Get a free audiobook

The Royal Treatment

Crown Jewels, Book 1
Written by: Melanie Summers
Length: 8 hrs and 56 mins

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Bridget Jones and The Princess Diaries comes a laugh-out-loud, feel-good comedy with a sizzling side of romance....

Ultra-private, ridiculously handsome Crown Prince Arthur has always gotten by on his charm. But that won't be enough now that the Royal Family is about to be ousted from power once and for all. When Prince Arthur has to rely on the one woman in the kingdom who hates him most, he must learn that earning the love of a nation means first risking his heart.

Twenty-eight-year-old Tessa Sharpe, a.k.a. The Royal Watchdog, hates everything about Prince Arthur. As far as she's concerned, he's an arrogant, lazy leech on the kingdom of Avonia. When he shocks the nation by giving her the keys to the castle, Tessa has no choice but to accept and move in for two months. It's lust at first sight, but there's no way she can give in to her feelings - not if she wants to have a career or a shred of pride left when her time at the palace ends....

Can two natural enemies find their forever in each other's arms, or will they ruin each other to save themselves?

Contains mature themes.

©2017 Gretz Corp. (P)2018 Tantor

What listeners say about The Royal Treatment

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Kellygrace76
  • 2018-07-02

Down with the.... Prince!

The plot was cute, funny and typical of what you would expect for this type of book. The one thing that completely ruined this for me was the narration. I'm not kidding; Shiromi did a great job as Tessa and I really liked her. The prince, on the other hand, sounded like a pompous old British guy who sat around narrating while smoking fags on his downtime. It really messed up the whole story for me. I think I would have liked it much better had a read it and not had to suffer through the mental picture his voice elicited. Skip the audible version and go for the pages; trust me on this one.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Elizabeth
  • 2018-04-17

Male Narrator was miserable

The male narrator’s female voice was irritating and absolutely miserable. He spoke in a weird falsetto voice. Female narrator was great and almost made up for it but at the end I had to return it.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Lyndsay Holcomb
  • 2019-07-06

Bad male narrator but cute story

Cute story, but the male narrator is so bad, especially his version of the females. I don’t even know what to compare it to....

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2019-05-14

Did not complete

I couldn't get into this one. The narrators' voices did not really draw me into the story

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rachel Elizabeth Peugh
  • 2020-08-27

The male narrator is not right for the book

The story itself was very cute. I enjoy the sassy personality’s and comments the author uses as well. The female narrator was good, however the male narrator was terrible. His female voice was high and squeaky and I found him rather distracting from the story. He has a good reading voice I just think this was not the right book for him. I found his voice made the prince feel a lot older and didn’t mess with the princes personality, which it should when he’s reading from the princes view. I would have given the performances two stars but because of the female narrator I gave it 3.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • cpl_nz
  • 2020-08-23

Great story!!

The storyline is awesome. It's laugh out loud funny! I really enjoyed the female narrator.

My only thing is the narrator for the male POV was not quite what I imagined. He seemed a bit old for the story. He didn't quote hit the nail on the head.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • chelsey wiggins klasky
  • 2020-07-19

Absolutely wonderful!!!!

This book is hilariously sexy!!! A laugh out loud, giggling good time! The male reader is particularly fabulous when he does the voice of Tessa!!! Ready to start the next one!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Yolanda Ann Jones
  • 2020-06-30

Cute story narration is terrible!

The story is cute enough to re-record the narration. The female narration was fine just a little slow at times but the male narrator was not good at all. They would do much better to have someone that actually sounded like a prince not just someone white a British accent. His narration was much too fast and made everything the prince said come across like he was going for comedic take which Totally took away from the romantic chick lit nature of the story.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jennifer Owens
  • 2020-05-25

Wonderful story makes you forgive the male narrato

The story was awesome, with hilarious one-liners. At first I wasn't so sure about the male narrator voice but the story was so good that I could not stop listening. However his narration of the female characters all sounds like an elderly British lady, like Mrs. Doubtfire, which is a little distracting when it's supposed to be his love interest.
All in all, the writing was amazing and I love this book!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • JigsawGirl
  • 2020-04-25

This Was A DNF for me

Wow!. This ended up being a DNF for me. I may have been able to deal with it were there more story about Arthur and Tessa, and less about his father and her family.

I didn't care about the f bombs or any other coarse language. Teresa's family was awful and cruel. Arthur's father was crude and cruel. His conversation about Tessa was rude, and the way he spoke to Arthur was terrible.

I tried reading it. I tried the audio book (Audible Escapes). Both were just a no for me. I ended up not caring if Arthur and Tessa got together. (Of course they did). If the referendum passed. ( Probably not, but who cares?) Or if King Winston fell off the edge of the earth. (Too bad if he didn't.)

The narration was not the best. The male narrator read the female parts in a high pitched male voice. The female narrator read the male voice in a high pitched female voice. If each person had been allowed to read their own parts throughout the book, at least the narration would have been better.

I'm done.