Get a free audiobook

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The ultimate book-lover's fantasy, featuring a young scholar with the power to bring literary characters into the world, for fans of The Magicians, Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore, and The Invisible Library.

For his entire life, Charley Sutherland has concealed a magical ability he can't quite control: He can bring characters from books into the real world. His older brother, Rob - a young lawyer with a normal house, a normal fiancee, and an utterly normal life - hopes that this strange family secret will disappear with disuse, and he will be discharged from his life's duty of protecting Charley and the real world from each other. But then, literary characters start causing trouble in their city, making threats about destroying the world...and for once, it isn't Charley's doing.

There's someone else who shares his powers. It's up to Charley and a reluctant Rob to stop them, before these characters tear apart the fabric of reality.

©2019 H. G. Parry (P)2019 Hachette Audio

More from the same

What listeners say about The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Barbara Marshall
  • 2019-12-09

Best listen in a while

This book was so good. I think I’m going to have to read some Dickens books.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • christopher stewart
  • 2019-08-25

Fun Book, Great Reader

This book is a lot of fun; great summer reading. The reader does an excellent jobs with all the voices and accents. Very entertaining.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2020-11-18

Exciting, Heartwarming, and Fun

The idea behind this book was so amazing, just an absolutely wonderful story on its own. I constantly felt like we were nearing the climax even when I was less than halfway through it. I had to keep listening, I just couldn’t help it! I even sped it up to 1.4x just because I was so excited to see what was going to happen. Several fun twists and turns, mind blowing reveals, and a truly heartwarming story of two brothers made it impossible to stop this audiobook. I had so much fun in this world. And I have to mention the writing, the imagery, every word selected perfectly to fit the situation. Wonderful. The narration was excellent too. Changes in pitch, cadence, and accent were distinct enough to immediately know who was speaking in the moment.