Get a free audiobook

The Workhouse Waif

Written by: Lynette Rees
Narrated by: Lowri Walton
Length: 8 hrs and 29 mins

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Will this little orphan girl find her happy ending?

After the death of her father in a mining accident, Megan and her family had no choice but to move to the local workhouse. Separated from her mother and five siblings, young Megan must learn how to stand on her own two feet.

But it's on one of the days she's sent out on errands that her fate changes. She meets a young boy who's stealing apples from the local market, as well as a friendly well-to-do lady with the most melodious voice she's ever heard. With her newfound friends, can she find a new life for herself?

A heartwarming saga, perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Katie Flynn and Nadine Dorries.

Please note: this edition contains editorial revisions.

©2018 Lynette Rees (P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

What members say

No reviews are available