Listen free for 30 days

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Pearl Locket cover art

The Pearl Locket

Written by: Kathleen McGurl
Narrated by: Lizzie Hopley
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $21.86

Buy Now for $21.86

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

We’ll meet again....      

When Ali inherits her great-aunt’s house, she immediately moves her whole family in, despite the warnings that there is something strange about the place.

Unfazed, Ali begins redecorating, going through the rooms, making each one her own with the help of her daughter, Kelly. But when under the wallpaper in Kelly’s new room they discover a scrawled message from 1944, Ali begins to question the history of the house as she knows it.

Her family has always seemed so picture perfect, not a blemish or a secret to be found. Yet, this discovery throws her into confusion, and Ali begins to question exactly what she knows about her family and the mysteries they have kept hidden....

Perfect for fans of The Emerald Comb, Rachel Hore and Kate Morton.

©2020 Kathleen McGurl (P)2020 Kathleen McGurl

What the critics say

"There were twists and turns galore that had me gripping my Kindle to within an inch of its life...." (Becca's Books on The Pearl Locket)

"If you want a book that is exciting, fast-paced and impossible to put down, with plenty of twists and turns, then you need to buy this book! I can't wait to read more of Kathleen's novels." (Emma's Book Reviews on The Emerald Comb)

"The Emerald Comb is fantastic." (Books & Baby)

What listeners say about The Pearl Locket

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Very sad story

If you want some uplifting story, this isn’t it. It is a very good book but certainly sad right from the start. The narrator is excellent and for me her reading about the times jack and Joan were together made it incredibly real for me. The characters were believable and likeable depicting life in the forties and fifties for young women accurately.
Liked everyone except Jones father but I’m sure no one would have liked him. I would recommend this book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for K.
  • K.
  • 2023-10-02

Great story interweaving two time periods

Interesting and sweet story mixing WW2 love story and today.
And the ending did not disappoint!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carol Rae King
  • Carol Rae King
  • 2021-03-29

Engaging narrative

A pleasant, old fashioned novel with a bit of mystery, engaging characters, and a happy ending.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!