Listen free for 30 days

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $25.00

Buy Now for $25.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Zoe fainted on her wedding day, and she never knew why. She’s always felt sure something bad happened. Ten years later, she’s going to find out what....

It was supposed to be the happiest day of her life. Zoe was sitting in her hotel room, in her perfect white dress, looking forward to the moment when she would make kind, handsome Toby her husband. 

Then, there was a blank. 

They said she must have fainted, overcome with emotion. But nothing felt quite right afterward. Did something happen in that missing time? 

Now, Toby and Zoe have two beautiful children and a perfect life. They’re planning their 10-year anniversary party for their family and friends. The invitations have been sent, the food ordered. They’re going back to the grand hotel where they got married. 

But as the anniversary gets closer, it becomes clear not everyone is looking forward to celebrating. She catches Toby lying about where he’s been. One of her best friends seems to be ignoring her. And someone is spreading stories that might stop the party from happening at all. 

Zoe is increasingly sure that she doesn’t have the full story. But does she want to know the truth if it will destroy everything? 

From the million-copy best-selling author, this totally gripping psychological thriller will have you hooked to the last jaw-dropping twist. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl, and The Wife Between Us. 

©2020 Shalini Boland (P)2020 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Wife

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Kim
  • 2022-04-01

Average listen

This book was good. Not too deep or gripping, but an easy listen. Kept me guessing a bit, which I enjoy.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Choose this book!

This was a great listen! Kept you wondering from start to finish, with an unexpected epilogue that was the perfect ending.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved It

Awesome suspense
I Love the twists in this book. first listen from this author and I'm hooked.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sam
  • 2021-06-22

GRIPPING!

This is my first novel by this author and I absolutely loved it. I pretty much only read and listen to domestic thrillers and this one really had me guessing the whole way through with excellent twists and compelling characters. The narrator was incredible! I hope to find more books read by her so I can give them a listen, she makes it feel like a movie and gives each character LIFE. Overall wonderful and worth the credit!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Too much filler, not enough story

This story struck me as a short story dragged out to fulfil the required novel word quota. Characters redundantly describing in minutiae their every bland thought and observation from chapter to chapter. Not her best work.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • littlesimone
  • 2020-09-10

A Quiet Yet Intriguing Read

This is the first book that I have ever read from this author and I have to say that I rather enjoyed it. It was quiet in nature yet steady in pace with an interesting plot. Although the protagonist was a bit more naïve than is believable, I found myself very much in her head, as it were, and sympathizing with her thought process. I don't know why but I kept picturing Emily Blunt portraying the protagonist. Not that I regularly envision books as movies but I could see this one made into a screenplay. It held my attention and I listened to straight through which is rare for me. Well done!

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Carol Mitchell
  • 2021-05-23

pure drivel

The narrator was OK, but I hope she was well paid to read such an uninspired "story". Tired old theme of "best friend/sibling betrayal" and the main character such a self-doubting lump that it was just frustrating to listen to. I actually got through to chapter 15, and then gave up and jumped ahead to find out what happened. Never will pick up another book by this author.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Ida
  • 2021-03-12

Huh?

Excellent narration. The back story from 10 yrs ago was helpful in understanding this story. Switching between the past and present resulted in the story staying interesting throughout. One reviewer referred to the main character, Zoe as naive, etc. In my opinion, she was not. She was a strong woman and and attentive mother. Zoe was a hard worker who investigated and responded to issues as much as she could. She was not aware of the extent of the duplicity surrounding her. The listeners cruise along until the last 5 or so chapters. Be careful not to get whiplash with how quickly things change and start moving forward. My mouth dropped open as we were heading towards the conclusion. All I can say is “wow, didn’t see that coming”.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Kali Goddard
  • 2020-11-25

Way too far fetched, even for me.

Couldn't connect with the plot or the characters, because of how unrealistic the whole story was.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • N. Shaw
  • 2020-10-25

Lies, deceit, betrayal REPEAT!

Rating: 4 🍷 🍷 🍷 🍷 !!!!!!!
Book: The Wife
Available NOW -Release Date: September 9, 2020
Author: Shalini Boland
Genre: Thrillers, Mystery, Suspense
 
The Wife is a book packed with secrets, betrayal, and mystery. I felt for the main character Zoe. The story follows her as she is planning her 10-year wedding anniversary. Only thing is, ten years prior, on her wedding day, something happens, and she cannot remember. As the day gets closer, she realizes something bad happened and the people she love may hold the key.
There are hardly any redeemable characters in this book besides Zoe and maybe one other. With the betrayal, lies, and coverups, I just wanted Zoe to lash out at everyone. Boland gives you just a peek chapter after chapter to keep you reading to see what actually happened on that fated wedding day. There were small twists and reveals that tied up the story in a nice little package. I can say that at the very end, one character made me want to shake the life out of her which I think was probably the desired feeling from Boland. I am interested in checking out more of her stuff as I liked her writing style.  

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rhonda M. Johnson
  • 2020-10-30

Great book

great book, surprising ending keeps you guessing and intrigued. Enjoy........good bookclub read...what would you do

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • lisa
  • 2020-10-05

kept me entertained

Kept me entertained but was not on the edge of my seat. I did enjoy the characters and the story flowed well. To me the aha moment was not large or intriguing but it was written well.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • JM
  • 2021-12-14

Love all of Shalini's books

I've loved every Shalini Boland book that I've read. This is the first audio book of hers that I've listened to, and it was so good. I was sucked into the story from the very beginning and had a hard time putting this one down. I had a family event I had committed to and was having a hard time tearing myself away from this audiobook before I had to leave. I kept saying, "five more minutes." Shalini has a way of making you care for the characters and she keeps you guessing throughout the entire story. This one is one of her best. The narration is also really good. I highly recommend.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • KEK
  • 2021-10-28

Boring

What a very dull, unimaginative plot involving characters I could not care about in the slightest. I have no idea why I continued to listen to the poor narrator plod along except I just kept thinking this thing has to improve. it never ever did. Do not bother. It really is that bad.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rhonda Madison
  • 2020-12-29

Nothing is as it seems

This is a very intriguing suspenseful story. Lost memories are dangerous when they start to return for Zoe. I couldn't stop listening. The epilogue was very chilling. Kate Villa does a great narration. I'm looking forward to more books by Shalini Boland.

1 person found this helpful