Listen free for 30 days

  • The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep

  • A Novel
  • Written by: H. G. Parry
  • Narrated by: Calum Gittins
  • Length: 18 hrs and 3 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (10 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep cover art

The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep

Written by: H. G. Parry
Narrated by: Calum Gittins
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $37.62

Buy Now for $37.62

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The ultimate book-lover's fantasy, featuring a young scholar with the power to bring literary characters into the world, for fans of The Magicians, Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore, and The Invisible Library.

For his entire life, Charley Sutherland has concealed a magical ability he can't quite control: He can bring characters from books into the real world. His older brother, Rob - a young lawyer with a normal house, a normal fiancee, and an utterly normal life - hopes that this strange family secret will disappear with disuse, and he will be discharged from his life's duty of protecting Charley and the real world from each other. But then, literary characters start causing trouble in their city, making threats about destroying the world...and for once, it isn't Charley's doing.

There's someone else who shares his powers. It's up to Charley and a reluctant Rob to stop them, before these characters tear apart the fabric of reality.

©2019 H. G. Parry (P)2019 Hachette Audio

What listeners say about The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

On my top ten. I'm picky!

I have a Degree in English and teach the subject in highschool. I didn't need any of that crap to love this book. It takes classic literature where I've never read it before. Any listener will follow along (maybe miss some really good jokes) without knowing the literature it references.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A literary rabbit hole

This was amazing. I got so caught up in this story I burnt supper twice. The story was a literary rabbit hole that I fell into and couldn’t steal enough moments to listen . I really enjoyed.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!