Get a free audiobook

The Other Mrs. Miller

Written by: Allison Dickson
Narrated by: Holly Palance
Length: 9 hrs and 58 mins
3.5 out of 5 stars (15 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Two women are watching each other.

Phoebe Miller isn't sure when the rusty car started showing up in the cul-de-sac she calls home, or why its driver would be spying on her. What could be interesting about an unhappy housewife who drowns her sorrows in ice cream and wine and barely leaves her house?

Only one knows why. 

When a new family moves in across the street - the exuberant Vicki, who just might become the gossipy best friend Phoebe's always wanted, and her handsome college-bound son, Jake, who offers companionship of a different variety - Phoebe finds her dull routine infused with the excitement she's been missing. But with her head turned she's no longer focused on the woman in the car. And she really should be....

An addictive domestic thriller for fans of The Last Mrs. Parrish and The Couple Next Door, The Other Mrs. Miller serves up a delicious brew of dark secrets and stunning plot twists that will keep you captivated until the very last page.

©2019 Allison Dickson (P)2019 Penguin Audio

What the critics say

One of Bustle’s “40 New Thrillers Out This Summer That Make the Perfect Vacation Reads”

“The story has enough twists to satisfy mystery readers, and Dickson’s exploration of the truth behind the façade will draw in those who appreciate women’s fiction with a dash of suspense.” (Booklist)

“[C]leverly plotted… Dickson sets the stage for a stunning mid-novel plot twist…[T]his is a diverting poolside entertainment.” (Publishers Weekly)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Narrator didn’t suit the story

This was the first book that I have listened to that I truly did not care for the narrator. The women in the story are supposed to be 26 and 32, and she is clearly in her 60s...the “‘male voices” all sound really stunned.
Interesting story but the performance is not great.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • TM Kelly
  • Dayton, OH
  • 2019-07-17

A masterful debut from a new shining star

It's hard to believe this twisty, fast paced novel is the debut work of new kid on the block, Allison Dickson. While it's true that Dickson has been self publishing for several years, and has more than one decent book or short story under her belt, her excellent story telling in The Other Mrs. Miller proves that she belongs among the other heavy hitters in commercial publications.

Nearly impossible to put down, and delicious wordsmithing make this book a treat for any fan of domestic thrillers, whodunits, or suspense. But don't let those generes pigeon hole this novel for you! Even if those don't pique your interest, I truly believe all readers can enjoy The Other Mrs. Miller.

I am an avid audio listener, and I found the narration of Holly Palance excellent. With clean, articulate speech and subtle tone, Palance helps lock you into this unexpected world of neighbors and secrets. Looking very much forward to more work from both the author and narrators. Bravo, Ladies!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • lisa
  • 2019-07-25

Pretty entertaining!

Fun easy read with a different twist than most books. Not a lot of characters and very easy to follow!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ian T. Healy
  • Denver, CO USA
  • 2019-07-26

Outstanding tale

Allison Dickson ratchets up the tension in this suspenseful tale of murder, impersonation, and intrigue that would put Machiavelli to shame. The twists keep coming and just when you think you've figured it out, it swerves hard to the side. Highly recommend it!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Getshotzi
  • 2019-07-20

Wildly Entertaining!

Most thrillers wrap up predictably, but this one went the extra mile. That extra mile meant all the difference. Great narration, too!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Bridget
  • 2019-07-24

Eh.

Rarely do I actually write full reviews, but this story was absurd. The characters were completely unlikeable and I found myself routing for them all to fail. That paired with a story line that’s completely insane (even for a domestic thriller) really did it for me. But honestly the worst part about this one was the narrator— the main characters are supposed to be in their 30’s and she sounds well into her 60’s. It just seemed to be a strange choice, plus the painfully forced dialogue didn’t do her any favors. I’d pass on this one!

9 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Nan
  • 2019-08-16

Excellent

Loved it so much. Excellent narration by Holly Palance. Hope to read more from this author.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Sheila S
  • Chicago, IL
  • 2019-08-02

Stretches credibility way too far

The storyline was so ridiculous that it didn't matter to me who did what to whom. What began as something promising had fizzled out midway through the book. Definitely not a page turner.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • B.S.
  • 2019-07-18

MDT!

I globally believe this book will launch Mrs. Dickson to the top where she belongs. This will be the path finder and guide her work towards the front of the pack. I'd love to catch her on her book tour and ask for a signed copy!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • SC
  • 2019-08-15

Great book, horrible narrator.

This was a mystery where I finally couldn’t guess the killer! Trust me, that is rare for me. However I couldn’t get past the narrator’s voice. She made women in their twenties and thirties sound like old ladies! It was very disruptive to the story. Her actual performance was ok I guess, but I just couldn’t stand her voice. She should only voice stories that feature older women in the future.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • arkballmom
  • 2019-08-22

Narrator was great but story was too slow.

I kept thing the story line would pick up, but by Chapter 6 I had listened more than i should have and asked to return it.