Listen free for 30 days

  • The Summer Holiday

  • Written by: S.E. Lynes
  • Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
  • Length: 10 hrs and 44 mins
  • 3.8 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Summer Holiday cover art

The Summer Holiday

Written by: S.E. Lynes
Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $31.27

Buy Now for $31.27

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

One loving couple. One surprise guest. One week to destroy everything....

This holiday is the first time my husband, Jeff, and I have been on our own in years, and I want it to be a fresh start. We can walk along the beach, eat ice cream in the bright Spanish sun, and fall in love again. 

Then I run into Coco, the girl we all wanted to be at university. She’s just like I remember: effortlessly cool with her blonde hair and her white linen dress. I can’t resist inviting her round to our clifftop villa with its pristine pool, to show off how much Jeff and I have changed. 

But when Coco steps from the dusty street into the cool tiled hall, her face freezes in horror. I turn to see Jeff, his eyes wide, his cheeks pale. 

They pretend nothing’s wrong, but I know they’re both lying. And when I catch them in whispered conversations, I’m determined to find out what they’re hiding.

But when I confront them, the truth is worse than I could have dreamed. 

And when things fall apart, not all of us will walk away....

From the best-selling author S.E. Lynes comes a brilliantly gripping thriller that will have you gasping out loud at the twists. Fans of Paula Hawkins, Lisa Jewell, and Gillian Flynn will love The Summer Holiday.

©2023 S.E. Lynes (P)2023 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Summer Holiday

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

S.E. Lynes is a Cut Above

I love everything Lynes has written. She is clever, observant, confident, smart, intimate and quietly funny (her jokes are nuanced - like when your best friend leans in at a cocktail party and whispers something hilariously on point in your ear).
She crafts complicated characters who are believable and elicit a reaction from the reader (often a mixed reaction).
I can be a book snob. So many suspense/thrillers are poorly written and full of superfluous detail & predictable two dimensional characters and gratuitous romance. It’s like they are trying too hard.
In contrast, Lynes’ writing appears effortless and her stories flow quickly but naturally. She takes you to the location of her novel (smells, tastes and feelings) and provides the reader with an intimate look at the characters and the setting. Very sensory.
The Summer Holiday took me a little longer than usual to embrace because the protagonist Kate was such a wreck - insecure, weak, unhappy, lonely, frantically seeking belonging and love. I wanted to shake her and tell her to smarten up and not to “order the flipping oysters if you don’t like them!”. By the end however, I wanted to hug her and carry her around on my shoulders in triumph. I have decided that Olivia Colman should play the main character Kate should this book be adapted for the screen.
Lynes quietly explores themes that will resonate with many. She creates strong, confident, smart, thoughtful women (some of whom, as in this novel, just don’t know they are strong and confident yet).

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exquisitely written

I was totally engrossed in these characters and the tortuous existence of poor Kate. Lynes has not disappointed with her latest!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!