotionally riveting story telling of Liane Moriarty or Lisa Jewel, then you will find this one worth the read.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Lizzy
  • 2021-08-24

Good story

good narrator. listened to the end waiting for the secrets and lies to come out

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Tammy
  • 2021-03-11

Proceed with caution..

The writing was excellent as was the performance.
I just wanted to warn those who may have lived with/grown up with domestic violence. For those (me) this will not be an easy listen as it will definitely pull up things in your past, no matter what stage of healing you may be at. Peace

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • AJ
  • 2020-05-28

Meh...

This book was meh...just meh. It was boring and I felt like there were at least two characters who were just thrown in the mix that didn't really add anything to the story. I was hoping that the ending would redeem it but I had already predicted what would happen. Tamsin Kennard was brilliant at narrating as always and is truly the only reason I kept on listening. If not for her, I would have returned the book.