Listen free for 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The State We’re In cover art

The State We’re In

Written by: Adele Parks
Narrated by: Ioanna Kimbook,Michael Fox
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $24.59

Buy Now for $24.59

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

What are the odds that the stranger sitting next to you on a plane is destined to change your life? Especially when they appear to be your opposite in every way....

The perfect story for fans of Ruth Jones, Jane Green and Sheila O'Flanagan, from the Sunday Times best-selling author of Just My Luck and Both of You....

Jo is a hopeless romantic. Worried she let her soulmate slip away, she's chasing her past all the way to Chicago to break up her ex-fiancé's wedding.

Dean is a resolute cynic. After a brief (but not brief enough) trip to London, he's returning to Chicago, where he moved to escape his dysfunctional past.

In the time it takes to fly from London to Chicago, each finds something in the other that they didn't even realise they needed.

But it's only when they get off the plane that their true journey begins....

©2013 Adele Parks (P)2022 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What the critics say

"I’m not going to lie! Adele Parks takes you straight into the heart of her characters. Her twists about human nature form the icing on the cake." (Jane Corry)

"As always with Adele Parks this is an absolutely gripping read." (Richard Osman)

"Gripping, moving and elegantly written." (Marian Keyes)

What listeners say about The State We’re In

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.