Get a free audiobook

The Winemaker's Wife

Written by: Kristin Harmel
Length: 11 hrs and 32 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (176 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

From the author of the “engrossing” (People) and “poignant” (Booklist) international best seller The Room on Rue Amélie comes a remarkable and moving story of love, danger, and betrayal: two women in France in the darkest days of World War II and another in present-day America on a quest to uncover the secret that connects them.

At the dawn of the Second World War, Inès is the young wife of Michel, owner of the House of Chauveau, a small champagne winery nestled among rolling vineyards near Reims, France. Marrying into a storied champagne empire was supposed to be a dream come true, but Inès feels increasingly isolated, purposely left out of the business by her husband; his chef de cave, Theo; and Theo’s wife, Sarah.

But these disappointments pale in comparison to the increasing danger from German forces pouring across the border. At first, it’s merely the Nazi weinführer coming to demand the choicest champagne for Hitler’s cronies, but soon, there are rumors of Jewish townspeople being rounded up and sent east to an unspeakable fate. The war is on their doorstep, and no one in Inès’s life is safe - least of all Sarah, whose father is Jewish, or Michel, who has recklessly begun hiding munitions for the Résistance in the champagne caves. Inès realizes she has to do something to help.

Sarah feels as lost as Inès does, but she doesn’t have much else in common with Michel’s young wife. Inès seems to have it made, not least of all because as a Catholic, she’s “safe.” Sarah, on the other hand, is terrified about the fate of her parents - and about her own future as the Germans begin to rid the Champagne region of Jews. When Sarah makes a dangerous decision to follow her heart in a desperate bid to find some meaning in the ruin, it endangers the lives of all those she cares about - and the champagne house they’ve all worked so hard to save.

In the present, Liv Kent has just lost her job - and her marriage. Her wealthy but aloof Grandma Edith, sensing that Liv needs a change of scenery before she hits rock bottom, insists that Liv accompany her on a trip to France. But the older woman has an ulterior motive - and some difficult but important information to share with her granddaughter. As Liv begins to uncover long-buried family secrets, she finds herself slowly coming back to life. When past and present intertwine at last, she may finally find a way forward, along a difficult road that leads straight to the winding caves beneath the House of Chauveau.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Kate Quinn’s The Alice Network, The Winemaker’s Wife is an evocative and gorgeously wrought novel that examines how the choices we make in our darkest hours can profoundly change our lives - and how hope can come from the places we least expect.

©2019 Kristin Harmel (P)2019 Simon & Schuster Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    101
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    77
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    5

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    107
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Terrible Audio

I’m an avid user of Audible. Thus far I’ve been pleasantly surprised at the voice work on the books I’ve selected. The Winemakers Wife, however, has the worst performance I’ve heard yet.
The woman in the role of Inés sounds like she is reading a children’s book. Her voice is so jarring that it distracts from the story. Very disappointing.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Predictable

Not a bad book, but I found it to be very predictable and cliche at times.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

terrific story

Well drawn characters and an engaging story. The narration was fabulous. Fans if The Nightingale will love it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Winemakers Wife

I enjoyed the story. The reading was a bit flat but the story itself made up for it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lived through this Story

At the end I weeped, the circle was complete.
A could see history being made.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

AMAZING

This book was amazing, it kept me captive. I listened to this audible in under two days. Love it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brilliant book

I would love to see this book as a movie. Couldn't stop listening to it. Great stuff...……..

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A story of WWII through naive eyes

Thank you for a captivating story. Seen through the coming of age through to acknowledging the impact of a life untold.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story

The story was well written but the delivery made it difficult to warm to the characters. One sounded like she was reporting the news and another was overly breathy and seemed to forget whether she was male or female. I don't know who the third reader spoke for as I couldn't hear a difference. I would rather have read it with my own voices.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Reader distracted me from the story

I did not like the readers changing their voices to fake voices or using accents for the French speakers. It was too distracting and didn’t allow for my own brain to imagine the scenes. I didn’t continue listening to the end

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Diane
  • 2019-08-20

The narration was like nails on a chalkboard!

The story was great but the narration was so awful, I kept having to put it down for a bit. One of the main characters sounds and behaves like a surly teenager - I was shocked when it turned out that she was supposed to be 41.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Nancy
  • 2019-09-03

Mixed Feelings

The story line was good, but would have been so much better with a stronger female lead. Why do writers insist on making women stupid? I know no one who would have reacted as this dumb girl did. It is just not believable. I finished the book hoping to find out more about the main character, but just not much. Very disappointed.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Renee Strickland
  • 2020-03-03

Poor reading of unlikeable characters

The bizarre half-French and whiny American accents were jarring. If you have to endure this book, read it for yourself instead.

But I do not recommend the book. The plot is transparent, the characters are uniformly unlikeable, and the decision to switch between current day and WW2 every other chapter was forced. I drank a coupe of champagne at the end just to toast that I would never spend another moment on this book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Sarah Centrella
  • 2019-11-25

Disappointing and predictable

I was disappointed by this book, the timelines were inconsistent in places and the story was too predictable and cliche. But what was most annoying was the narrators, the one who read the Celine character was unbearable, and the Olivia narrator wasn’t any better.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Browyn Brough
  • 2019-09-06

Unexspected surprise

Im new to this author and enjoyed this end of summer treat. The book was filed with war love sacrifice and tragedy, ill not ruin the story for You but the last chapters pierced my heart and a few tears of joy and sorrow fell

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • paula wright
  • 2019-09-06

This story proves blood is not always thicker than water

What a great story. It tells of the cruelty of the nazis and how they devastated captured territory. It tells of foolish immature young adults and decisions they make can have far reaching consequences. Also the goodness of many people during the war and self sacrifice and courage two interwoven stories. Generations apart of love hate revenge redemption. A credit well worth it

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • grace m hough
  • 2019-09-05

fabulous

great characters. just when you think you know what's going on it takes a spin. kept me coming back to find out what happens next. Nice wrapped up ending but leaves some play for a 2nd book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • readalot
  • 2019-08-27

More of a romance novel than historical fiction

If I were Kristin Hannah (The Nightingale) or Kate Quinn (The Alice Network), I'd be insulted that this book stands on the success of those fantastic novels and tries to put itself in the same category. This is nothing but a romance novel, and a weak one at that. I could only listen to half of it - 5 ½ hours of my life I can't get back. The narrating was so annoying - all 3 narrators were subpar - but perhaps its because the writing was so juvenile.

Seriously, the cover should have a shirtless man on the cover with a great chest like other cheesy romance novels do.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • jeanne p smith
  • 2020-05-23

Wine, France and war

This was a wonderful story with great narration, intriguing characters and stories of winemaking... I thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Diane Sullivan
  • 2020-05-13

I loved it. I will definitely recommend to all

I loved it. will recommend it to all my friends that have the audible app.