Get a free audiobook

The Paths Between Worlds

Written by: Paul Antony Jones
Narrated by: Kate Reading
Length: 11 hrs and 29 mins
5 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)
Price: CDN$ 31.27
CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Welcome children of Earth, do not be afraid.

After a devastating car crash leaves her addicted to pain pills and her best friend dead, Meredith Gale has finally been pushed beyond her breaking point. Now, ending her life seems like the only way out, and that choice has left her dangling by her fingertips from a bridge high above the freezing water of the San Francisco Bay. But someone, or something, has other plans for Meredith. As her fingers slip from the cold steel of the bridge, a disembodied voice asks her a simple question: “Candidate 13: Do you wish to be saved?” 

Realizing her mistake too late, Meredith screams “Yes!” and instantly finds herself transported to a mysterious island, alongside hundreds of other Candidates like her, each pulled from human history with seemingly little in common. But when Meredith stumbles across a cryptic message meant only for her, she uncovers an even bigger mystery - a mystery that places the fate of humanity’s future firmly in her hands.

With the help of her new companions, Meredith sets out on an impossible journey to find the one person who can solve the riddle of why they were brought to this strange, alien Earth...assuming they can survive the dangers that lurk within this new world and the dark forces massing against them.

Check out the first audiobook in the This Alien Earth Series, a futuristic adventure perfect for fans of Jeremy Robinson, Stephen King, and Lost.

©2019 Aethon Books (P)2019 Audible, Inc.

What the critics say

"A stunning sci-fi gem. The Path Between Worlds delivers a mind bending, exquisitely crafted start to a saga unlike anything you've read before." (Steven Konkoly, USA Today best-selling author of the Perseid Collapse series)

"Fresh, original and highly imaginative. I loved it." (RR Haywood, Washington Post best-selling author of Extracted)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No reviews are available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Willis Burns
  • 2019-03-20

HOLY WOW!!

I didn’t have much experience with Jones before this but... HOLY WOW. What an experience. Kate Reading brings Meredith Gale to life. Felt like I was really there. And Paul Antony Jones weaved this crazy mystery with deep characters and creative tones. This book is top of 2019 so far!

15 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Felicia S.
  • 2019-03-21

I couldn't put it down!

If you have an open mind, and a great imagination, this book is for you. It's different than what I normally read, so I was a little wary. But, my doubt was gone within the first hour. The Narrator is amazing. Great Job, and I need book 2 and 3, and so forth.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Matthew
  • SEATTLE, WA, United States
  • 2019-04-01

One of the best write/reader debuts in a long time

Be prepared for an amazing journey. I want to insist each of my followers listen to this offering, and recommend it to others. An amazing debut, and a remarkable story and performance. If you want to go on a wonderful journey, an original idea and great performances. Please grab this offering and do so!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Charles A.P. Wetherington
  • 2019-03-27

Surprisingly Good Science Fiction!

Seemed to start off like some kind of soap opera, but quickly escalated to a really good adventure that had many surprises and changes. The author made detailed description of characters not mundane, but very interesting. The narrator did an excellent performance of voices when changing between characters, be it male or female. A good story which demands a sequel or 3.
I was given this audiobook for free and I freely give my opinion and rating
I recommend this book for ages 15 and older due to blood, violence, and a few mildly suggestive situations.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Robert
  • Dallas, TX
  • 2019-03-27

Now that's a story I can get in to

Paul Antony Jones writes a GREAT story. What imagination and creativity. I enjoyed how he brings people and machines together and the adventure that leys before them. Looking forward to book 2. Kate Reading is AWESOME.

"I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review."

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Bryan J. Cecil
  • 2019-03-25

Great Beginning to a Fresh Adventure

I am an avid listener of audiobooks from the sci-fi and fantasy genre, and when I saw this one release, I thought I would give it a shot. Considering I had no prior knowledge of this book, I felt that I would give it an open opportunity to impress me, to which, it absolutely did. To begin with, the narration is outstanding. Of course, Kate Reading is one of the best narrators in all of the audiobook genre. The story itself, feels new, but yet, has some aspects which are very reminiscent of other science fiction books I have read in the past. Also, the book does have some elements that are very reminiscent of the TV show Lost. Likewise, I can see certain aspects which are reminiscent of Stephen kings Dark Tower series, which, without a doubt, is one of my all-time favorite series of books. The concept of the multi-verse, is something which has always interested me, and this story uses it expertly. Overall, this is one of the best reads I have had so far this year. If I could give it six stars, I would. I highly recommend it to all fans of the science-fiction adventure genre.
I received this audiobook as a free sample copy, in return for my unbiased, volunteered opinion. Note, however, just because I received a sample copy of this book, did not, in anyway, influence my review. I would have happily purchased this book with my own credits, without question!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Cyphers Fallen
  • 2019-03-20

A Mystery

This story was awesome. I found myself listening pretty much straight through. It was a mystery that kept developing. The characters were unique and memorable. Each one positively added to the story. The narrator was spot on and able to add a distinct tone to each character. I am looking forward to listening to the next book.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Dan Lasecki
  • 2019-04-22

Off to a great start!

The Path Between Worlds was a great story, made even better by Kate Reading's excellent narration.
I thoroughly enjoyed this audiobook and look forward to future installments in the This Alien Earth series.

I was provided a free copy of this book, at my requests, and have voluntarily left this review.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • jones
  • 2019-04-18

excellent performance

the story seems good so far. the narrator is excellent with the difference voices necessary. I hope the rest of the books are as good.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Aaron
  • New York
  • 2019-04-17

Good start to an interesting premise and world.

The Paths Between Worlds does a great job of keeping the listener interested in the world and story. The pacing of the action and mystery elements is what really pulled me in. It kept me coming back for more!

Kate Reading does a great job depicting the different characters. Always a pleasure listening to her read!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful