Get a free audiobook

The Other Mrs. Miller

Written by: Allison Dickson
Narrated by: Holly Palance
Length: 9 hrs and 58 mins
4 out of 5 stars (30 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Two women are watching each other.

Phoebe Miller isn't sure when the rusty car started showing up in the cul-de-sac she calls home, or why its driver would be spying on her. What could be interesting about an unhappy housewife who drowns her sorrows in ice cream and wine and barely leaves her house?

Only one knows why. 

When a new family moves in across the street - the exuberant Vicki, who just might become the gossipy best friend Phoebe's always wanted, and her handsome college-bound son, Jake, who offers companionship of a different variety - Phoebe finds her dull routine infused with the excitement she's been missing. But with her head turned she's no longer focused on the woman in the car. And she really should be....

An addictive domestic thriller for fans of The Last Mrs. Parrish and The Couple Next Door, The Other Mrs. Miller serves up a delicious brew of dark secrets and stunning plot twists that will keep you captivated until the very last page.

©2019 Allison Dickson (P)2019 Penguin Audio

What the critics say

One of Bustle’s “40 New Thrillers Out This Summer That Make the Perfect Vacation Reads”

“The story has enough twists to satisfy mystery readers, and Dickson’s exploration of the truth behind the façade will draw in those who appreciate women’s fiction with a dash of suspense.” (Booklist)

“[C]leverly plotted… Dickson sets the stage for a stunning mid-novel plot twist…[T]his is a diverting poolside entertainment.” (Publishers Weekly)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Pass on this one.

Terrible Narrator. Very slow and monotonous. sadly not a good fit for this. struggled to get through and returned.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Narrator didn’t suit the story

This was the first book that I have listened to that I truly did not care for the narrator. The women in the story are supposed to be 26 and 32, and she is clearly in her 60s...the “‘male voices” all sound really stunned.
Interesting story but the performance is not great.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • TM Kelly
  • 2019-07-17

A masterful debut from a new shining star

It's hard to believe this twisty, fast paced novel is the debut work of new kid on the block, Allison Dickson. While it's true that Dickson has been self publishing for several years, and has more than one decent book or short story under her belt, her excellent story telling in The Other Mrs. Miller proves that she belongs among the other heavy hitters in commercial publications.

Nearly impossible to put down, and delicious wordsmithing make this book a treat for any fan of domestic thrillers, whodunits, or suspense. But don't let those generes pigeon hole this novel for you! Even if those don't pique your interest, I truly believe all readers can enjoy The Other Mrs. Miller.

I am an avid audio listener, and I found the narration of Holly Palance excellent. With clean, articulate speech and subtle tone, Palance helps lock you into this unexpected world of neighbors and secrets. Looking very much forward to more work from both the author and narrators. Bravo, Ladies!

22 of 22 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ian T. Healy
  • 2019-07-26

Outstanding tale

Allison Dickson ratchets up the tension in this suspenseful tale of murder, impersonation, and intrigue that would put Machiavelli to shame. The twists keep coming and just when you think you've figured it out, it swerves hard to the side. Highly recommend it!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Getshotzi
  • 2019-07-20

Wildly Entertaining!

Most thrillers wrap up predictably, but this one went the extra mile. That extra mile meant all the difference. Great narration, too!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Nan
  • 2019-08-16

Excellent

Loved it so much. Excellent narration by Holly Palance. Hope to read more from this author.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • lisa
  • 2019-07-25

Pretty entertaining!

Fun easy read with a different twist than most books. Not a lot of characters and very easy to follow!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mary
  • 2019-10-09

It’s in the details!

So I’ve read and listened to many suspense/thriller/murder mystery novels. And I’d like to think I’m an expert at guessing how it will end at this point. I will say, this one kept me guessing. You think you’re so sure then the author fills you with doubt. Clever ending! But I would’ve settled with a happily ever after. Guess you can take an animal out of the wild. But you can never take the wild out of an animal? Sounds about right.... Enjoy! Worth the credit!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Mary Iz
  • 2019-09-18

The Other Mrs Miller

I liked it but I didnt love it. The story was original and the characters were developed. The narrator did a good job but I felt she was too cheerful for the tone of the novel. There were twists that I saw coming and one that I didnt. The author was able to tie up some loose ends and wrap the story up nicely. Overall, I'd say it was worth the credit.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • LC
  • 2019-10-05

Very entertaining

It was a good story with unexpected twists. There were times where I thought ‘how is this going to end?!’ I highly recommend.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-09-15

true Thriller

I was surprised! Great story line and creative plot twist! It makes you want a sequel!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Webshopper
  • 2019-08-29

Terrible

The only thing worse than this book is the narrator. The entire story is ridiculous, the characters are awful, and the dialogue is so forced it’s laughable. The narrator sounded like a 60-year-old kindergarten teacher. I don’t know what made me listen to the whole thing - it was like a train wreck I couldn’t turn away from. 7 hours of my life I’ll never get back.

12 of 15 people found this review helpful