Get a free audiobook

The Paris Seamstress

Written by: Natasha Lester
Narrated by: Penelope Rawlins
Length: 14 hrs and 57 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (32 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale comes an internationally best-selling World War II novel that spans generations, crosses oceans, and proves just how much two young women are willing to sacrifice for love and family.

1940: As the Germans advance upon Paris, young seamstress Estella Bissette is forced to flee everything she's ever known. She's bound for New York City with her signature gold dress, a few francs, and a dream: to make her mark on the world of fashion. 

Present day: Fabienne Bissette journeys to the Met's annual gala for an exhibit featuring the work of her ailing grandmother - a legend of women's fashion design. But as Fabienne begins to learn more about her beloved grandmother's past, she uncovers a story of tragedy, heartbreak, and family secrets that will dramatically change her own life.

Publishers Weekly Most Anticipated Books of the Year

Included in BookBub's "Best Historical Fiction Fiction Coming this Fall" 

"Fascinating and impeccably researched." (Gill Paul, author of The Secret Wife)

"A fantastically engrossing story. I love it." (Kelly Rimmer, USA Today best-selling author)

"Gorgeously rich and romantic." (Kate Forsyth, author of Bitter Greens)

"Intrigue, heartbreak... I cannot tell you how much I loved this book." (Rachel Burton, author of The Things We Need to Say)

©2018 Natasha Lester (P)2018 Hachette Audio

What the critics say

"This rich, memorable novel unfolds beautifully from start to finish. (Publishers Weekly, starred review)

"[A] fascinating and impeccably researched evocation of the New York fashion world during World War Two... and some divine-sounding dresses!" (Gill Paul, best-selling historical fiction author)

"This book was beautifully written and the characters have such rich history! The book is about two really strong women, two different generations, and the secrets that can bring them together or tear them apart. Natasha's style of writing flows easily, and the storyline and love story had me hooked."(Girly Book Club on The Paris Seamstress)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story!

Great read and as a hobby seamstress, I enjoyed hearing about the inner workings of an atelier

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • I. Miller
  • 2018-10-19

This book would makes for a mindless read.

I felt this book read like a soap opera full of terrible tragedy. Just when you think the character will be happy the rug is pulled out from under them. Not the best story I've read. I wouldn't recommend it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Debra Case
  • 2018-11-02

Focused more on fashion than WWII

Only got about halfway through. Lots of fashion, not much about WWII in Paris. American accents were not very good and distracting.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • J. Hickingbotham
  • 2019-09-12

Weak historical fiction story

While there were accurate history references to WW2 and the famed fashion stars of the early 20th century, the story was less history and much more sappy love saga. Predictable and read like a Danielle Steel novel. I read this because it was compared to the Lilac Girls and The Nightingale as well as many other great historical fiction stories abut WW2. This doesn’t even come close. The one redeeming quality was the performance of the narrator. Her voices, dialects, etc were fantastic. I hope to hear her again. Not reading any more of the author’s books though.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • yolanda m. collier
  • 2019-11-10

Up In The Air

I am going to start with the writing was not the best. The beginning of the story reminded me of other War War II period books that were recently written, but when Estella moves to NY, my attention is grabbed. I couldn’t put it down. I never grew to like Estella because she seems to never learn until she’s elderly and has knowledge to pass on. Love scenes seemed cheesy. With all that said it was still an Interesting book!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Margaret E Miller
  • 2019-09-26

Performance was stunning for female roles but left lacking for male

I was amazed at the various accents the narrator used. It was clear who each character was, however for the male voices it was lacking. All men sounded like sniveling snakes despite several being kind, heroic and sexy.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-09-04

Awesome compelling

the story was great captured my attention from the beginning likable characters and fast paced from start to finish

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Gigi k
  • 2019-08-27

Not for me

I had read the rave reviews and was prepared for a historical drama. If you love fashion, don’t read this book - it’s not about fashion. If you love design, don’t read this book it’s not about design. I slogged through 50% but just gave up - I no longer cared about any of the characters. The plot is confusing and all over the place. I don’t know how the author finished the story but I won’t buy another of her books.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Cynthia
  • 2019-08-09

Review if The Paris Seamstress

The overall story was well done. My problem was with the reader. Most of the female voices were done well; the male voices were annoying to my ear. It would have been better to use a male voice for male characters or find someone that can do both well.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Shawn
  • 2019-07-12

Didn’t love it

The ups and downs and complex story line and underdeveloped characters made it really hard to follow. I got used to the voice overs but didn’t love one person basically doing all the voices.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Anisa Ali
  • 2019-06-15

A good story but too many characters that didn’t come together

*contains spoilers!*

I did like this book but it just felt like there were too many characters and storylines that weren’t developed. I wanted to learn more about Estella’s mother, and Estella’s relationship with Sam after Alex. And what about Janey? She and Estella were obviously lifelong friends, but I wanted to hear more about that.