Listen free for 30 days

  • The Secret Letter

  • Written by: Debbie Rix
  • Narrated by: Jacqueline King
  • Length: 12 hrs and 21 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (291 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Secret Letter cover art

The Secret Letter

Written by: Debbie Rix
Narrated by: Jacqueline King
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $25.96

Buy Now for $25.96

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Germany, 1939. A tumbledown farmhouse, on the outskirts of a close-knit village in the heart of the rolling hills of Bavaria. A once happy family home torn apart by Nazi rule. And one young girl who refuses to give up on what she believes in.... 

London, 2018: When 94-year-old Imogen receives a letter addressed to her in neat, unfamiliar handwriting, she notices the postmark is stamped from Germany - and it sends shivers down her spine.... 

Germany, 1939: Thirteen-year-old Magda is devastated by the loss of her best friend, shy and gentle Lotte, cruelly snatched from her and sent to a concentration camp – the Star of David sewn on her faded, brown coat. As the Nazi’s power takes hold, Magda realises she’s not like the other girls in her German village - she hates the fanatical new rules of the Hitler Youth. So Magda secretly joins The White Rose Movement and begins to rebel against the oppressive, frightening world around her.  

But when an English bomber pilot crashes in a field near Magda’s home she is faced with an impossible choice: to risk the safety of her family or to save a stranger and make a difference in the devastating war that has claimed the lives of so many. Little does she know, her actions will have the power to change the life of another girl, on the other side of enemy lines, forever.... 

Inspired by a true story, this is a heart-wrenching, gripping and absolutely unforgettable tale of the strength of human kindness in a time of unimaginable heartbreak. Fans of Orphan Train, The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Book Thief will be utterly gripped by this beautiful, sweeping, World War Two novel.

©2019 Debbie Rix (P)2019 Audible, Ltd

What listeners say about The Secret Letter

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    194
  • 4 Stars
    78
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    177
  • 4 Stars
    58
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    179
  • 4 Stars
    57
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • A.B
  • 2020-08-06

Engaging story, fantastic narration

I love historical fiction, so the synopsis piqued my interest when I came across this title. The author does a brilliant job of weaving a very believable story and except for one or two sappy parts, I completely enjoyed The Secret Letter. Kudos to the narrator who really brought the book to life with the various accents and voices to distinguish characters. I would highly recommend this book to anyone.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Learn a little from a tale

A tale is written from the stories and letters of a time gone by. I found it interesting to see how people lived and survived. Written from the perspective of the youth of a time of chaos and war. A light-hearted story not meant to bring the reader to tears.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Another Great WW2 story

A lovely narration, with the exception of Joy, of a believable and heart wrenching story which gives an excellent perspective of the war experience on young people. Their courage and resilience gives one hope. Well worth the read.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Interesting story and great performance

I enjoyed to listen narrator - she is great.
Story is interesting but tooks me a while to figure out connection between actors ( between two parallel story). I'm glad that I didn't gave up listening.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Romance novel with WW2 as a backdrop.

Enjoyable read about the lives of 2 women in different cities during WW2, & how their lives were connected in some ways.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fascinating story!

loved the pace and the story. to look at WW II mainly from the point of view of two young girls wAs quite an experience. It shows the courage and choices people have to make when crisis occur. The voices in the narrative were not the best at times. But the story line takes over and prevails.in general an excellent book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent story

Excellent story. The reader did an exceptional performance. Great audible book worth the money for sure.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Joe
  • 2023-12-04

Very engaging

I loved the story, however I am not a fan of the narrator for this particular novel. Especially for the voice of Joy, which I found especially grating.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well-told perspectives of humanity in war

I love the intimate touches of reality in this wartime story. This novel and it’s narration were touching and gave imagery beautifully.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

The story was engaging and an interesting bit of history. The narration was generally good but the voices of some of the secondary characters was awful and I almost quit listening. The voices of Joy, Giles, and Ben were the worst - so annoying and grating. Does anyone actually talk time that?

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!