Listen free for 30 days

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Royal Treatment cover art

The Royal Treatment

Written by: Melanie Summers
Narrated by: Shiromi Arserio,Tom Bromhead
Try for $0.00

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $35.08

Buy Now for $35.08

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Bridget Jones and The Princess Diaries comes a laugh-out-loud, feel-good comedy with a sizzling side of romance....

Ultra-private, ridiculously handsome Crown Prince Arthur has always gotten by on his charm. But that won't be enough now that the Royal Family is about to be ousted from power once and for all. When Prince Arthur has to rely on the one woman in the kingdom who hates him most, he must learn that earning the love of a nation means first risking his heart.

Twenty-eight-year-old Tessa Sharpe, a.k.a. The Royal Watchdog, hates everything about Prince Arthur. As far as she's concerned, he's an arrogant, lazy leech on the kingdom of Avonia. When he shocks the nation by giving her the keys to the castle, Tessa has no choice but to accept and move in for two months. It's lust at first sight, but there's no way she can give in to her feelings - not if she wants to have a career or a shred of pride left when her time at the palace ends....

Can two natural enemies find their forever in each other's arms, or will they ruin each other to save themselves?

Contains mature themes.

©2017 Gretz Corp. (P)2018 Tantor

What listeners say about The Royal Treatment

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Liked the book, didn’t love the narration

Liked the set up of the book, how it flips back and forth in perspective of the main characters.
Didn’t love how the male narration voiced the female characters. It came off as if he was mocking the female characters with his “female voice” which led me to see the male character in a non-flattering light. The female perspective felt soft and authentic, whereas the male narration had me questioning the motive of his characters.
Open to listening to the other books as I enjoyed the storyline.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kgww76
  • kgww76
  • 2018-07-02

Down with the.... Prince!

The plot was cute, funny and typical of what you would expect for this type of book. The one thing that completely ruined this for me was the narration. I'm not kidding; Shiromi did a great job as Tessa and I really liked her. The prince, on the other hand, sounded like a pompous old British guy who sat around narrating while smoking fags on his downtime. It really messed up the whole story for me. I think I would have liked it much better had a read it and not had to suffer through the mental picture his voice elicited. Skip the audible version and go for the pages; trust me on this one.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Elizabeth
  • Elizabeth
  • 2018-04-17

Male Narrator was miserable

The male narrator’s female voice was irritating and absolutely miserable. He spoke in a weird falsetto voice. Female narrator was great and almost made up for it but at the end I had to return it.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lyndsay Holcomb
  • Lyndsay Holcomb
  • 2019-07-06

Bad male narrator but cute story

Cute story, but the male narrator is so bad, especially his version of the females. I don’t even know what to compare it to....

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 2019-05-14

Did not complete

I couldn't get into this one. The narrators' voices did not really draw me into the story

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Audiobook lover
  • Audiobook lover
  • 2018-03-13

Foul language and smut

Full of drunk characters, sex, and the f-bomb, this book is terrible. I could not finish it. Maybe it got better, but I doubt it.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lisa Foster
  • Lisa Foster
  • 2021-08-08

Male voice is terrible

I cringed whenever the male reader spoke. It sounded like he was 90 years old and female. When he had to do a woman’s voice it was even worse. The saving grace was the female reader. If you can get past that it was a good story and funny.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rachel Peugh
  • Rachel Peugh
  • 2020-08-27

The male narrator is not right for the book

The story itself was very cute. I enjoy the sassy personality’s and comments the author uses as well. The female narrator was good, however the male narrator was terrible. His female voice was high and squeaky and I found him rather distracting from the story. He has a good reading voice I just think this was not the right book for him. I found his voice made the prince feel a lot older and didn’t mess with the princes personality, which it should when he’s reading from the princes view. I would have given the performances two stars but because of the female narrator I gave it 3.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nazli Isikli
  • Nazli Isikli
  • 2018-06-12

Fun Story

I only gave the performance a three star as the female narrator comes across extremely boring. This is supposed to be a fun book. She has a very monotonous voice and I wanted her parts to be over asap.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mary
  • Mary
  • 2023-01-24

Mocking a female voice

I struggled to finish this book. The male narrator sounded more like he was mocking a female voice during his female sections.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Patti johnson
  • Patti johnson
  • 2023-01-11

Funny take on Royal

Story was good. Male performance did not match the character. The voice came across as too old and the scenes between the Prince and Tessa when he was talking just did not work. He did not come across as romantic or sexy. Besides this I really enjoyed the book.