Get a free audiobook

The Lies We Hide: An Absolutely Gripping and Darkly Compelling Novel

Written by: S.E. Lynes
Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
Length: 10 hrs and 55 mins
4.3 out of 5 stars (31 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The truth can set you free, or make you a prisoner...

Thirty years ago, Nicola Watson lived with her parents and older brother in a respectable suburb. At 10 years old, she didn’t yet understand why her stomach tightened when she heard her father’s heavy tread as he returned home late at night, or why it made her brother Graham’s stammer get worse, or why one night her mother Carol woke them both, wide-eyed and whispering, and took them out of their home and into the unknown.

Now a successful lawyer in the city, with a life poles apart from her dark beginnings, Nicola has returned home for her mother’s funeral. But as she stands in her mother’s house, remembering the woman who sacrificed everything for her children, Nicola has to confront the guilt that she feels for leaving her family behind. And the belief that she played a part in the events that led to her brother going to prison for murder.

All Carol wanted was to protect her children, but escaping her husband was only the beginning of the story. And when Nicola learns the truth of what her mother did, it will change everything she thought she knew about herself and her family.

A gripping, emotional story of family secrets, and the strength of a mother’s love in the darkest times. The next powerful listen for fans of The Silent Wife, Kerry Lonsdale and Emily Bleeker.

©2019 S.E. Lynes (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Lies We Hide: An Absolutely Gripping and Darkly Compelling Novel

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Just OK

Excellent performance, but the overall story line was slow. Not terrible a terrible book. Just OK.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • JJM
  • 2020-03-25

LOVED IT/HATED IT

Very well written although a bit too wordy for me especially the last 4 or 5 chapters. It seems the entire plot was squashed into these chapters - too much information all at once. On a personal note, I could never relate to Carol's character, not in my life it just wouldn't happen which made it hard for me to follow her journey. I struggled with the whole family dynamics in the beginning of the book and the middle trying to understand if the author truly feels this is normal. In my opinion there is no better narrator in the world like Tamsin Kinnard. She is amazing. She could read recipes and it would be awesome.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So good!

Totally entertaining story and brilliant narration. I'm off to listen to Mother and just know I won't be disappointed.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • GCS18
  • 2020-03-13

So well done

First of all, the narration was brilliant. Among the best of the 200 or more audiobooks I’ve listened to. The story was really unusual and well thought out. Became attached to the wonderful characters and loved how descriptive the time and place were! Highly recommend.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • A. Twitchel
  • 2020-02-27

Very touching story

I love it when I take a chance on a book with so few reviews and I really enjoy it! The narrator is excellent and I fell in love with the flawed, raw and realistic characters in this book. Yes it is dark, but these characters constantly struggle to evolve emotionally throughout the story. The beauty of this book is in their fight to find their way into the light. Alcoholism, drug addiction and physical violence are at the premise of the storyline, but truly so is hope and love. I could painfully identify with Carol's constant feelings of trepidation in her marriage. There will be those who say Carol is weak, but she is NOT. She makes mistakes, as we all do, and she is often unable to see herself as worthy of love, like so many victims of family dysfunction are. But she is NOT a victim, she is a strong woman who never gives up on her family, always putting one foot in front of the other searching for the light. This is just a beautiful story of love in all forms that a we cultivate over a lifetime. READ THIS BOOK!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Dawna
  • 2020-09-11

Good listen

S.E. Lynes has become one of my favorite authors and Tamsin Kennard an excellent narrator. This book held my interest from start to finish, narrative acting is spot on.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • AJ
  • 2020-05-28

Meh...

This book was meh...just meh. It was boring and I felt like there were at least two characters who were just thrown in the mix that didn't really add anything to the story. I was hoping that the ending would redeem it but I had already predicted what would happen. Tamsin Kennard was brilliant at narrating as always and is truly the only reason I kept on listening. If not for her, I would have returned the book.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • karen
  • 2020-05-26

Boring

This book is just boring. I only listened hoping it would get better. The story is slow and boring.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Marsha L. Woerner
  • 2020-04-22

Startling twists near the end

(As posted in GoodReads) Wow, what fascinating and unexpected twists at the end! Despite the fact that it's not a mystery, running questions about the characters and their motives and activities were constant throughout. And the questions "what really happened?" and "Who's the good guys, and are they entirely good?" were prevalent throughout. And, although, they were primarily answered by the end, the question of whether anyone was actually good and whether any activities were correct/justified is an ongoing question just in general. It's an interesting look into a screwed up situation and family for which there really wasn't a good answer.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rinnie
  • 2020-03-12

Realistic tale

This one struck a cord. Made me think about my Mother and all she kept inside to raise 8 reasonably successful children. I had a really peaceful uneventful childhood, however I always had a feeling of something was about to jump off when my Dad was around. Notice I have this feeling around most men. I enjoyed this book and the family's dynamic. It also had a few twists. The narration was excellent. I would highly recommend this book.