Listen free for 30 days

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $42.88

Buy Now for $42.88

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

“Lynette Noni is a masterful storyteller. A must-read for any fantasy lover!” — SARAH J. MAAS, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author

Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years fighting for survival in the notorious death prison, Zalindov, working as the prison healer.

When the Rebel Queen is captured, Kiva is charged with keeping the terminally ill woman alive long enough for her to undergo the Trial by Ordeal: a series of elemental challenges against the torments of air, fire, water, and earth, assigned to only the most dangerous of criminals.

Then a coded message from Kiva’s family arrives, containing a single order: “Don’t let her die. We are coming.” Aware that the Trials will kill the sickly queen, Kiva risks her own life to volunteer in her place. If she succeeds, both she and the queen will be granted their freedom.

But no one has ever survived.

With an incurable plague sweeping Zalindov, a mysterious new inmate fighting for Kiva’s heart, and a prison rebellion brewing, Kiva can’t escape the terrible feeling that her trials have only just begun.

From bestselling author Lynette Noni comes a dark, thrilling YA fantasy perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, and Sabaa Tahir.

©2021 by Lynette Noni (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about The Prison Healer

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Tin Minute Book Reviews
  • 2021-05-12

Refreshingly New, Refreshingly Read

First of all, NONE of the classic YA troupes were used in this story, and that was EXTREMELY refreshing! Finally, something new! No love triangles, no damsels in distress, just fully fleshed out characters created by an author who was truly interested in telling an original story. Keva was a smart protagonist who avoided the ‘chosen one’ troupe while still being apt at what she did. Jaren was handsome and strong, but didn’t lean heavily on either of those things, showing up as a full person with an actual personality. Tip was more than an adorable sidekick, and showed his worth and resilience on multiple occasions. And Nari is the type of person you want to fight beside you, fight for you, and then propose, all in the same night. We all need a Nari. I can honestly say, not only will the ending of this book shock you, it will have you both happy AND angry that the sequel is projected to be out October 2021.

The narration was on point, with the narrator literally becoming ten people without skipping a beat. Never grating, and always modulating in ways that kept me knowing what character was ‘talking,’ Jeanette Illidge had me legitimately hoping that she would fall in love with herself.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Crystal
  • 2021-04-23

Wow just wow

What a great read! I’m sad it’s over can’t wait for the next! It’s a great story!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Karen Reeder
  • 2021-11-03

Excellent story!!

I loved this book! And the narration was very well done as well! Kept me continuously interested and trying to predict what would happen. There were plenty of surprises, but some satisfaction that I was at least a little bit right.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Brian
  • 2021-07-08

If I were a 13 year old or had the mind of one, I’d likely have enjoyed this more.

Written for and apparently by a 13 year old. Yes, the very end showed promise but that was a brief moment out of the many hours of gag-inducing, head-shaking storyline. Had to stop and come back many times. Cut out 80% of the preceding and develop the ending into the story and this could go somewhere interesting. Listened upon recommendation. The narrator was good technically.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sarah
  • 2021-06-28

A breath of fresh air!!!!

The prison healer is unique, entrancing and packed full of action and surprises. The way lynnette manages to get you to invest in characters that you didn’t know you were fully invested in until the end is truly a talent. I cannot give this book enough praise. 10/10 would recommend! September can’t come soon enough.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rebecca Bottorff
  • 2021-06-16

Whoa! Outstanding to the last page!

Phenomenal story telling and character development. Narration was spot on too. I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. Pulls you in and you can’t put it down.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Taylor
  • 2021-06-11

Fantastic

Loved the main character and her relationships. A very compelling world and the magic is very interesting. The narrator is really great too!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2021-04-15

Repetitious

Overall the storyline is good. It is just written with lots of unnecessary rabbit trails and way too much repetition of phrases. Also, the ending was way to quick to throw all the information at you. There was no real cliff hanger or final explanation about what was happening.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Kris
  • 2022-01-26

Predictable

The narrator was excellent. However, this book was insanely predictable. I knew exactly what was up from the time the male prisoner was introduced and how the “nice guard” shoved Kiva at him. And also who Kiva really was. Only thing I was a little like “huh?” About was how “the rebel queen” aka Kiva’s mother, didn’t garner any sympathy for her daughter. I guess it was predictable that she would volunteer on behalf of her mother but it was framed that “of course she would because she’s kind”. This book could have been SO MUCH BETTER if that fact was revealed to the readers before the end of the book. Meh.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Dayra
  • 2022-04-14

Now that’s how you write a book!!!

. I had seen this book many times at the bookstore and always found myself intrigued by the title and cover. I am absolutely kicking myself for not picking it up sooner. I went into this story completely blind. I was so excited once I started it because it kept me on my toes pretty much from the start. I kept wanting to go back to listen at any moment I could. It was so EXCELLENT. Found family? Elemental magic? Forbidden romance? Loved all the characters, my favorite was/is Tipp, I want him protected at all costs.

The plot twists at the end had me shaking. The ending left me so ??? (in a good way). 10/10