Get a free audiobook

The Scholar

The Cormac Reilly Series, Book 2
Written by: Dervla McTiernan
Narrated by: Aoife McMahon
Series: The Cormac Reilly Series, Book 2
Length: 10 hrs and 19 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (65 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A compulsive new crime thriller set in the fiercely competitive, cutthroat world of research and academia, where the brightest minds will stop at nothing to succeed.

When Dr. Emma Sweeney stumbles across the victim of a hit-and-run outside Galway University early one morning, she calls her boyfriend, Detective Cormac Reilly, bringing him first to the scene of a murder that would otherwise never have been assigned to him. The dead girl is carrying an ID that will put this crime at the center of a scandal - her card identifies her as Carline Darcy, heir apparent to Darcy Therapeutics, Ireland's most successful pharmaceutical company. Darcy Therapeutics has a finger in every pie, from sponsoring university research facilities to funding political parties to philanthropy - it has even funded Emma's own groundbreaking research. 

As the murder investigation twists in unexpected ways and Cormac's running of the case comes under scrutiny from the department and his colleagues, he is forced to question himself and the beliefs that he has long held as truths. Who really is Emma? And who is Carline Darcy? 

A gripping and atmospheric follow-up to The Ruin, an "expertly plotted, complex web of secrets that refuse to stay hidden" (Karen Dionne, author of The Marsh King's Daughter), The Scholar is perfect for fans of Tana French and Flynn Berry.

©2019 Dervla McTiernan (P)2019 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Worth the listen.

Good book. I liked her other one better but still worth a listen. Narrator was excellent.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Suspense all the way through. Fabulous acting. Great voice & speech. Bravo 👏 can’t wait for the next episode. Have a great day! Thank you!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

lovely

it was lovely. was suspenseful and alow me to paint a nice picture of the scene.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Well Structured

Narrator was very good and easy to listen too.
interesting premise and likable characters through good development.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it just like the first one!

Great story from beginning to end. Excellent narrator - she does all the voices, even the male ones, really well. I can hardly wait for more books in this series!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Book

I enjoyed this book. I liked that I had an idea of what was going on but felt the same as the main character in that I knew I was missing something. It’s a great story with twists that surprise.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Mostly good

I really enjoyed The Scholar but had two problems with listening to it on Audible:
1. Although I found the story quite gripping, the very short chapters made it difficult for listening. I tend to listen in bed at night and much prefer to listen to one long chapter then try to guess how many short chapters I can listen to before I go to sleep.
2. In general, I loved listening to Aoife McMahon's reading - especially her lovely Irish voice - but found myself very distracted by her exaggerated lowered voice for Cormac. It quite jolted me out of the story. Instead of actually trying to sound like a man, I would have preferred that she have more subtle variations in the voices of the characters.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • EveryContinent
  • 2019-08-17

Good follow-up to what I hope is a long series

High marks on character development, atmosphere and inner workings of the Garda/Gardai. The narration is brilliant. Not too grisly. Writer sees the need to build around sensitive and PC topics, as do other writers in this genre (as noted by their reviewers) - government benefits, disabilities, etc. All in a gentle way, but not contributing much to the plot in my opinion.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • dg
  • 2019-11-16

Narration is the key

Male protagonist convincingly voiced by a female actor and I would add that all voices in this story male or female were well performed. There was no problem deciphering characters. Aoife can make each character real. Female narrators can force a deeper tenor and usually can’t get the resonance. Not in Aoife’s case. Having listened to over a thousand books I really enjoy a narration that pulls you into the story and gets you to feel the characters.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Jack B. Rochester
  • 2019-05-25

A Good Story, A Great Listen

Wishing to step just a bit outside my normal Audible book-listening – which, to some extent, mirrors my interest in reading what I call “airplane novels” or “brain candy” mysteries and thrillers by well-known authors, I downloaded The Scholar by Dervla McTiernan, an Irish lawyer and author. I suppose I was drawn to this Audible book because I’d just worked with Ana Clements, an exceptional voice actor-artist who undertook a County Cork Irish accent for a character in my new novel, Anarchy. Listening to Aoife McMahon, also a native of Clare, Ireland, narrate The Scholar, I was convinced Ana had done a stellar job with my Caitlin Dugan.

And so back to The Scholar, which I learned was the second novel in a series the author is writing about Cormac Reilly, a police detective, that began with The Ruin. I was an exceptionally good listen.

Cormac is one of the most human mystery-thriller novel characters I’ve encountered, either in print or audio. He isn’t macho, and has moments of self-doubt, recrimination, shoulda-dones. He also shows a sweet loving tenderness toward his girlfriend, Emma Sweeney, but in the course of the story has cause to doubt her. This creates a lot of dramatic tension in a plot which is already deep into a multi-pronged set of what seem to be unrelated events and mysteries. One hopes that Cormac will knit them together as he attempts to solve the primary event, the murder of a young woman.

There were times when I thought there were too many plots, and as most readers/listeners would do, I tried to put myself in Cormac’s head to solve and resolve them. He figures them out, to be sure, but with perhaps a bit too much ease. I could not; there really weren’t many evidentiary hooks, but there was certainly enough mystery to keep me wondering – as any good novel ought to do – what happens next?

The answer, in The Scholar, is a lot.

As mentioned earlier, Ms. McMahon does a five-star job of narrating. In a genre so overrun with male authors and macho characters, it was a delight to read a work by a woman with well-drawn, three-dimensional characters of both genders.

17 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon shopper.
  • 2019-11-28

Worth the time to listen. Good Not Great!

I enjoyed the story very much. It had a few interesting twists that kept my interest .The narration was very well done Overall a good story and well written. Not as good as the first book of this series, which is why I would consider this a good book but not a great book. I am looking forward to the third book in this series which should be on audible February 2020.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Audible Girlllll
  • 2019-09-20

Another winner by Dervla McTiernan, Aiofe McMahon

This is the third audiobook from the The Cormack Reilly Series and again, does not disappoint. Discovering a new narrator McMahon was an excellent find, along with author McTiernan. Cannot imagine one without the other. I was guessing all the way through this murder mystery and it held my attention. As it becomes a bit more clear, more surprises await. Important Note: Listen intently. I lost my way several times while multi-tasking and had to backtrack several times, my fault. Characterizations are absolutely brilliant, thanks to McMahon. Awaiting more from this brilliant duo! Very highly recommended.
👏👏👏👏👏

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • SandraS
  • 2019-11-27

Excellent story full of twists!

This book was excellent and left me wanting more! I was introduced to this author with one of the Audible Originals and now I’ve listened to all of the available books and hope that another is on its way! The book has twists and turns and is never too predictable - just when I thought I had it figured out a twist would be introduced that had me second guessing everything!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Vivien Tarkirk-Smith
  • 2019-06-15

Innovative and original Irish whodunnit

Dervla McTiernan is a new writer to me and both this book and The Ruin which I listened to recently are excellent. These are unusual stories, very well written and life is very irritating when it interrupts listening. If you have listened to all the others and are looking for a new author to follow I highly recommend this one, and hope she is a fast writer, as I am impatiently waiting for the next one. I must also add that the soft Irish accent of the excellent reader Aoife McMahon is charming and very pleasant to listen to.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mal
  • 2019-07-11

The Scholar

Very well written and thought out. Lots of side stories that come together. Fillled w/suspense and action. Narration was very good. Highly recomend!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Barbara
  • 2019-05-28

Thoroughly enjoyable

Very well written and plotted. Great story.
Excellent narration. The voice changes for each character were perfect.
Can't wait for the next Cormac Reilly installment!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jo
  • 2019-05-17

Great read...

Seldom is a second book as good as the first, but I think this one might be better. I particularly liked the nod to Adrian McKinty buried in the middle. Well done!

8 people found this helpful