Listen free for 30 days

  • The Lies We Hide: An Absolutely Gripping and Darkly Compelling Novel

  • Written by: S. E. Lynes
  • Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
  • Length: 10 hrs and 55 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (44 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Lies We Hide: An Absolutely Gripping and Darkly Compelling Novel cover art

The Lies We Hide: An Absolutely Gripping and Darkly Compelling Novel

Written by: S. E. Lynes
Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $31.27

Buy Now for $31.27

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The truth can set you free, or make you a prisoner...

Thirty years ago, Nicola Watson lived with her parents and older brother in a respectable suburb. At 10 years old, she didn’t yet understand why her stomach tightened when she heard her father’s heavy tread as he returned home late at night, or why it made her brother Graham’s stammer get worse, or why one night her mother Carol woke them both, wide-eyed and whispering, and took them out of their home and into the unknown.

Now a successful lawyer in the city, with a life poles apart from her dark beginnings, Nicola has returned home for her mother’s funeral. But as she stands in her mother’s house, remembering the woman who sacrificed everything for her children, Nicola has to confront the guilt that she feels for leaving her family behind. And the belief that she played a part in the events that led to her brother going to prison for murder.

All Carol wanted was to protect her children, but escaping her husband was only the beginning of the story. And when Nicola learns the truth of what her mother did, it will change everything she thought she knew about herself and her family.

A gripping, emotional story of family secrets, and the strength of a mother’s love in the darkest times. The next powerful listen for fans of The Silent Wife, Kerry Lonsdale and Emily Bleeker.

©2019 S.E. Lynes (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Lies We Hide: An Absolutely Gripping and Darkly Compelling Novel

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best yet!

S E Lynes at her finest. Beautifully written and exquisitely narrated as ever, this novel captures the nuances of everyday life on the Wirral. Several twists left me listening until the very last minute. More please!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Just OK

Excellent performance, but the overall story line was slow. Not terrible a terrible book. Just OK.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • JJM
  • 2020-03-25

LOVED IT/HATED IT

Very well written although a bit too wordy for me especially the last 4 or 5 chapters. It seems the entire plot was squashed into these chapters - too much information all at once. On a personal note, I could never relate to Carol's character, not in my life it just wouldn't happen which made it hard for me to follow her journey. I struggled with the whole family dynamics in the beginning of the book and the middle trying to understand if the author truly feels this is normal.

In my opinion there is no better narrator in the world like Tamsin Kinnard. She is amazing. She could read recipes and it would be awesome.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So good!

Totally entertaining story and brilliant narration.
I'm off to listen to Mother and just know I won't be disappointed.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!