Get a free audiobook

The Worldship Humility

Written by: R. R. Haywood
Narrated by: Colin Morgan
Length: 13 hrs and 58 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (31 ratings)
Price: CDN$ 34.16
CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

About the audiobook:

The Worldship Humility is the start of The Code trilogy, written exclusively for audio by sci-fi author R. R. Haywood. Narrator Colin Morgan brings the colourful characters and treacherous escapades of The Worldship Humility to life, a gripping space adventure which will appeal to fans of Ready Player One, Bladerunner and Haywood’s previous best-selling works, Extracted and The Undead

Summary:

It’s been 120 years since the 50 or so worldships containing the few million survivors set off after planet Earth was destroyed by a meteor. 

On the Worldship Humility, Sam, an Airlock Operative, is bored. Living in space should be full of adventure, except it isn’t, and he fills his time hacking 3-D movie posters. 

Petty thief Yasmine Dufont is also from the WS Humility, but she is not bored. Growing up in the Elfors, the lawless lower levels of the ship, has seen her surrounded by violence and squalor since birth, and now she wants out. She wants to escape to the luxury of the Ab-Spa on top of WS Abstinence, where they eat real food instead of rats and synth cubes. 

Meanwhile, the sleek-hulled, unmanned Gagarin has come back from punching out ahead of the fleet in the ever-continuing search for a new home. Nearly all hope is lost that a new planet will ever be found, until the Gagarin returns with a code of information that suggests a habitable planet has been found. This news should be shared with the whole fleet, but a few rogue captains want to keep the information to themselves and colonise the new planet. 

When Yasmine inadvertently steals the code, she and Sam become caught up in a dangerous game of murder, corruption, political wrangling and...porridge, with sex-addicted Detective Zhang Woo hot on their heels, his own life at risk if he fails to get the code back. 

About the author:

R. R. Haywood is the author of Amazon UK’s number one horror series The Undead, which propelled him into the top 20 best-selling Amazon authors in the UK. Haywood is a Washington Post best-selling author and both the Undead series and the Extracted trilogy are Audible best sellers. 

About the narrator:

Colin's television credits include Humans, The Living and the Dead, The Fall and Merlin. His film credits include Benjamin, The Happy Prince, Legend and Testament of Youth. Theatre credits include Translations (The National Theatre); Gloria (Hampstead Theatre); Mojo (Harold Pinter Theatre); The Tempest (Shakespeare's Globe); Our Private Life (Royal Court); A Prayer for My Daughter and All About My Mother (The Old Vic). 

©2019 R. R. Haywood (P)2019 Audible, Ltd

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Favorite fiction audiobook so far!

Great voices and narration. Finished it in a few days (rather than the weeks I usually take). Looking forward to the next few books in the series!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

got to rate this one

seemed a little slow on the start but dug in and great ti the end.... I hope there is a continuation.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Hard to put down

What a trip! Funny, sad and everything in between. Yasmine hooks you in with her vulgar crass will to survive in the worst conditions. Pretty Sam makes you fall for him with his sweet geekiness. Worth a listen.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best book I've listened to in ages.

your honestly a fool not to buy this book. go back to the L4s and enjoy the juice.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic book with an extremely talented narrator

Loved this! This was my first audio book and knowing Colin Morgan is a great actor, he was the reason I subscribed to Audible. I couldn't stop listening. It was funny, sexy, exciting and the characters were so interesting. The storyline was addicting and Colin Morgan is so talented, doing all those different voices and accents. I can't wait for the next book!

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2019-02-01

Stupendous narration

Colin Morgan narrating as brilliant as ever! He narrated so many different characters with accents and tones. He voiced one character Moses so brilliantly that I thought it was another actor Phil Davis but it's all Colin.
The story itself is amazing. R. R. Haywood has done a fantastic job with the words, the plot and the characters. Everything about the book is intriguing.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • C. Hartmann
  • 2019-02-03

My 1st "6 Star" Rating in Two Years--fun, smart

Some books are great because they introduce a new sub-genre. This book is about world ships leaving the Earth on a long, long voyage after a cataclysm--so it is not new ground. Some books are great because they touch us with their connection to the plot and characters that stirs deep feelings and thoughts. This is a good, fun plot and has engaging characters, but it will not move your interior world. And then there are the books which hit just the right combination of humor, dialogue, story and performance -- they just feel great. This is a longer book (14 hours) which manages to feel great even though it treads somewhat familiar ground. First, if you enjoy classic science-fiction, the author's insights and voice feel like going home to a well-liked and well-enjoyed place. Second, you will enjoy the characters. Third, while it presents a mystery, an exploration and surprises, it is not too sweet or too dark.

I would also like to note that this book was done to be performed. It is an Audible-Only book. The narrator is perfectly matched to the book -- and pulls off a performance that is almost worth the listen. While being very different, the perfect match between performance and story reminds me of Great North Road by Peter F. Hamilton, or some of Charles Stross' earlier books.

37 of 39 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 2019-02-11

Good Story, Even Better Narration

Action from start to finish. The story is well-written, and the characters really grow on you. But it's really Colin Morgan who makes this story worth listening to. He has the perfect voice for narration, and the number of different voices and accents he can perform is staggering, enriching the story and bringing the characters to life.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Janet Haynes
  • 2019-02-10

This was fantastic!

This is my second audio book . I almost cancelled my subscription because the first book's narrator kept putting me to sleep. You won't sleep with this one. Colin Morgan does a phenomenal job of making this book come alive. It was hard to believe that it was just one man doing all of the voices of the different characters. As you might guess, I highly recommend this audio book!! You won't be disappointed.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Alun
  • 2019-02-22

Wow

Fun story but “beware” no holds barred when it comes to sex, language and expletives!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-02-02

How many voices can you play..!!! How lovely😊

I'm very happy. It seems several Colins talk to me at once in various people's characters. He acts even female characters really well. I hope that I can listen to more his works in the close future.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rachel Chastanet
  • 2019-02-25

I want more!

This is a great rollicking adventure, but I want much more time with these great characters. I hope there is another book to follow.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Melissa
  • 2019-02-24

WHERE IS BOOK 2?!

This book was amazing. Engaging, hilarious, intense, wonderfully performed. Can’t wait for more! Very glad this is a trilogy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • AudioReader
  • 2019-02-23

Best book I’ve listened to in a long time

The narration was superb and the story was clever and funny but still had a lot of action and violence. I loved it!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • TK2.0
  • 2019-02-16

Haywood has the most enjoyable characters.

Huge fan of extracted series and see the same likeable and funny characters in this series. Too many really likeable characters to name one. very enjoyable read. I was hesitant from the off choice of narrators. He has a very heavy accent. Odd choice. His range of voices is pretty incredible though and did a great job. Outside of the Harry Potter Jim Dale reading this was the best range of male and female characters I have heard. Good book, good narration skills. Sad it ended with so little resolved and so many loose ends.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful