Get a free audiobook

The Room on Rue Amélie

Written by: Kristin Harmel
Narrated by: Madeleine Maby, Jacques Roy
Length: 10 hrs and 7 mins
4.4 out of 5 stars (54 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Martha Hall Kelly's Lilac Girls, this powerful novel of fate, resistance, and family - by the international best-selling author of The Sweetness of Forgetting and When We Meet Again - tells the tale of an American woman, a British RAF pilot, and a young Jewish teenager whose lives intersect in occupied Paris during the tumultuous days of World War II.

When newlywed Ruby Henderson Benoit arrives in Paris in 1939 with her French husband, Marcel, she imagines strolling arm in arm along the grand boulevards, awash in the golden afternoon light. But war is looming on the horizon, and as France falls to the Nazis, her marriage begins to splinter, too.

Charlotte Dacher is 11 when the Germans roll into the French capital, their sinister swastika flags snapping in the breeze. After the Jewish restrictions take effect and Jews are ordered to wear the yellow star, Charlotte can't imagine things getting much worse. But then the mass deportations begin, and her life is ripped forever apart.

Thomas Clarke joins the British Royal Air Force to protect his country, but when his beloved mother dies in a German bombing during the waning days of the Blitz, he wonders if he's really making a difference. Then he finds himself in Paris, in the shadow of the Eiffel Tower, and he discovers a new reason to keep fighting - and an unexpected road home.

When fate brings them together, Ruby, Charlotte, and Thomas must summon the courage to defy the Nazis - and to open their own broken hearts - as they fight to survive. Rich with historical drama and emotional depth, this is an unforgettable story that will stay with you long after the final minute.

©2018 Kristin Harmel (P)2018 Simon & Schuster

What listeners say about The Room on Rue Amélie

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Cat
  • 2019-01-24

Great book and outstanding performance by the narrator

This is a book I recommend full heartedly. Its greatness lies in its simplicity, however there is nothing simple about the story, the emotions it stirs up or the characters you fall in love with. It has a nice pace too and Madeleine did a superb job giving life to all the characters. I’d give it 6 stars if I could.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

best audio book I come across yet.

I loved it! the story of hope and how people come together when the world is at war.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

How in the world has this earned 4.4 stars???

It sounds like the author googled "how to write a WWII story" and "inspirational memes," copied and pasted for a few hours, then got Siri to read it all aloud. I think I could have finished the story after a few glasses of wine, but the narrator put the nail in the coffin: bizarre, random breaks mid-sentence and dreadful fake accents made this book impossible to finish.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Incredible!

Beautiful story. Kept me engaged right to the end. The narration was very well done.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing characters in a wartime love story with true heroes!

#Audible1 This audiobook tells a wonderful story about human resilience and heroism in difficult times. The characters are very believable, and you quickly become invested in their stories. Great book!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Emily
  • 2018-04-05

It was okay

Any additional comments?

The connection/similarity to Kristin Hanna's The Nightingale is weak - yes, there are common plot lines - WWII at the fore, an escape line out of Nazi occupied lands, and a love story - but I found the story and characters to be lacking development and not nearly as intruiging as the Nightingale. The story is okay and it has good entertainment value - but it really doesn't rival Hannah's book of the same genre.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Martha J. Smith
  • 2018-06-01

Written by Capt Obvious?

I made myself finish this book, but it was painful. The dialogue was so stilted and predictably obvious and banal, it had me screaming at my iPhone at times. Of the dozens and dozens of audible books I have purchased and read (some great and others not so much) this is the first one I’ve ever returned.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • elizabeth
  • 2018-12-09

I wanted to like it but...

I had great hopes for this book - I enjoy historical novels. This was just awful. The last few chapters were not too bad but the rest of it had no character development, the dialogue was weird and stilted, and there were very few descriptions of the physical surroundings or people. The dialogue didn't just ring false, it was embarrassingly bad. What made it even worse was the narrator - sounded like a high school student named Siri trying out for the school play. I kept waiting for it to get better, to justify the time I wasted listening to it. I returned it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Kelly S. Duncan
  • 2018-10-05

Good story, bad narration

The story ended up being really good but I almost stopped listening because of the narrator. The inflections in her voice we unnatural and reflected the wrong sentiment. I eventually got used to it but would have enjoyed the story much more if it weren’t for that. All-in-all, it was a good book. Not quite as gripping as some of the other WWII books I’ve read but I still enjoyed it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • LNash
  • 2018-04-02

The Room on Rue Ame’lie

I loved the book listened to it on Audible which makes book come to life. The book had many sad events, i know there had to be many good hearted Germany’s living during War World Il And this book tells that story. But i was somewhat disappointed with the ending. I hate when characters in books die. I will probably listen to the novel again. I always read my books many times. Very good read (listen)

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Haveenoughstuff
  • 2018-03-29

Terrible ending

Good story, but no NIGHTINGALE. VERY SIMILAR PLOT BUT ENDING WAS TOO SAD AND UNSATISFYING.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Marsha L. Woerner
  • 2020-09-15

Surprising twist at end

(As posted in GoodReads) I finished the book several days ago, but we had the book club meeting about it tonight, and I have been able to use it to solidify some of my thoughts. I generally liked the book, but the end was a total surprise. At the start, there are man and a woman are not the expected characters, and I suppose that it is a little unsettling – not necessarily in a bad way, but in a surprising way. Overall, as a Jewish American my historical introduction to World War II has been concentrated on the US and the Holocaust. This book gave a little more substance to my knowledge of the war and its effect on the rest of Western Europe and the rest of the world other than Germany and the US. We Americans are so concentrated on US and how things affect us (Americans)! Observing the war from France's viewpoint is, I think, an important addition to my overall view of World War II. The book itself, well, the dual romances were disconcerting, and I feared that it would end up being primarily a romance book. Fortunately, that fear was unfounded, but the reunion of Thomas and Ruby was more than a little unlikely… Overall, though, the book was worthwhile.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Mary P. Rutherfurd
  • 2020-07-11

Poor narration

I found the narrator irritating, story too predictable. Regretfully I do not recommend this audible book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 2020-05-02

Great WWII historical fiction

Great story, easy read, interesting characters, set mostly in Paris. Strong women characters (men, too). To those who know WWII history there won't be any surprises, but still very enjoyable. I love WWII fiction, but wish they had gotten a man to do the male voices, or that the reader had a bit more variety to her voice.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2020-04-01

powerful.

emotional and so real. ruby'$ story is gripping with love and strength and determination. beautiful.