Price: CDN$ 35.72

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day free trial and your first audiobook is free
  • After trial, get 1 credit each month good for any audiobook.
  • Exchange any audiobook you don’t like
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your free trial, Audible is just CDN$ 14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale comes an internationally best-selling World War II novel that spans generations, crosses oceans, and proves just how much two young women are willing to sacrifice for love and family.

1940: As the Germans advance upon Paris, young seamstress Estella Bissette is forced to flee everything she's ever known. She's bound for New York City with her signature gold dress, a few francs, and a dream: to make her mark on the world of fashion. 

Present day: Fabienne Bissette journeys to the Met's annual gala for an exhibit featuring the work of her ailing grandmother - a legend of women's fashion design. But as Fabienne begins to learn more about her beloved grandmother's past, she uncovers a story of tragedy, heartbreak, and family secrets that will dramatically change her own life.

Publishers Weekly Most Anticipated Books of the Year

Included in BookBub's "Best Historical Fiction Fiction Coming this Fall" 

"Fascinating and impeccably researched." (Gill Paul, author of The Secret Wife)

"A fantastically engrossing story. I love it." (Kelly Rimmer, USA Today best-selling author)

"Gorgeously rich and romantic." (Kate Forsyth, author of Bitter Greens)

"Intrigue, heartbreak... I cannot tell you how much I loved this book." (Rachel Burton, author of The Things We Need to Say)

©2018 Natasha Lester (P)2018 Hachette Audio

What the critics say

"This rich, memorable novel unfolds beautifully from start to finish. (Publishers Weekly, starred review)

"[A] fascinating and impeccably researched evocation of the New York fashion world during World War Two... and some divine-sounding dresses!" (Gill Paul, best-selling historical fiction author)

"This book was beautifully written and the characters have such rich history! The book is about two really strong women, two different generations, and the secrets that can bring them together or tear them apart. Natasha's style of writing flows easily, and the storyline and love story had me hooked."(Girly Book Club on The Paris Seamstress)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No reviews are available