Get a free audiobook

The Royal Treatment

Crown Jewels, Book 1
Written by: Melanie Summers
Length: 8 hrs and 56 mins
Categories: Romance, Romantic Comedy

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Bridget Jones and The Princess Diaries comes a laugh-out-loud, feel-good comedy with a sizzling side of romance....

Ultra-private, ridiculously handsome Crown Prince Arthur has always gotten by on his charm. But that won't be enough now that the Royal Family is about to be ousted from power once and for all. When Prince Arthur has to rely on the one woman in the kingdom who hates him most, he must learn that earning the love of a nation means first risking his heart.

Twenty-eight-year-old Tessa Sharpe, a.k.a. The Royal Watchdog, hates everything about Prince Arthur. As far as she's concerned, he's an arrogant, lazy leech on the kingdom of Avonia. When he shocks the nation by giving her the keys to the castle, Tessa has no choice but to accept and move in for two months. It's lust at first sight, but there's no way she can give in to her feelings - not if she wants to have a career or a shred of pride left when her time at the palace ends....

Can two natural enemies find their forever in each other's arms, or will they ruin each other to save themselves?

Contains mature themes.

©2017 Gretz Corp. (P)2018 Tantor

What members say

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Kellygrace76
  • 2018-07-02

Down with the.... Prince!

The plot was cute, funny and typical of what you would expect for this type of book. The one thing that completely ruined this for me was the narration. I'm not kidding; Shiromi did a great job as Tessa and I really liked her. The prince, on the other hand, sounded like a pompous old British guy who sat around narrating while smoking fags on his downtime. It really messed up the whole story for me. I think I would have liked it much better had a read it and not had to suffer through the mental picture his voice elicited. Skip the audible version and go for the pages; trust me on this one.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Elizabeth
  • 2018-04-17

Male Narrator was miserable

The male narrator’s female voice was irritating and absolutely miserable. He spoke in a weird falsetto voice. Female narrator was great and almost made up for it but at the end I had to return it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Lyndsay Holcomb
  • 2019-07-06

Bad male narrator but cute story

Cute story, but the male narrator is so bad, especially his version of the females. I don’t even know what to compare it to....

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2019-05-14

Did not complete

I couldn't get into this one. The narrators' voices did not really draw me into the story

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • amtmcm
  • 2019-11-20

I laughed with tears streaming from my eyes

One of the funniest books I’ve read. The storyline is basically a parody of the question of whether the English Monarchy has relevance in a modern world, except the country is “Avonia,” not England. Prince Arthur sets out to convince his toughest critic, Tessa Sharp, of all the wonderful contributions the monarchy makes. Of course they fall in love and there’s a HEA. Thoroughly enjoyable! The narrators are both very good at reading for their own genders, but the female doesn’t differentiate male voices much and the male lead uses a high pitched, school-girl voice when he reads the female parts. They both have excellent comedic timing. So the narration is overall good, but not great.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Christina The-Librarian
  • 2019-10-30

Liked it

Would have loved it accept the curse (f bomb) words that are distracting from the humor. The humor is laugh out loud worthy.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Eboni
  • 2019-10-08

Good fun story

I loved the story but the male narrator’s female voice is horrible! I wish the female narrator would have just done the whole book. Tom’s female voice was so screechy it took me out of the story every time.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Katherine Shumaker
  • 2019-05-17

Charming

It took me the first 10 or so chapters to really be charmed by this book, however, the Prince got to me and Tessa both. A cute love story with some added colorful words.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 2019-04-12

Very funny

This book is very funny. I couldn't stop listen and reading. Can't wait to start the next book in this series.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Krissy Jana
  • 2019-03-08

Great Story Hard to deal with male

The story is quite good, the female narrator is great. The man made me think of a Cartoon prince from an old cartoon from the sixties. It was painful to hear him narrate what should have been the best part of the book, the love scene. I almost went and bought the kindle version to read and continue the story. I would love to read on but it won’t be audio. I’ve NEVER felt this reaction to a narrator before.