Get a free audiobook

The Postmortal

A Novel
Written by: Drew Magary
Narrated by: Johnny Heller
Length: 10 hrs and 54 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (3 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

John Farrell is about to get "The Cure". Old age can never kill him now. The only problem is, everything else still can.

Imagine a near future where a cure for aging is discovered and - after much political and moral debate - made available to people worldwide. Immortality, however, comes with its own unique problems, including evil green people, government euthanasia programs, a disturbing new religious cult, and other horrors.

Witty, eerie, and full of humanity, The Postmortal is an unforgettable thriller that envisions a pre-apocalyptic world so real that it is completely terrifying.

©2011 Drew Magary (P)2011 Tantor

What the critics say

"A must-read for fans of postmodern dystopia in the vein of Margaret Atwood, Chuck Palahniuk, and Neil Gaiman." ( Library Journal)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Thought provoking and engaging

I really enjoyed this book up until the very end. Towards the end of the book John’s character has trouble remaining consistent and there is conflict between emphasizing how he has changed and how he hasn’t. The end also seems somewhat rushed and less powerful than it had the potential to be. However the first 9-10 hours of the book are consistently engaging and does a very good job at painting a realistic picture of the diverse ways humanity copes with conflict.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2012-05-15

Interesting concept but bleak and wearing

I heard about this novel from Boing Boing's Gweek podcast. I was interested in the description and the thought provoking points the author was addressing. I confess to disappointment due to my own expectations and my review of the book is tainted by the fact that this story is simply not what I wanted it to be.

This is a story of the worst in humanity. Tragedy, cruelty and self destruction are the primary tenants of this novel and it seems to me that it pushes too far. My experience in life has not been one of villains at every corner and irreversible self destruction. These traits exist, and are not rare, but are not the norm. I have not read "The Road" because I heard enough about it to know I would not like it. It is a story about the failure of humanity, and so is this.

As I said, it is unfair for me to judge this book by comparing it to a story I wish I had heard, so I will attempt to review it for what it is. It is clever in its ability to be thought provoking and subtle in its ability to follow the cascade of seemingly unrelated problems to a potential correlation. The characters are far from flat, but most seem to be flawed in an un-compelling way, letting things happen to them.

The story is full of detail and thought, but the series of events is bleak and soul sucking. I feel it is a short sided product of the general "everything sucks" attitude of the moment. It is easy to look at the news for a day or a year or 10 and feel that we are doomed, but the majority of human history, while not all sunshine and daisies, trends upwards. I feel that stories like this err on the side of pessimism and nihilism.

The narration is fitting for the story, but that's not a good thing. What little brevity and hope there was in the story is squashed by the narrators depressed reading.

Enjoyment of this book is dependent, as with virtually anything, on your world view. If you want to like the protagonist in any story you are reading then you will most likely want to pass on The Post-Mortal. If you enjoy and good "life sucks and then you die" french film then this may be the book for you.

I may give another of the author's works a shot, it is not a bad book, I just didn't enjoy the story arc, the general outlook and the narration.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Callie Threadgill
  • 2015-11-16

Way more depressing than I expected

I was prepared for the exciting tone that accompanies most post apocalyptic /zombie/sci-fi novels but I was incorrect in my expectations. This book was more drama than any of the genres above.

It was an interesting premise. And it had a few really innovative moments.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Nathan and Beth Vaughn
  • 2015-10-25

Thought Provoking

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

I would definitely recommend. It's a twisted storyline that always makes you wonder what is next.

What did you like best about this story?

It made me think. The author explored corners that I wouldn't have thought about on my own. Very inventive in story Iine.

Have you listened to any of Johnny Heller’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

First one.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

There were parts that were eye opening. Surprising.

Any additional comments?

Can't stop talking about. I want a friend to read it so I have someone to talk to about it

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kenneth Seyfried
  • 2017-03-20

Excellent read. Everyone should read

Very thought provoking and very satisfying read. The best of science fiction, and a very human story with heart and realism

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • foughttthelaw
  • 2016-06-17

Interesting headline. Falls apart at the end.

Would you try another book from Drew Magary and/or Johnny Heller?

No.

Has The Postmortal turned you off from other books in this genre?

absolutely not. this is a mediocore book in an amazing genre.

What does Johnny Heller bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

bad voices

Could you see The Postmortal being made into a movie or a TV series? Who should the stars be?

It's written like it wants to be optioned into a movie or tv show. that's one of the biggest problems with it.

Any additional comments?

Interesting premise and starts off pretty good but the whole 3rd act is basically a weak post appocalyptic movie.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • NK
  • 2014-08-17

Very Surprised! I loved it!

Bought this on a whim and figured it would be one of those books I never finish. Boy was I wrong! I found the writing to be very good, the storyline was excellent. I was sad when I finished the book as at that point I was so invested in the main character. I really think this book would make a fantastic movie.
Yes, it's a dark book, but it really makes you think too. The characters feel real.
It's worth the read, seriously, give it a go!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • samuraisam
  • 2019-04-23

I mean, I guess?

Story: meh, easy to see what's coming
Narration: could be better, could be worse

Overall thoughts: I would've enjoyed it more if I was a community college drop out who sits in their parent's basement smoking weed and eating weak psychedelic mushrooms all day. Since I'm not that, I enjoyed it best when it was over. I think this was mostly a hate listen.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Spartan2715
  • 2018-01-09

Who wants to live forever

The book is not what I expected. I don’t know why but I assumed it would be light hearted. It most certainly is not. But I actually liked it better that way. It was depressing at times but I think I’ll be thinking on this book for many years as this not a rehash story. It’s original in many ways. Even the way the plot progressed didn’t follow a cliche style. Get this book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mellow
  • 2017-09-15

Fun thought-provoking work.

Fun and thought-provoking don't often come in pairs, but this book definitely was both for me.
I plan to get a couple of friends read it so we can discuss all the "what would you do" scenarios. Recommend!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Peaceful Reader
  • 2015-08-14

Listening to a grown man's fantasies- dumb

I disliked this book. Though a sort of interesting predict initially. It dragged on and got bogged down.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful