Get a free audiobook

$14.95/month + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

This heart-wrenching novel about family and war unearths generations of secrets and sacrifices - perfect for fans of The Paris Orphan and The Lost Girls of Paris.

London, 2017: When Aurelia Leclaire inherits an opulent Paris apartment, she is shocked to discover her grandmother’s hidden secrets - including a treasure trove of famous art and couture gowns. One obscure painting leads her to Gabriel Seymour, a highly respected art restorer with his own mysterious past. Together they attempt to uncover the truths concealed within the apartment’s walls.

Paris, 1942: The Germans may occupy the City of Lights, but glamorous Estelle Allard flourishes in a world separate from the hardships of war. Yet when the Nazis come for her friends, Estelle doesn’t hesitate to help those she holds dear, no matter the cost. As she works against the forces intent on destroying her loved ones, she can’t know that her actions will have ramifications for generations to come.

Set 75 years apart, against a perilous and a prosperous Paris, both Estelle and Lia must summon hidden courage as they navigate the dangers of a changing world, altering history - and their family’s futures - forever.

©2021 Kelly Bowen (P)2021 Forever

What the critics say

“Bowen draws on the lives of Nancy Wake and Josephine Baker and the 2018 discovery of a Paris apartment untouched since WWII in this rich historical tale. The stories unearthed in the apartment pique from the first page in this magnetic novel full of tragedy and rich characters.” (Publishers Weekly)

"Kelly Bowen creates an evocative and thrilling glimpse into the lives of two heroic women risking everything in occupied Paris during World War II. A dual-timeline connects past and present; a painting of a house, two matching pendants, and old photographs of a woman act as pivotal clues that bridge between the two, and fine works of art and a heartfelt love story between two people who were destined to meet brings the story full circle. A lovely aha moment at the end and the reminder to make one's life count will make this book and its characters linger long after the last page is turned. A beautiful novel for fans of The Nightingale." (Karen White, New York Times best-selling author of The Last Night in London)

“'A beautifully written cast of characters unraveling the mysteries and humanity of war. Enticing.” (Mandy Robotham, USA Today best-selling author)

What listeners say about The Paris Apartment

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available