Get a free audiobook

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Debut author Margaret Owen crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, survival, and sacrifice - perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Kendare Blake - in The Merciful Crow. One way or another, we always feed the crows.  

A future chieftain   

Fie abides by one rule: Look after your own. Her Crow caste of undertakers and mercy-killers takes more abuse than coin, but when they’re called to collect royal dead, she’s hoping they’ll find the payout of a lifetime.  

A fugitive prince   

When Crown Prince Jasimir turns out to have faked his death, Fie’s ready to cut her losses - and perhaps his throat. But he offers a wager that she can’t refuse: Protect him from a ruthless queen, and he’ll protect the Crows when he reigns.   

A too-cunning bodyguard   

Hawk warrior Tavin has always put Jas’ life before his, magically assuming the prince’s appearance and shadowing his every step. But what happens when Tavin begins to want something to call his own?

©2019 Margaret Owen (P)2019 Macmillan Audio

What listeners say about The Merciful Crow

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Shannon
  • 2019-09-13

Worth the read/listen

It did get really long in the middle of the book, I literally fell asleep for a few and didn’t even bother going back and don’t feel I missed anything

Definitely unique concept though that I wish was explained more , like how can people tell what caste someone is just by looking?

I also am not a fan of the immediate fall in love thing, but some people like that

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-08-31

Unique but a little slow

Overall a pleasure, truly interesting premise and characters, but pretty slow moving. Well written and narrated.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • David Board
  • 2021-02-10

it's fine.

it wonderful world with a good story that just feels flat in places. I look forward to the next book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Tobias Reaper
  • 2020-07-28

really really good story

the story was really good, and the narrator does quite a good job with the male voices. i’ve had several audiobooks ruined by a narrator trying too hard (or not very hard at all) to get the genders right, especially with different ages. this narrator knocked it out of the park.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-08-19

Amazing

This book is amazing. If your a fan of Six of Crows and/or The throne of glass books. highly recommend. July 2020 can't come quick enough. how dare you make me look forward to an election year.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Demimonde
  • 2020-12-14

Good book

The book was amazing but the narrator wasn’t that good. She said several words weird and was kinda deadpan all the way through. Still an amazing book though, recommended it to anyone.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2020-12-11

great adventure story

I really enjoyed this book. little bit adventure, little bit magic little bit love story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • DianaMoonGlampers
  • 2020-12-01

Pretty Good

I enjoyed this book. It was an easy listen, nicky paced. No major twists and turns. But still enough action and peril to make it interesting. The narrator was decent enough. I wish her male voices were a bit better. otherwise, no complaints.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2020-11-29

Loved It!

Simply fantastic! The story is exceptional and the narrator brought the characters to life in full, especially with to the three main characters. Would recommend!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • C.Cheek
  • 2020-10-25

coming of age rebellion story

I enjoyed this book because it's a slightly offbeat take on a typical rebellion-againts-the-empire fantasy trope and I espcially loved the focus on birds. It also pleased me that the novel dealt with LGBTQ and non-cis-gendered characters in a casual way that wasn't derogatory. The main character isn't overly complex, but it was a good adventure that most fantasy readers would enjoy.