Get a free audiobook

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Zoe fainted on her wedding day, and she never knew why. She’s always felt sure something bad happened. Ten years later, she’s going to find out what....

It was supposed to be the happiest day of her life. Zoe was sitting in her hotel room, in her perfect white dress, looking forward to the moment when she would make kind, handsome Toby her husband. 

Then, there was a blank. 

They said she must have fainted, overcome with emotion. But nothing felt quite right afterward. Did something happen in that missing time? 

Now, Toby and Zoe have two beautiful children and a perfect life. They’re planning their 10-year anniversary party for their family and friends. The invitations have been sent, the food ordered. They’re going back to the grand hotel where they got married. 

But as the anniversary gets closer, it becomes clear not everyone is looking forward to celebrating. She catches Toby lying about where he’s been. One of her best friends seems to be ignoring her. And someone is spreading stories that might stop the party from happening at all. 

Zoe is increasingly sure that she doesn’t have the full story. But does she want to know the truth if it will destroy everything? 

From the million-copy best-selling author, this totally gripping psychological thriller will have you hooked to the last jaw-dropping twist. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl, and The Wife Between Us. 

©2020 Shalini Boland (P)2020 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Wife

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • littlesimone
  • 2020-09-10

A Quiet Yet Intriguing Read

This is the first book that I have ever read from this author and I have to say that I rather enjoyed it. It was quiet in nature yet steady in pace with an interesting plot. Although the protagonist was a bit more naïve than is believable, I found myself very much in her head, as it were, and sympathizing with her thought process. I don't know why but I kept picturing Emily Blunt portraying the protagonist. Not that I regularly envision books as movies but I could see this one made into a screenplay. It held my attention and I listened to straight through which is rare for me. Well done!

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rhonda M. Johnson
  • 2020-10-30

Great book

great book, surprising ending keeps you guessing and intrigued. Enjoy........good bookclub read...what would you do

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • N. Shaw
  • 2020-10-25

Lies, deceit, betrayal REPEAT!

Rating: 4 🍷 🍷 🍷 🍷 !!!!!!! Book: The Wife Available NOW -Release Date: September 9, 2020 Author: Shalini Boland Genre: Thrillers, Mystery, Suspense   The Wife is a book packed with secrets, betrayal, and mystery. I felt for the main character Zoe. The story follows her as she is planning her 10-year wedding anniversary. Only thing is, ten years prior, on her wedding day, something happens, and she cannot remember. As the day gets closer, she realizes something bad happened and the people she love may hold the key. There are hardly any redeemable characters in this book besides Zoe and maybe one other. With the betrayal, lies, and coverups, I just wanted Zoe to lash out at everyone. Boland gives you just a peek chapter after chapter to keep you reading to see what actually happened on that fated wedding day. There were small twists and reveals that tied up the story in a nice little package. I can say that at the very end, one character made me want to shake the life out of her which I think was probably the desired feeling from Boland. I am interested in checking out more of her stuff as I liked her writing style.  

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • lisa
  • 2020-10-05

kept me entertained

Kept me entertained but was not on the edge of my seat. I did enjoy the characters and the story flowed well. To me the aha moment was not large or intriguing but it was written well.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Kali Goddard
  • 2020-11-25

Way too far fetched, even for me.

Couldn't connect with the plot or the characters, because of how unrealistic the whole story was.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • barbara
  • 2020-11-21

The Wife

I have read so many book by thi author, have loved them all, the suspense is nerve-wracking! Her characters are amazing and the stories fantastic. Looking forward to my next Audiobook of hers. The Narration is excellent.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Eden2016
  • 2020-11-21

This is not a psychological thriller

This is a book about a whinny lady who broods and worries about absolutely everything! So much repetition! So boring! I'm returning this book

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Kimber Rosee
  • 2020-11-14

Predictable story it and frustrating

I really wanted to like this story because I thought the narrator did a pretty decent job but there were so many moments where the main character was dreadfully annoying and let almost everyone in the story walk all over her. Instead of addressing people when they had done something wrong she just takes it time and time again, she rarely speaks up for herself ever and I get that there are people like that in the real world but have a spine woman. 3/4 of the way through the book there was no suspense and no mystery, it just felt like I was reading a diary of a middle school child being pushed around by everyone and you think she'll start standing up for herself eventually for character development but she doesn't.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Daisy
  • 2020-10-30

amazing

Totally has twitch and turns. Once I thought yep I knew where it was going another twist. loved it.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Birderliz
  • 2020-10-15

Good

This was a good one, I had to go back a couple times because I zoned out but it has unexpected twists & is entertaining