Listen free for 30 days

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $40.01

Buy Now for $40.01

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Judy Blume’s Summer Sisters, The Summer List is a tender yet tantalizing novel about two friends, the summer night they fell apart, and the scavenger hunt that reunites them decades later - until the clues expose a breathtaking secret that just might shatter them once and for all.

Laura and Casey were once inseparable: as they floated on their backs in the sunlit lake, as they dreamed about the future under starry skies, and as they teamed up for the wild scavenger hunts in their small California lakeside town. Until one summer night, when a shocking betrayal sent Laura running through the pines, down the dock, and into a new life, leaving Casey and a first love in her wake.

But the past is impossible to escape, and now, after 17 years away, Laura is pulled home and into a reunion with Casey she can’t resist - one last scavenger hunt. With a twist: this time, the list of clues leads to the settings of their most cherished summer memories. From glistening Jade Cove to the vintage skating rink, each step they take becomes a bittersweet reminder of the friendship they once shared. But just as the game brings Laura and Casey back together, the clues unravel a stunning secret that threatens to tear them apart....

Mesmerizing and unforgettable, Amy Mason Doan’s The Summer List is about losing and recapturing the person who understands you best - and the unbreakable bonds of girlhood.

©2018 Amy Mason Doan (P)2018 Harlequin Enterprises, Limited

What listeners say about The Summer List

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • KatrinaD
  • 2018-07-21

A deeply touching story of two girls coming of age

Although the elements of the story are starkly dramatic (cults, runaways, underage sex, drugs, secrets), the narrative runs smoothly and lightly without vulgar voyeurism. Two girls in different families become friends at the beginning of the summer before high school. They become inseparable, unaware of the circumstances that link them. Laura’s parents are older and conservative, well respected. Casey is the new girl with an eccentric, flamboyant mother. Alex flouts her unconventional and irresponsible behavior.
The relationship between Laura and Casey is delightfully written. The secrets, lies and misunderstandings leading to the rupture and reunion of Laura and Casey are slowly revealed. The story and the narrative kept me riveted until the end.

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Nikki M
  • 2019-10-12

One of the best

This is truly one of the best books I have ever read. The performance was amazing but the characters, the story, everything, was truly breathtaking. I finished this book in under 24 hours. I just stopped everything that I was doing, sat down and let this book wash over me. My favorite book of all time has been Judy Bloom's Summer Sisters, but this book may take that spot. I just fell in love.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Jrs
  • 2019-06-30

Just OK

The ending had a sweet turn. I appreciated the ending & the smile it brought. I listened while taking a two-week road trip, full of stops and starts. Therefore, I had to stop and start the book, making it somewhat difficult to follow or feel attached to. My only complaint about one of the narrators was her “male voice.” It was too unnatural and distracting. I will read another from this author...it was simply not one of my favorite stories.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • L Mike
  • 2019-06-02

Really Great Book

I loved this book. I'm usually a mystery kind of gal but for some reason this book caught my eye. I am glad it did! It is an unlikely story about families, friendships with a hint of mystery. I will look for other books by this author.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Gilmore Girls FOREVER!
  • 2019-05-23

Love, love, loved this story and production

It’s the best story I’ve read (listened to) in a very long time. It’s a story about friendship, love and forgiveness with a bit of mystery involved. Sure it is a bit tidy, but it’s still a fantastic story to appreciate. I will eagerly await the Amy Mason Doan’s next book which is being released on 6/4/19.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2020-07-02

The Summer List

Struggling to continue listening to it.
Narrator is fine. The book just hasn't really got me interested.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Margaret
  • 2020-04-25

WONDERFUL!!!!!!

Hands down the best book I’ve listened to all year!!!! Friendship, mother/daughter relationships, first love, suspense...this book has it all. Love, love, loved it!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-08-02

Wonderful summer listen!

Such a wonderful story that slowly unfolds its layers. A definite recommend. Both narrators were very talented and drew you into the story.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • jillian
  • 2019-04-26

Sweet, enduring story of friendship

Love it!
Narrator and was excellent
This book will stay with me forever !!
Ending was perfect

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Shauna
  • 2020-07-07

Yaaawwwnnnn

I SO wanted to like this book - I wanted to love it. The reviews are fantastic. I was so bored, I found my mind was wondering. Far too much jabbering without getting to the point. I just wanted the story to begin, but as much as I listened to, I don't feel like it ever began. Toooooo much for me to finish. Perhaps if I gave it more time? I kept trying to. Just couldn't get this book finished . I'm sure it had a wonderuful story. But it would never get to the STORY. Just get to the point!! Sorry guys! Tha narrator was great, though.

2 people found this helpful