Listen free for 30 days

  • The Long Weekend

  • A Novel
  • Written by: Gilly Macmillan
  • Narrated by: Olivia Poulet
  • Length: 8 hrs and 50 mins
  • 4.1 out of 5 stars (72 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Long Weekend cover art

The Long Weekend

Written by: Gilly Macmillan
Narrated by: Olivia Poulet
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $32.62

Buy Now for $32.62

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

“Twisty, dark, and packs a punch. . . . Gripping and genuinely nail-biting.” — Sarah Pearse, New York Times bestselling author of The Sanatorium

In this pulse-pounding thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Nanny, a group of women travel to the most remote place in England for a weekend escape, only to discover a startling note that one of their husbands will be killed before they return home. Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Lucy Foley.

Three couples

Two bodies

One secret

Dark Fell Barn is a “perfectly isolated” retreat, or so says its website when Jayne books a reservation for her friends. A quiet place, far removed from the rest of the world, is exactly what they need.

The women arrive for a girls’ night ahead of their husbands. There’s ex-Army Jayne, hardened and serious, but also damaged. Ruth, the driven doctor and new mother who is battling demons of her own. Young Emily, just wed and insecure, the newest addition of this tight-knit band. Missing this year is Edie, who was the glue holding them together, until her husband died suddenly.

But what they hoped would be a relaxing break soon turns to horror. Upon arrival at Dark Fell Barn, the women find a devastating note claiming one of their husbands will be murdered. There are no phones, no cell service to check on their men. Friendships fracture as the situation spins wildly out of control. Betrayal can come in many forms.

This group has kept each other’s secrets for far too long.

""Fast-paced and incredibly compelling . . . this book will not let you put it down."" — Shari Lapena, New York Times bestselling author of The Couple Next Door

©2022 Gilly Macmillan (P)2022 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about The Long Weekend

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Listen at .90 to settle into this one.

Too fast in narration and too much going on in plotline. Believable, not really, but all about twisty storylines.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good thriller-wondering for long time

I guessed wrong, till closer to the end. That fact kept it intriguing…but I find I’m getting irritated by characters that are too ‘closed’ and make more drama in life than necessary. I couldn’t help thinking if these were my friends I would be a hermit. Good plot though.
Thanks to those that mentioned slowing the narration as early on I felt I was trapped by someone who couldn’t understand a book/story is to be savoured rather trying to rush through it!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Narrated too fast

Storyline was good however I found it hard to focus as the narrator went too fast with hardly any pauses between chapters/characters. Made it hard to follow. Too bad

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Poor ratings unjustified

Really enjoyed this story and I thought the criticism of the narrator are unfounded. Narration was a bit speedy but I think it added to the sense of foreboding. The story lends itself to having one neutral narrator rather than multiple distinct voices for reasons obvious when you reach last chapters. I had no problem figuring out who was speaking. Great story, full of twists and turns and ending was difficult to predict. Highly recommend.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great and thrilling read!

I appreciate how on “the edge of my seat” I was throughout this book.
Sad, heartbreaking and beautiful.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great mystery

I thought this was a really good story. Some people complained about the speed of the narration but I just turned it down to .8x and it was fine. Easy fix. My only complaint was because she didn’t have different sounding voices for the characters it made it more difficult to keep track and picture what was going on during character change as the characters ran too closely together. Not more but just different voices would have helped. If I was distracted for a minute I would get lost in the change and have to rewind. Anyway it was a good story.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great listen

probably outcomes, great writing, really enjoyed it! you know the characters but you don't love them and that's on purpose!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Unimpressed

This is an agonizing read. I'm sick of crime from the criminal's perspective, and everyone in the novel is a moron. The narration is tolerable played at 0.8x speed, although I dislike hearing the reader gasping for breath. The production value is pathetic. An author of Macmillan's stature should surely merit better.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I wouldn't bother

Not that great of a story. Hard to follow as narrator used same voice for all characters. Wouldn't waste a credit on this.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Meh

It had an interesting premise and one good twist, but the story fell short. It was an ok listen but not amazing.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!